1999 Plymouth Grand Voyager Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1999 Plymouth Grand Voyager Expresso 3.3 Multi Fuel from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.3 Multi Fuel Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance186000 miles
Previous carDodge Ram Pickup

Faults:

Trans was re-built at 96,000 miles.

AC Compressor replaced at 65,000.

AC Compressor replaced at 96,000.

Minor issues, all taken care of under warranty.

General Comments:

I can't say anything bad about this car. I purchased it with the knowledge that Chrysler had issues with the trans. For that reason I bought the extended warranty. Shame on you if you plan on keeping you car as long as I do and DON'T buy one (regardless of make). The $1,200 over the course of the 100,000 miles equates to 1.2 Cents per mile...

I maintained all fluids, lubes, filters, etc, per schedule (I do that myself). The car still runs fine. Maybe I got lucky, maybe not. I think that proper maintenance is the key to any car. For what it's worth, over the past 25 yrs I've had an Audi, VW, Saturn, Volvo 850, Cadillac Seville, Ford Tempo. The Saturn and Tempo gave me NO problems, but I sold them at 90,000 miles. The other cars all went at least 155,000 before I sold them and had roughly the same service records. The Audi 5KCSTQ had electrical issues, but boy was it fun to drive...

Anyway, the car served (and still does although it will be up for sale this weekend). From my experience I would have to recommend it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th January, 2007

1999 Plymouth Grand Voyager from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance172000 miles
Previous carDodge Colt

Summary:

Lousy

Faults:

3,000 through 9,000 Transmission shift hard and abrupt. Dealer unable to duplicate or suggest repair.

100,000 +/- transmission failure, overhauled. worked good and dealer covered 50% of cost.

172,000 Transmission failure, damaged beyond repair. Installed a rebuilt one for $2,300 dollars from a independent repair shop with 75,000 mile warranty. Beat the dealer's offer of $2,900 with 36,000 mile warranty.

General Comments:

Windshield wiper comes on without activation. After fighting this for quite a long time I removed the wiper arm and reset it one notch in one direction or another. No problem since. This is a common complaint with owners, the service department apparently does not know how to do this.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th February, 2006

1st Feb 2007, 12:02

You're a joke. You drive a vehicle for over 170,000 miles, invest less than $4,000.00 total in repair bills and call it a bad car! What kind of vehicles have you been driving that have much better service records?

5th Aug 2007, 07:07

Did you ever service the trans. before it let go, I bet not. I have a 171000 miles with 2 filter changes with no problems

1999 Plymouth Grand Voyager LE 3.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.3 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance68000 miles

Summary:

A total scam on the consumer!

Faults:

Serpentine Belt has come off at least 8 times. Tensioner has been replaced 4 times.

General Comments:

Has everyone who experienced the belt/tensioner problem filed a complaint with the NHTSA? This most certainly should be handled as a recall and addressed by Chrysler! Please file your complaints, and lets see if we could get any movement! Thanks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th November, 2005

20th Mar 2008, 12:19

There is an upgrade kit available for the belt issue, wife has a 98 Town & Country, put the kit on, no more problems!!!

19th Sep 2008, 12:15

Our 1999 Grand Voyager serpentine belt jumped the pulleys at least three times during heavy rains, then we decided it was enough and just this week installed the replacement kit. This included a new idler, belt grooved on both sides, and flanged pulley. This should fix what is an obvious design flaw on Chrysler's part, which should have been covered in a recall. It is feasible that someone could be driving in heavy rain, lose the belt, and lose control of the vehicle. If this were to result in serious injury, it would seem reasonable to hold the manufacturer liable.

Can anyone advise how to file a complaint with the safety board?

1999 Plymouth Grand Voyager SE from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance149895 miles
Previous carDodge Grand Caravan

Summary:

It's the best car I've ever owned and the most reliable

Faults:

The clock spring which affected cruise control and horn. I was able to have it replaced within a week of the recall coming out.

After 100,000 miles the engine service light came on and it turned out to be the EGR valve which is a useless piece for 75.00 at the cheapest. I passed emmissions in Ct without it working and it has caused no problems in the last 49,000 miles.

Front brake pads seem to wear a lot, but not excessively.

General Comments:

Love my Voyager! It's the 3rd of that class including a Dodge Grand Caravan.

We take it on a lot of back roads to seek out out of the way waterfalls and it has never failed us with the front wheel drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th September, 2005

1999 Plymouth Grand Voyager SE 3.3 Liter from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.3 Liter Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired46000 miles
Most recent distance52000 miles
Previous carPontiac Sunfire

Summary:

A great vehicle for the price

Faults:

One of the pulleys that drive the belts is loose or something. It makes a very faint rattling noise after the car is started. This first occurred at 48,000 miles.

General Comments:

The van is very powerful compared to my old Sunfire. You can wind up doing over 100mph if you're not paying attention on the interstate. The gas mileage is good for a car this big. It's 20mpg in the city, and 27mpg on the highway.

It's very roomy inside (enough for my 3 boys, wife, and then some).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st August, 2003

30th Sep 2004, 17:10

Great minivan great gas mileage and enouph room for me and my family.

15th Mar 2005, 22:54

I agree.. our 99 Grand Voyager has had no problems in 71,000 miles. Powerful and easy to drive. I have heard bad stories about the transmissions, but ours seems to work good? Wish it got better gas mileage, get about 19 in town.

21st Mar 2005, 16:18

Bought at 127,000 miles's, love it. Get's about 20 miles/gal in town, 27 hwy. Still has good power, winds up to 100mph. Now has 133,000 miles's 30 days after purchase.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 8 reviews