1991 Peugeot 605 Reviews

1991 Peugeot 605 SVE 3.0 V6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired125000 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles
Previous carRenault 25

Summary:

Fast and comfortable, if thirsty

Faults:

No faults during my (admittedly short) ownership.

Bought without M.O.T and required two tyres and a CV boot to pass.

General Comments:

Another superb big cruiser from a French maker. All the toys and bought for £200 as a main dealer part exchange.

Very quick and handles well for a big car.

Only sold as couldn't live with 18mpg!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th December, 2005

1991 Peugeot 605 SV from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired123000 kilometres

Summary:

Avoid the 605SV 3.0L V6 Auto

Faults:

Power steer, warning lights, miss fire.

General Comments:

This car is junk, think before you go ahead with this car. too much to go wrong and it will go wrong.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th May, 2005

1991 Peugeot 605 SV 3.0 V6 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired123000 kilometres
Most recent distance136000 kilometres
Previous carMercedes-Benz 250

Summary:

Bargain classic

Faults:

The usual crumbly French plastics: 3 out of 4 of the plastic internal door handles broke, need to buy the whole armrest to replace them.

All 4 brake discs have shown cracking and needed replacing.

General Comments:

I paid an absurdly cheap $NZ5200 for it at auction and still can't believe what a bargain this under-rated car is.

Beautiful and timeless styling: Often gets mistaken for a new 406.

Quality leather and wood interior.

Turbine-smooth V6 engine, but lumpy auto.

Others have complained about the electrics, but all the complicated gubbins (air, seats, remote central locking, trip computer, CD changer) still work beautifully.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th June, 2001

9th Oct 2003, 19:35

This is an October 2003 update of my earlier review. The 605 driving experience continues to be superb (just back from a tour of NZ North Island). Reliability continues to be poor (fortunately I bought a comprehensive warranty) :

-power steering pulley keyway broke -needed whole camshaft replaced!

- both head gaskets replaced

- auto air conditioning went crazy for a week, stuck on 30 degrees -OK again now.

Body continues to be perfect and rustfree despite our beachfront location.

1991 Peugeot 605 SV 3.0 V6 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired44000 kilometres
Most recent distance58000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Pulsar

Summary:

A wonderful looking car with less than wonderful mechanics

Faults:

The automatic transmission showed signs of problems within the first week of ownership. We took the car back to the dealership and asked them to look at the transmission, however, they didn't until the car was well out of its dealership warranty. The dealership claimed on our mechanical breakdown insurance for the repair, and as the repair was more than $4,000 (the limit of a single claim), they paid the extra. We were provided with a loan car by the dealership, during the month our car's transmission was being repaired.

While pulling out of the supermarket, the "STOP" warning light came on the dashboard, the car jerked, and smoke started pouring through the ventilation system. The dealership believed the problem was the car's computer, however, this was not a correct diagnosis. They eventually discovered this after sending the computer away to a specialist who said it was fine. Instead, the problem was the car's main electrical cables, which had caught fire. This fiasco took 7 weeks to solve and fix.

The car's starter motor broke while out of town. This was fixed for around $700 by an experienced dealership.

General Comments:

The Peugeot 605 is a wonderful looking car that rides and handles like a dream when it is going properly.

During our time of ownership, it did spend more time going than in the garage, however, I've never had this many problems with a car. You could not rely on it, and when it was in the garage, it was very frustrating and annoying. You don't plan on paying for a supposedly "class car", only to end up driving a loan car for nearly 40% of the time.

Routine servicing was very good value for money for a European car. Parts are specialised, take while to arrive, and can be quite costly though. For example, nearly $700 for front brake pads.

On the plus side, the car was wonderful on trips. It's very roomy, the seats are extremely comfortable, the ride superb and sound from the stereo of high quality. The performance is also quite good, considering the engine is not particularly powerful and the car is heavy. It felt solid and stable at high speeds.

If anyone was considering purchasing a European car, I'd recommend getting it thoroughly checked out my mechanics (not just the AA). Also, consider purchasing mechanical breakdown insurance, as if the car has a problem, it's likely to save you a lot of money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th April, 2001

25th Dec 2006, 18:35

Mine has done 214000+ km drives like a dream all electics function well. I got front brake pads for AU$86.00,at the $700 you paid I think someones rippin someone!

25th Dec 2006, 21:41

I ran three 505s while in UK and the prices you paid for relatively straight-forward repairs and servicing were astronomic. Face it, UK is hardly cheap. You have to look a lot more blue-collar and less intellectual when interfacing with the motor trade. When a price is mentioned, try saying, "So what planet are you guys from?" Or alternatively, "You're having a laugh, aren't you?"

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 4 reviews