1987 Plymouth Gran Fury Reviews

1987 Plymouth Gran Fury Salon 5.2 gas from North America

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1988
Most recent year of ownership2013
Engine and transmission 5.2 gas Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance140000 miles
Previous carDodge Charger

Summary:

Wonderful

Faults:

Only problem I had was pick up in the fuel tank.

General Comments:

My father bought this vehicle new. He drove it after break-in exactly 120 miles with the cruise set on 55 mph. He used exactly 1.7 gallons of fuel on this trip. We owned a repair shop at the time and I couldn't believe it! So my father and I, along with my uncle and a tech from our shop each individually witnessed this car achieve over 60 MPG on the highway!

This car continued around the 55 MPG on the highway until well over 100k miles. We had to replace the SCC (lean-burn comp.), a timing chain and a distributor. We figured that would be the end of the mileage. The Fury still achieved in the high 40s in MPG.

I recently had to rebuild the carb, so I am not sure what will happen. Chrysler can build a full sized V8 and get 50 MPG. All of us will swear in court to this, and have verified it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th February, 2013

13th Feb 2013, 08:35

Your old Fury with a 318 V8 gets over 60 MPG.

Uh, yeah, that's believable.

13th Feb 2013, 09:03

"This car continued around the 55 MPG on the highway until well over 100k miles."

- How? By going down a very steep hill all the time?

13th Feb 2013, 12:57

Interesting about the fuel mileage. We used to use these as taxi-cabs back in the 1990s, and they were fantastically durable and reliable, as well as being wonderfully comfortable and pleasant to drive. However we did use quite a lot more gas than that, admittedly mostly in urban/suburban driving.

1987 Plymouth Gran Fury Salon 318 from North America

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1987
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 318 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance225000 miles
Previous carPlymouth None

Summary:

A good car for a new driver

Faults:

Windshield would leak when it rained, the headliner began to sag, fuel pump went, had to park on flat areas or with the nose downhill, car would shake once it hit 65, rear seatbelt seized.

General Comments:

My parents bought this car new in 1987. It was ultimately given to me when I turned 16. We never really had trouble with it until it rolled past 210,000 miles - at which point little things began to break.

The engine and transmission, however, never failed us. They were never taken apart for service - it just kept chugging along.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd October, 2007

1987 Plymouth Gran Fury Salon 4D 318 Stock from North America

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 318 Stock Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles
Previous carSaturn SL

Summary:

The Plymouth Gran Fury was once a police vehicle, and rightly so

Faults:

Lower radiator hose developed a split, water pump leaked when I bought the car - radiator had to be filled up every time you drove it, no matter the distance - water pump has since gone out.

Typical of 80-90 Plymouth cars, it's K-frame is made of weaker steel that tends to break or crack, mine is bent, causing it to pull hard to the left. The alignment is so bad it will complete a left turn of it's own accord.

For a full bodied big car, it has a sleek appearance similar to the police edition with the exception that mine has a maroon/red soft top (not convertible).

Body wise it is in good condition, with the exception of the right rear door: The previous owner had left the door open and backed out the driveway, and a tree growing alongside the driveway nearly crushed it. It is bent, but a good auto-body shop could pull it out with relative ease if no replacement door can be found.

Book value of the car (clean condition; original interior/exterior and engine) is about $650. As a trade-in, it's worth $65.

It does not currently run - it needs a new ignition or the ignition re-keyed, and a water pump.

The water pump would run about $35, not including labor.

I am selling it for $500.00, here in Jacksonville FL.

General Comments:

A beautiful drive, with nice smooth cruising speeds. Over a bridge, you slowly build the old beast to full steam (careful with the old boy, it's beautiful and precious) and roll steadily right over the other side, chugging merrily along.

$35 to a tank of gas, it is an unstoppable force similar to a tank once tearing along. What curb? I thought it was a pebble! Stopping can be accomplished, however, with gentle and slow pressure - the brakes are good, but remember that the car weighs just over a half ton and the 318 is raring to go.

Slow down too fast, and the old beast moans to a stop just because of inertia versus the sheer weight, not because of any fault.

A beautiful car to cruise in or show off; spare a few hundred for the body, engine and paint it a candy apple red - and this would be a beautiful old show stopper.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th January, 2006

6th Jan 2006, 11:33

Let's see, book value for a good clean one is $650; yours has body damage, a bent frame, needs a new water pump, and does not run; a dealer offered you $65 for it... and you are selling it for $500?

Good luck.

27th Jul 2006, 19:55

I used to have an '87 Chrysler Fifth Avenue (a higher-end Gran Fury). I loved it, but was forced against my will to get rid of it... and have been missing it ever since. If I lived anywhere near Florida, I'd buy your Gran Fury in a heartbeat!

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 5 reviews