1981 Plymouth Arrow Sport 2.6 4 cylinder from North America

Faults:

I have a 1981 Plymouth Arrow sport truck. I think it's the most rare truck I will ever have.

It's got 43,000 actual miles and it's all original. I got it for $500.00 for a steal. I will never part with this truck. The inside needs a little T.L.C., but the body and paint is almost perfect.

I've always wanted a truck that nobody has, and I got one for sure...

General Comments:

I think it's a dependable truck...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th December, 2010

1979 Plymouth Arrow Sport 2.6L I4 from North America

Summary:

I love it!

General Comments:

I just bought an Orange 79 Arrow Sport with 65,250 actual miles from a guy for $2100. My brother and I call it "Bozo"! I have a Megacab Dodge 3500 4X4 (single wheel) that I drove for everyday and I needed something to get better fuel milage. I bought it because my Dad bought a 82 Arrow Sport 2.6 w/ 5speed brand new and it went through him, my brother, and myself. That truck has been through it! I know first hand about the stop light to stop light performance! The truck was quick! It pulled a Kubota tractor all over for most of its life. I have just rebuilt the motor with 224,000 miles and eliminated the "twin balance shaft" setup on the oil pump and the "jet" enrichment valves. Although it only has 1,200 miles since the rebuild, I've noticed that it doesn't seem to pull as hard in the higher RPM range as it once did, but the low end torque is shocking! The 3 speed auto is nice, but I too wish I could find a different rear end ratio than the 3.909 ratio. Good luck!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th May, 2008

1982 Plymouth Arrow Pickup 2.0 from North America

Summary:

Zip, zip and zip

Faults:

There is a little rust on the truck and the headlights only work on high beam, but other than that nothing is wrong with it.

General Comments:

This truck is a cool little truck that seems to want to stay on the road.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st March, 2008

1979 Plymouth Arrow Pickup from North America

Summary:

The Ultimate Ride

Faults:

It was a little rough to start on a cold day, and a little more likely to die at a stop sign than your typical car.

General Comments:

I loved this pickup. It had no power steering, I had to manually click my blinkers, and finesse the brake lights into working, but it was the most reliable car I'd ever driven. It kept me safe when I was rear ended, and still ran after a 60 mph hour collision. That's tough.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th February, 2006

1979 Plymouth Arrow 2.0 from North America

Summary:

I love my arrow truck

Faults:

My Arrow only smokes a little. So that's about it.

General Comments:

My Arrow truck is a very good truck to be driving around in. I got my Arrow about a mounth ago and I got it for only 300. Its my first car I am only 17 and well I thought it was a good car, and well I'm glad I got it. I like being the only one that's near by to own one. in like having the only arrow around.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th December, 2004

21st Dec 2004, 06:42

Well, it may be the only Arrow around... but the Arrow was basically the same truck as the Dodge D50, which was the same truck as the Mitsubishi Mighty Max, and, well there are still plenty of those around.

1980 Plymouth Arrow Truck 2.6 from North America

Summary:

This is a brilliant truck; a one of a kind find

Faults:

I replaced the starter at 280,000 miles; recently clogged gas lines have caused the truck to repeatedly stall and fail.

Clogged gas lines caused massive problems with fuel delivery to the electronic carburetor at 280,000 miles. At first I thought it was the engine, when the usual fuel line fix tricks didn't work, but engine compression was strong.

After much sleuthing, it was discovered that there were fuel filters at the base of the gas tank (packed with 22 years' worth of metal shavings and mud), and a fuel screen inside the gas tank, as well as the regular fuel filter near the carburetor.

After limping around on a bad carburetor for months (it threatened to go out for years, but we were able to partially rebuild it at home), I finally had the carburetor professionally rebuilt at 210,000 miles; it was hard to find a mechanic who could do the work. A Mercedes mechanic was able to do the work.

I had some electrical wiring problems at 210,000 miles. It was very exciting: first, a blinker light went out, then the dash light, and of course, one dark and stormy night on a back road, the entire rear lights went out.

Truck is on its fourth clutch (there was an oil leak that ruined the asbestos on two clutch plates). So that makes it really two clutches in 20 years and I'm a hard country road driver.

At 260,000 miles, the gear shift came up in my hand; I'd literally worn it through. I temporarily lost first gear. We merely popped in a new shifter and all is fine.

General Comments:

The truck's code name is Lazarus because it keeps on going and going and going.

I had 15+ years worth of absolutely trouble-free driving on it - though it's hard to find a mechanic to work on it as it's extremely quirky, and parts are hard to come by. The catalog manuals always list the wrong parts, even for dinky fuel filters.

The engine is extremely zippy to this day (it has oil leaks) ; I can still beat most cars out at the stop sign, but I'm now kinder, gentler to my elderly truck. After all, it's still on the road 300,000 later. It must be some kind of record.

Great comfy bucket seats.

Am I the only person in North America still driving a 1980 Plymouth Arrow? The later predecessor, the Mighty Max, is a poor, poor copy of my truck.

Alas, I won't make it to 400,000 miles as someone just sideswiped it, and so its days are numbered because I can't replace the entire side of a truck... but it still runs fine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th November, 2003

25th Dec 2003, 18:22

Hey, you don't have the only arrow on the road. I've got a 80 arrow although its the car, praticaly the same thing. I've got 196,000+ miles on it and it still doesn't leak oil. I paid 400 for it a couple of months ago with 194,000. it's a strong little car. its very reliable and somewhat fast once you learn how to drive it right. oh and if your going to get rid of your arrow, let me know.