1995 Plymouth Acclaim Reviews

1995 Plymouth Acclaim 2.5 from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired109000 miles
Most recent distance122000 miles

Summary:

I like it. It's a pretty okay car

Faults:

Transmission.

Other than that, nothing serious.

General Comments:

This is essentially my first car, and it's lasted me about a year. I've put 13,000 miles on it commuting 15 miles each way daily to school on the highway, and, really, it's been a trooper. I paid 850 for it, and I think it was a pretty good deal.

Considering that I've abused it pretty heavily, I'm not really surprised the transmission is failing now. Apparently it was overhauled 3 years ago by the previous owner, though, so I was kinda HOPING it would last me another year. Apparently these cars have pretty weak transmissions.

I've never had any trouble starting it (well except for that one time when the battery cables became corroded, but I just had to brush them off).

The front brakes are squealing a little nowadays, and the steering makes a screeching noise if I turn the wheel all the way (like when backing out of a parking space). I hear the screeching is pretty normal, but it didn't used to happen!

I like the speakers it has a lot. I installed a CD player, and they pretty much rock.

Generally the car handles fairly well, and was fun to slide around on gravel roads (I told you, I abused it!). Also, I think it handles awesome in the snow (unless it's deep snow).

At any rate, if you buy one of these cars, I definitely recommend NOT revving the engine right before it shifts into first gear from, let's say, reverse or neutral. Silly me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th June, 2006

16th Jun 2006, 01:37

The A413 is a pretty rugged, reliable automatic transmission. However, any transmission will fail under repeated, heavy abuse. The transmission would have lasted many years if not for your abuse of it. You brought the early failure upon yourself. Please turn in your driver's license and start walking to school. By the way, neutral drop aren't good for a transmission.

21st Feb 2007, 08:24

I disagree with the other person, its your car you can do with it as you please. I'm buying one from a good friend of mine for $300 nothing wrong with it. Just has 170k miles on it. But they are real good cars from what I've heard.

1995 Plymouth Acclaim 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired85000 miles
Most recent distance115000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Monza

Summary:

A great car for the price

Faults:

The only major thing that has gone wrong is the CV joint broke in early 2003. There were approximately 113,000 miles on the car at that time.

I would not consider replacing the tires, brakes, oil changes, etc. to be things that have 'gone wrong' with the car, just regular maintenance.

General Comments:

The car had 85,000 highway miles in only three years when I purchased it. The only thing that I thought might be wrong at that time was the brakes, which I had done two years later.

The car drives smoothly, has great pick up when needed, and stops on a dime.

The car gets good gas mileage, usually between 20 miles per gallon in the winter months and up to 25.5 in the summer months.

Although not used often, the air conditioner delivers ice cold air in minutes. The same thing can be said about the heater.

The cabin is roomy for this size class of car. This is especially true for those riding in the back seat.

The controls are within easy reach, whether for the radio or the heater.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th July, 2003

1995 Plymouth Acclaim from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired87000 miles
Most recent distance105000 miles
Previous carChevrolet 1979 Chevy Monza

Summary:

A fantastic car for the price

Faults:

I had some problems with the thermostat, but other than the basic maintainence, it has been trouble free.

General Comments:

The high mileage was due to the previous owner traveling frequently for approximately two years, therefore highway miles.

The car was (and still is) in very good mechanical condition.

This car replaced a 1979 Chevy Monza.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th May, 2002

14th Apr 2008, 13:37

I'm guessing your Acclaim had the 2.5L 4cyl. They had problems with the cooling system. I've owned 3. 2 of them had problems with cooling. Replaced the thermostat in both. It seemed to fix one of the cars, but not the other, which kept overheating and leaving me stranded. Replaced the thermostat, coolant temp sensor, various hoses, and the heater valve. Finally had to dump the car because of this problem. Nothing seemed to fix it! Otherwise the 2.5L lasts a LONG time. Got almost 200k out of mine.

6th May 2008, 15:11

My '93 went through a phase of overheating. Replaced the thermo twice, replaced the radiator and fan. It ended up being a head gasket. Expensive at $700, but well worth it! 319,780 miles and still going like the day it was driven off the lot.

1995 Plymouth Acclaim 3.0 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired98000 miles
Most recent distance114000 miles
Previous carDodge D50

Summary:

Great car for the price

Faults:

General maintenance of vehicle; i.e. brakes, front rotors.

Needed new oxygen sensor when I bought it, but that only cost $25.

Stock radio looses connection when it feels like it and then goes static. Then decides to re-connect a few days later. Must either be a ghost or loose wiring.

General Comments:

Parts are readily available and reasonably priced.

Had a little problem in the beginning with it stalling every once in awhile. Was told to run some Extra Concentrated STP Carb and Fuel Injector cleaner through it for 5 fill ups straight in a row. Afterwards, ran extremely smooth. When feels sluggish I throw another Regular STP Carb. and Fuel Injector Cleaner through it.

Get 24.5 to 25.5 mpg with it.

Great pickup speed and handles extremely well in all weather conditions here in Michigan.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th May, 2002

21st Mar 2005, 12:24

Replace The MAP sensor, that is the cause of the stalling, the injector cleaner is doing nothing.

Average review marks: 8.6 / 10, based on 4 reviews