1986 Peugeot 505 Turbo 2.3 turbo from North America

Summary:

Always a treat to drive

Faults:

Failed emissions test due to burnt valve seals. Replaced the seals and reconditioned the head.

Turbo worn out at 200000km. Had the old unit repaired.

Transmission blown at 220000km, due to overheating and age. Will replace with a used unit.

Running too hot, remove thermostat when outside temperature goes above 20c.

General Comments:

A great car to drive, but very thirsty when driven hard in the city.

Very fast on the highway, not too much turbo lag, even with the automatic transmission. It cruises at 140kph, and will go 200kph+.

Great looking interior, and the most comfortable seats I have ever sat in.

Frequent oil changes and perfect maintenance are necessary for these cars, or they do not last.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th September, 2002

1986 Peugeot 505 GLD 2.5 diesel from Malta

Summary:

An economical, comfortable bargain

Faults:

My clutch had to be replaced since it was slipping constantly in 3rd and 4th gears.

Steering tie rods and ball joints were changed because they were in a state of bad repair when I got the car.

I also changed the tyres to get maximum grip.

Driver seat is also in a state of bad repair, but I have seat covers at the moment, I hope to fix them some time.

Engine needs a re-bore badly, currently much slower than it should be because of that.

General Comments:

This car is not exactly fast, in fact it is relatively slow, but it's running costs are very cheap.

The cabin is wonderful for a car its age, and nicer than most other cars which are more recent. It is also very spacious inside.

It has got a wonderful ride, and I would recommend it to anyone, especially if you can find a higher specced Turbo Diesel (GTD). Some even had ABS and airbags!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th April, 2002

1986 Peugeot 505 GL 1.9 from North America

Summary:

Excellent french workhorse

Faults:

Paint was decent when bought, but started to fade rapidly.

Interior cosmetics were decent, but the dash and seats split easily.

General Comments:

Engine ran like a brand new Mercedes. The car started with ease in cold and warm weather.

The transmission was solid, never had any problems even after nearly 200,000 miles. The 4 speed transmission was very forgiving, which lends itself to be an excellent car to learn stick on.

The seats were comfortable, but split easily, and the paint was not of great quality.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd January, 2002

1986 Peugeot 505 V6 2.8 V6 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Rapid, reliable, but nowadays an enthusiasts vehicle

Faults:

MOT failure as follows:

Front anti-roll bar bushes disintegrated.

Leaking oil from power steering.

New steering rack (a heart stopping £270).

New nearside rear calliper.

Rear suspension arms required a lot of welding.

Chassis welding.

Heated front seats failed.

Air con failed.

General Comments:

I owned a 505 manual diesel previous to this car - the V6 automatic is an infinitely better car.

Handling and ride excellent.

A vehicle not without it's problems, but for a total cost including purchase and MOT works of under £1000, there are not many 120mph cars like this one!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th July, 2001

17th Jan 2002, 16:22

I have a 89 505 GTDT turbo diesel saloon and like you, I had to get one of the rear suspension arms welded and also the chassis inside both rear wheel arches because it started to crack. Apparently it's a major fault on them.

As for the electrics, more heartache with switches that seize and bad earths, but it's still got class and goes well.

23rd Sep 2004, 04:40

I Have a 505 2829 CC V6. Where can I get parts for my car? Such as a Starter that I need right away. Along with some performance parts that I would like to get.

1986 Peugeot 505 GTi Family Estate 2.2 petrol injection from UK and Ireland

Summary:

A fast, comfortable, reliable motorway cruiser with sporty handling

Faults:

Clutch master cylinder leak.

Some loose/worn wiring and connectors.

Water pump leak.

Air con needs recharging.

General Comments:

Goes like the clappers for such a big and heavy car. Handles very well.

Very comfortable for high speed long distance driving.

Bit thirsty on the fuel (22mpg at 100mph).

You can always sleep in the back if it breaks down!

Very good condition for it's age. Looks like a bus. Seven of your mates can come with you in it to the beach...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th July, 2000

1986 Peugeot 505 GTi 2.2 fuel injection from Germany

Faults:

Nothing unnormal, except ill-fated ZF automatic transmission. Dead after 84.000 km, again after 130.000 km. Expensive rebuilt. Problem known to specialists.

General Comments:

Prices for spare parts are very high in Germany, so driving and caring for this car is expensive. Wouldn't buy auto transmission again. Great and rewarding car to drive, although driving comfort is not as high as many people expect.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st October, 1999

29th Apr 2001, 05:14

I have a 505 and find it a good car to drive. Prices are expensive for parts but like all cars regular servicing keeps the cost of repair down.

This car is a very good family car and caters for us well. It has plenty of space, and many things that would come as extras on other cars. Electric sunroof, mirrors, central locking and heated seats... not bad for a G reg.

Iam now looking for a seven seater.