1985 Peugeot 505 Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1985 Peugeot 505 STi 1.9 from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1985
Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.9 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired240000 kilometres
Most recent distance300000 kilometres
Previous carFord Falcon

Summary:

New pugs should be like the masterpiece 505!!!

Faults:

New exhaust system at 260,000.

A/C is always very weak.

Couldn't get the Michelin TRXs any more. Had them changed for steels (Loved the TRXs, very sad to leave them stored in the garage).

General Comments:

Magnificent car... superb handling, well balanced car, not the fastest, but the most reliable car you can buy. Very well built... honest!!!

The auto gearbox revs a bit high above 115km an hour... very strong engine on the plus side.

Extremely low maintenance car if you've got a good pug specialist... a bit hard to find one in Brisbane Australia. But I did find Robert, thanks mate.

I will not hesitate to get another 505 (specially in white). Very decent on fuel as well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd December, 2007

16th Dec 2007, 08:17

You should try the 2.5 gtdt turbo diesel. Believe me they are the very best regarding high speed low revs.

27th Dec 2007, 10:17

I will love a Turbo diesel 505...very hard to get though...

1985 Peugeot 505 2.3 turbo diesel from North America

Model year1985
Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.3 turbo diesel Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired138000 miles
Most recent distance142777 miles

Summary:

I nick named mine "The Beast"

Faults:

Alternator.

Radiator.

Exhaust system rusted.

One window doesn't go up.

Original radio is stuck in tape mode.

Small oil leak.

General Comments:

This is such a great car. The most comfortable I have ever been in. Yea its pretty raw and things don't work. like no AC, but its great. Only problem I had is that parts are hard to find and expensive, other wise id say well worth the money. The one I got, the original owner let sit for a while so its not in greatest condition, but overall strong runner. Really peppy for a diesel. Great for Road Tripping or everyday driver. Plenty of room. My dad used it for construction when his truck broke down and this thing hauled steel beams no problem. The suspension out lasts the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th September, 2006

17th Feb 2009, 20:12

Agree about the beauty of this beast, have had 6 Pugs over the years, 4 diesels and 2 gassers and never wore one out. You commented about parts, try Bowman's garage in Westport, Mass. He's a 30+ yr peugeot mechanic and has bought out all the area's dealer's parts when they folded up, plus his parting out junkers. (508) 636-9800. Good guy, old time mechanic no website or email.

1985 Peugeot 505 from Jordan

Model year1985
Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 kilometres
Most recent distance140000 kilometres
Previous carSubaru GL

Summary:

Reliable family car, but make sure you get one in good shape

Faults:

Leaky radiator and overheating problems.

O-ring on a piston broke, then the piston itself broke. Expensive repair.

Speedometer and odometer stopped working just after I got it.

Numerous electrical problems due to poor maintenance by previous owner.

No air conditioner/heater when I bought it.

Doesn't seem to get good gas mileage (hard to tell exactly because the odometer doesn't work)

Seat springs aren't in good shape, but the upholstery is OK (but not original)

Trunk lock tends to stick.

People tend to hit their heads when climbing into the back.

General Comments:

This car would have been a ton better if the previous owner had even lifted a finger to do maintenance on it.

I bought it without giving it a thorough mechanical inspection (I was desperate to get a Peugeot station wagon) and have paid for it in spades.

It drives well, and has great acceleration abilities. If it were in better shape, it would be a great family car.

A big plus for my family: it has 3 rows of seats, unlike pretty much most other station wagons. That's why I bought it, plus for its reputation for reliability.

If I had to do it all over again, I might buy the same car, but get it completely checked by a mechanic I trust FIRST.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th July, 2005

10th Aug 2005, 21:55

Hi, I read your review and agree with all your comments. My family has a 505 station wagon in Australia and we have found it to be a reliable family car, but our trunk lock sticks too. Our's gets reasonable gas mileage, but it is a heavy car. I'm glad to find someone else who appreciates this car.

27th Nov 2005, 04:55

Just take trim off tailgate inner side and spray lubricating stuff, its just dry.Great cars, I ve got a Turbo D in Melbourne. Magnificent machine!

1985 Peugeot 505 S Wagon 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 505

Summary:

Roomy, quick, agile

Faults:

Gear shift fork broke.

Broken motor mount.

Wheel fell off due to stripped studs.

Rear doors and trunk locks temperamental at times.

General Comments:

This has been a very reliable car. It had been totaled and reconstructed prior to my ownership, but the car still runs and drives great. It has plenty of power for what it is and what it has gone through. Lot's of room!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th October, 2002

1985 Peugeot 505 GL from North America

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang 5.0

Summary:

Great daily driver

Faults:

Fuel filter needs to be changed causing hard starting when hot.

Replaced front strut.

Runs too warm - can't find the problem.

General maintenance - filters etc..

General Comments:

Was my mothers car since new. She had to replace 2 transmissions and one engine.

Overall, one of the most comfotable cars I've ever driven. I drive it 45 minutes to work every day with no problems, and living in a large city, it does very well keeping up with the traffic on the interstate. Engine is still super tight with 135,000 miles.

Handeling is its best attribute. It has little or no body roll through the curves. I am constantly passing Camrys and Altimas in 45 mph curves!

Interior is larger than it looks and the build quality is outstanding. I have more passenger legroom than my wife's new Accord.

Body lines still look good after 17 years.

These cars can be picked up for less than $1,000.00. I believe it's the best bargain on the road, and don't believe the hype about getting parts. They are cheap and easy to get.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th March, 2001

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 7 reviews