1986 Plymouth Reliant Reviews

1986 Plymouth Reliant 2.0 litre from North America

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 litre Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired180000 kilometres
Most recent distance230000 kilometres

Summary:

One Unstoppable Vehicle

Faults:

Power steering pump blew (my fault), exhaust fell off (again my fault).

Right front tire was pushed into wheel well (my fault).

General maintenance to keep it going.

Sending unit in gas tank went for about three weeks.

General Comments:

My dad gave me the car as a field car so that's the reason for all the things going bad.

I would take it off jumps and that caused the tire to move backwards.

This car was unstoppable in the snow I only got the car stuck once by driving into a snow drift in my backyard. The sending unit did not work after this for some reason, but we got it going again.

I eventually tore the CV joint out of it and it had to go to the junkyard or else I would probably still have it to drive around in.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st December, 2005

1986 Plymouth Reliant SE 2.5L 4 Cylinder TBI from North America

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.5L 4 Cylinder TBI Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired37585 miles
Most recent distance134585 miles
Previous carDodge Omni

Summary:

Excellent transportation and reliability and cheap to run!

Faults:

Headliner has fallen down.

Timing slipped and needed reset.

Replaced wheel bearings.

Several rust spots have appeared.

General Comments:

The Reliant is a cheap, solid, reliable car. It averages 26mpg city and 32mpg highway. It has the comfort of a larger car, and the price of an economy car. Maintenance is cheap and parts are reasonable and plentiful.

The engine is a tad doggish from a stop, but gives good acceleration and reasonable power for a 4 cylinder. Transmission shifts smoothly, but winds up quick and only has 3 gears.

Interior is very spacious, with front bucket seats, center console, and a large rear bench, it seats 5 comfortably. Recliners on the front seats and good padding make for a comfortable ride.

Extra options are nice touches such as cruise, tilt steering, and air conditioning. Lack of power windows (or even availability) is a down point, but is livable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th November, 2004

1986 Plymouth Reliant SE 2.2 from North America

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired170000 miles
Most recent distance196000 miles

Summary:

It's worth every bit of the money

Faults:

So far nothing has gone wrong with this car. There's a slight noise while turning right, but that may be a later problem. So far, so good.

General Comments:

This car rides like a much bigger one and handles turns with ease.

Though the accceleration leaves something to be desired, it does make it's way to top speed without embarrassment.

Braking is great with no pulling or vibration even after all the miles that are on this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th September, 2004

1986 Plymouth Reliant SE 2.2L Iron Duke from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2L Iron Duke Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired123000 miles
Most recent distance125000 miles
Previous carDodge 600

Summary:

A low budget indestructible tank, a wild ride for the three months that I owned it

Faults:

The K-Series based cars are indestructable tanks. Nothing has ever gone wrong with this pig.

Engine blew due to lack of lubrication durring the 200 lap (75 miles) Big Cheese Endurance-race at The LaCrosse Fairgrounds Speedway.

General Comments:

This car is seriously not quick and seriously does handle like its on a rail, due to the weight reduction. Plexiglass side and back windows, no back seat, light weight trunk, (lightened support beams in truck and rear quarters), and last, but not least 15" aluminum wheels.

This is a list of the things my friends and I have done to this car.

I never checked the oil.

I never checked the coolant.

I hydro-locked twice.

I have had all 4 tires leave the ground 3 times.

Boat trick at least 7 times. (This is where you see how far you can drive your car down a boat landing before it stalls out, do not try this at home)

Mud bogging twice.

Garbage can bowling daily.

Mature oak trees taken on, two.

During this 3 month period of hell, I drove the car daily to work and back, with out one malfunction.

It was worth the $200.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th August, 2003

26th Jul 2008, 13:08

It sounds like you ruined a pretty good car there. But, at least you acknowledge your actions led to its demise, unlike so many reviews here where people beat the heck out of their cars and then malign them when they naturally succumb to the abuse.

I really miss simple, inexpensive and well built cars like this. Now even the least expensive cars are a second mortgage and they self destruct after 100,000 miles.

31st Mar 2009, 00:56

Nope, not the Iron Duke in this car. The Iron Duke was an iron head, iron block (hence the nickname) 2.5 OHV engine. The Reliant's engine was an iron block, aluminum head 2.2 or 2.5 OHC engine.

1986 Plymouth Reliant k SE 2.5 EFI from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.5 EFI Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired56000 miles
Most recent distance71000 miles

Summary:

A great mopar and I will always remember her

Faults:

My brakes went at about 60,000 miles and I just replaced the pads again at 70,000 miles.

I drive her pretty hard all the time.

I'm working on getting a new radiator.

The timing belt also broke at 65,000 miles.

General Comments:

The car is looking great.

I got new chrome hubcaps for it some fuzzy dice and it is all good.

I also put turbo signs on it from a car I pulled them off a lebaron in the junkyard.

But all the imports see them and want to race.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th April, 2002

1986 Plymouth Reliant SE K Car from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 kilometres
Most recent distance143000 kilometres

Summary:

A great car for the money

Faults:

Had to replace the brakes, drive shaft, and water pump. That's it, and I drive this car pretty hard sometimes!

General Comments:

This car is so very under-rated! People used to scoff at me for driving a K car, once I let them drive it: it's a whole other story! The bench seat is very comfortable, especially for long drives. She corners on a dime, and had a nice accelerating sound. The speedo goes to 140 Km/h, I've pushed it to at least 160 km/h, and there was no shaking the whole way.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th October, 2001

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 6 reviews