1984 Peugeot 505 Reviews

1984 Peugeot 505 STi 2.2 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1984
Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership1989
Most recent year of ownership1992
Engine and transmission 2.2 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Magna

Summary:

Overall, a pleasant and memorable car

Faults:

Rust spot in rear turret.

Aircon compressor needed replacing.

General Comments:

Lovely car. Slightly spoilt by booming resonance at the legal limit 100kph-110kph.

Bodywork seems made of pewter - picks up lots of small ripples and dents - much more than any other car I've owned.

The car was assembled by Jaguar-Rover Australia.

Original Michelin TRX tyres became unobtainable or too expensive, so reverted to normal Michelins on station wagon rims. Some loss of ultimate handling, but more comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th November, 2010

1984 Peugeot 505 GL wagon 2 litre Fuek Injection from North America

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership1985
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2 litre Fuek Injection Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance300000 kilometres
Previous carPeugeot 505

Summary:

Those that have them usually will not let go of them

Faults:

Head gasket changed twice, first time on warranty.

Anti-pollution (Pulsair) rotted out, creating the only serious disablement.

General Comments:

Outstanding mechanical and human engineering, versatility, utility and value.

Over-built - shocks lasted 15 years, alternator 16 years, clutch 17 years. Still on original starter.

Outstanding electrics

Comfortable ride and predictable handling.

Never been stuck in the worst blizzards with all season Michelins.

Although underpowered, will cruise all day at 150-160 kph.

Excellent paint and good rust protection, even in salty clime.

Still gives me the same pleasure after 18 years as it did on day one.

The only thing I could replace it with is another.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st May, 2002

4th Aug 2002, 23:40

Agreed. The 505 wagon is a Great car, mines an '85 and still going strong. Great handling, great looking, solid at speed, and holds anything w/7ft+ length of flat cargo space.

When my pulsair canister and it's pipes inevitably rusted out, I simply pitched them, plugged the holes where they had been connected, and never looked back. (This on the advice of a few shops that work on/deal parts for old Peugeots) Has continued to run great ever since.

1984 Peugeot 505 STI 2.0 FI from North America

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 FI Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 miles
Most recent distance270000 miles

Summary:

Bullet proof and cheap to drive

Faults:

Alternator, starter, power steering hose, cooling fan, HVAC blower.

General Comments:

I acquired this car when I turned 16. It has been an extremely reliable machine, and continues to run very well. The motor and transmission have never been taken apart, yet both show now signs of wear. Compression is still perfectly even and very high. The original ZF 3 speed automatic transmission is bullet proof and continues to pull off smooth positive shifts. I drive the car very hard at times, and I have cruised for periods of time at top speed. Still, this Peugeot has never shown any signs giving up. Though not a "fast" car, it is adequately powered and well geared for normal use. It has served and continues to serve me very well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th June, 2001

15th Jan 2003, 06:40

I am French and I moved to the US 4 months ago. In France I owned a 23 year old 505 with 300000 miles on it and it never gave me any trouble. This car simply never breaks down. I am glad to hear that it also has a very good record on the other side of the Atlantic. Thanks for the good review on this car, it deserves it.

28th Dec 2004, 13:50

Hi, I'm a kiwi and I own a 1984 505GTI, and have done for the last year.

Most impressed with the cars ride and considering that it is 20 yrs old, it drives better than most japanese cars on the road today and very comfy.

It has really been looked after and is still on the original engine - not too bad considering that it has done over 500000kms!, not even a little smoke!.

And it is pretty straight too!.

The only thing that ain't working is the sunroof, but I can live with that!.

GREAT cars and not so many of them around with that classic 80s styling!

1984 Peugeot 505 Turbo Injection 2.2 4 cylinder turbo from Netherlands

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.2 4 cylinder turbo Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired97500 kilometres
Most recent distance107000 kilometres
Previous carBMW 7 Series

Summary:

Do not ship them to Africa, they are best enjoyed here!

Faults:

The ignition wires were kind of hard to find. Other than that, nothing out of the ordinary for a 17 year old car.

Electrics can be a bit dodgy. Sun roofs never work, so get one that is closed!

General Comments:

Can you believe it: a 17 year old car that still kicks butt!! I traded my BMW 728i on this car and haven't regretted it yet. This car is quick and comfortable. It has loads of class. I use it as a daily driver and it has not let me down so far.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th May, 2001

13th Sep 2001, 20:23

I have also enjoyed my Peugeot 505 Turbo Injection, but my car is a 1986 model which gave me 180hp when I slightly closed the bypass valve on the turbo.

The car has given me several headaches due to the high costs of spare parts here in Norway. Think I will keep the car for one more year, or maybe go to France and have it restored for a reasonable amount of money??

Have a nice day and enjoy your turbo-car!

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 7 reviews