1989 Peugeot 505 Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1989 Peugeot 505 S 2.8i from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.8i Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired22400 miles
Most recent distance22600 miles
Previous carBuick Regal

Summary:

An underrated performer, trapped in the shadows of the late 80's

Faults:

Alternator & starter failed shortly after I purchashed the auto.

Heated seats haven't worked since the day I bought her.

General Comments:

The seats are just the beginning of the amount of comfort this auto supplies.

A performer as well as a head turner. A lot of the time people will ask me - what kind of car is this?

The car could use more power, then again what couldn't.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th August, 2001

1989 Peugeot 505 GTD Family 2.5 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 turbo diesel Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired155000 miles
Most recent distance171000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Cavalier

Summary:

A pleasure to drive

Faults:

Radiator had to be replaced after developing a major leak.

Fuel tank cradle fell off (luckily at low speed)

Speedometer replaced due to needle very unstable.

1 electric window motor not working.

Central locking only works on 2 doors.

Boot lock no longer working.

1 rear door handle stopped working.

Air conditioning hasn't worked since I had the car.

Bad earth on rear indicators.

Usual suspects (exhaust, battery, heater plugs)

General Comments:

With the list of things that have gone wrong you might think I'd be unhappy with the car. Actually a lot of the faults (C/L E/W A/C Speedo needle) were already present when I bought the car, and enabled me to negotiate a very good price.

I bought a second car for £30 which I have cannibalised for spares, and so have been able to rectify most of the original faults and some of the subsequent ones for next to nothing.

The only fault which has really been a costly problem was the fuel tank dropping off.

I'm very impressed with the comfort & ride of the car. For such a big estate it can really go when you want it to.

The auto box is very smooth, as good as the Range Rover I used to have.

Fuel economy has been excellent for such a big vehicle, around 30mpg on average with 4 kids & 2 adults on board.

It might not be in tip top condition, but it's been dependable, comfortable & cheap.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th June, 2001

1989 Peugeot 505 GTi Family-Estate 2.2i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.2i Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired180142 miles
Most recent distance186567 miles
Previous carPeugeot 505

Summary:

Quick, powerful, reliable estate

Faults:

The battery failed 3 days after buying it.

Fuel pump relay has failed and we have not replaced it yet.

Replaced one front suspension strut.

General Comments:

Bloody quick estate.

Still looks years ahead of all others.

Can tow more than its own weight!!! e.g 3 tons of old Ford Fiesta's.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th May, 2001

1989 Peugeot 505 GTi Family 2.2i petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.2i petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired103000 miles
Most recent distance104000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 505

Summary:

A fast, comfortable, practical motorway cruiser with good handling

Faults:

Sticky electric sun-roof switch.

Steering rack worn.

General Comments:

See comments about my previous car (1986 GTI Family). This is a replacement as the previous 505 was worn out - cheaper to buy another. Just swapped good bits off of my old car (steering rack, some switches, radio etc). This one is in much better condition to start with - no rust, full service log, very clean. Just hope it survives better than the last one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st May, 2001

1989 Peugeot 505 V6 2.8 V6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles
Previous carBMW 535i

Summary:

Great underrated performance car. Well specced

Faults:

4 shocks replaced.

Starter.

Fuel injection problems.

Many electrical problems.

Battery.

General Comments:

Superb driver, great performance from the 2.8 V6, great handling (better than my other car - a BMW 535).

Comfortable, well specced (leather, A/C, ABS and electric everything). Great seats!

On the down side, poor wipers, high-ish road noise, extremely hard to get parts or info for maintenance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd February, 2001

11th Feb 2001, 11:13

I have a Peugeot 505 V6. So far that is the best car I have had. This is also the newest car I had.

It has some problems on the exhaust, but it doesn't matter because I am going to get a sports one anyway. The other cars I have are the 604 turbo diesel, 505 turbo diesel, 505 wagon, and a 405. I have the most Peugeots in my town, Hillside, NJ 07205.

Karatekid4eva@juno.com

22nd Apr 2012, 09:26

Hi.

I have a customer where I work who wants to sell me her 505. I live in the US, and I know that parts are hard to find for these cars. I plan on fixing the car up and selling it. I'm a Volvo enthusiast, so usually I wouldn't do this, but I can't stand to see this car go to the junk yard. The lady doesn't know what year the car is, but if you could tell me what common problems these cars have, it would really help me in deciding if I should buy the car.

Thanks, Will.

22nd Apr 2012, 15:22

Hello Will, go to www.honestjohn.co.uk. On the left hand side it's got icons of different car brands. The Peugeot section may have information regarding the common problems of that car, from a European perspective.

Cheers, Tony.

1989 Peugeot 505 GR 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired98000 miles
Most recent distance125000 miles
Previous carPeugeot Vauxhall

Summary:

Superb!

Faults:

Corroded radiator - critical failure.

Replaced the carburettor with new.

General Comments:

Excellent vehicle. Why won't manufacturers make good workhorses like these any more? They are tough and reliable, I put 8 people, the biggest roof box and second roof rack on and can still travel at a good speed in all conditions.

Well done Peugeot!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th January, 2001

1989 Peugeot 505 Turbo Wagon 2.2 turbo gas from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.2 turbo gas Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 miles
Most recent distance135000 miles

Summary:

The most versatile sports car you will ever own!

Faults:

Fuel pump at 120,000 miles due to noise, not failure. Otherwise, just maint. type items, (tires, brakes, fluid changes).

General Comments:

Very quick and practical vehicle, reliable. Only draw back is Turbo version rides a little harsher than other models. Wish they still sold them in the US, would buy another if I could!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th April, 2000

27th Nov 2005, 04:46

You must read the whole test report in Motor Trend, those guys were caught off guard, they ran out of words in praise of the 505s handling,comfort and class. Greatest cars ever.

13th May 2006, 04:10

Motor Trends comments are a perfect tribute to this magnificent car, as I've qouted elsewhere they wrote`We were caught by surprise, we run the risk of running out of our list of hyperboles in praise of its fine handling, comfort and grace`

Car&Driver once said these cars are respected right next to the harvest god in Africa where `roads` are the natural enemies of cars.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 11 reviews