1988 Plymouth Horizon Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1988 Plymouth Horizon 2.2 TBI from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.2 TBI Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired176000 kilometres
Most recent distance208000 kilometres
Previous carDodge Omni

Summary:

Old reliable

Faults:

Timing belt 120k.

Brakes 50k, 120k, 190k.

Front Wheel Bearings 185k.

Radiator 190k.

General Comments:

This car handles like it's on rails and has been unbelievably reliable even with those cold cranking starts in -40 weather. The only question I have is why did Chrysler stop making these cars and the 2.2 / 2.5 engines.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th April, 2004

4th Feb 2007, 18:06

Just a hunch.. but maybe becasue they didn't break down frequently enough.. the poor mechanics at the dealer were probably getting bored. After all, even the minor repairs these engines did require were simple to accomplish for the most part.

31st Mar 2007, 04:03

I read on a website that these cars did not rate well on accidents. Especially head-on collisions. But, due to the popularity of sales at the time, they continued production. The last year these cars were made, driver-side airbags were added.

1988 Plymouth Horizon 2.2 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired82000 miles
Most recent distance94000 miles
Previous carDodge Aries

Summary:

Well worth the $600 I paid

Faults:

Door handles never work right.

Body rust.

General Comments:

The best all-around economy car I have ever owned.

The 2.2 liter motor is more than adequate for the small size of the car.

The transmission is bulletproof, shifts like new.

My mileage is about 27 mpg in the city.

Great heater and well designed interior for a small car.

About the only complaint I have is with the door handles... a very poor design which makes getting in difficult at times.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th December, 2003

19th Dec 2004, 10:34

I am a 17 year old girl that lives in a middle-of-nowhere town and I have the privilege of owning a 1988 Horizon. The car is not the best to look at, but it has had three drivers before me and it is still running strong after the year I have had it. The problem with my car is that I have a major oil leak and my doors are also sometimes hard to open. My friends always complain because of it and I have to open the doors from the inside for them. Other than that, my car is awesome. We call it "Thee Egg".

1988 Plymouth Horizon 2.2 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired69000 miles
Most recent distance119000 miles

Summary:

I have had many offers for my car called Plmy. She is not for sale

Faults:

Rust. I never wax. Sometimes I take it through the car wash.

Broken door handle. Cheap to repair. The dealership did not charge me labor, since I had to help. They could not remove the door panel completely due to rust, so I held it open while they replaced the handle. I am glad it broke then before more rust occurred.

Transmission went out at 100,000 miles. I admit that I did not shift it slowly. The lock-up torque converter is very important. Do not get the cheap version. Get the one made by Plymouth.

Dry rotted hoses.

A/C went out. I was not careful about checking this at all. The belt broke and no freon was left by the time I got around to checking things out. The compressor has been disconnected.

Timing belt went out at 100,000 miles. Absolutely no other damage was done. Amazing and thank God.

General Comments:

I love my car called Plmy.

It is very easy to drive and very reliable. The hatchback makes seeing easy.

The repairs are cheap. If something is wrong with the car, you can turn the ignition switch over three times without fully starting it, and the check engine light will flash a certain number of times. The first set of flashes denotes the first digit. The second set denotes the second digit. The codes are posted on the internet and can be found by searching for Plymouth codes on www.google.com. Wow, a car that tells what it needs.

Very comfortable plush seats. Back seat folds down if you need to haul something.

Great gas mileage before the transmission was rebuilt. I strongly advise getting the torque converter designed for the car; the other parts so far seem to be sub standard.

The AC with old freon was incredible before it went out.

Many mechanics have praised these cars.

Its economical look and age do not attract thieves, so you can have a nice stereo system. Not to mention the coat hanger trick of unlocking the doors does not work any more due to rust.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th January, 2003

6th Jan 2005, 15:10

Based on your description of "Plmy" (shouldn't that be "Plym"?), I would guess that anyone trying to buy her from you is hoping to do so for about the same price as a combo meal at McDonald's!

1988 Plymouth Horizon America 2.2 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired100054 miles
Most recent distance109784 miles
Previous carPlymouth Horizon

Summary:

It is an amazing racing car!!

Faults:

Map sensor, wheel cylinders and brake lines.

General Comments:

I bought this car for thirty dollars and stripped the interior, lost about 300 pounds out of it and ran a quarter mile on it, around low fifteens. I painted it orange and had TKC Custom Graphics place decals on it. Now it looks like a European rally car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th September, 2002

1988 Plymouth Horizon Custom LE 2.2 hotrod ram air from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.2 hotrod ram air Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired69000 miles
Most recent distance76000 miles

Summary:

Fun ass ride

Faults:

Needed new brakes.

Power steering.

General Comments:

This car screams now with a hotrodded engine and full fur interior.

It is the perfect teen car with 930 watts of stereo power and a 12 speaker surround sound system.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd November, 2000

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 10 reviews