1990 Pontiac 6000 Reviews - Page 2 of 5

1990 Pontiac 6000 LE 3.1 from North America

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.1 Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
0.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance310000 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Sunbird

Summary:

For this old car? no no

Faults:

The camshaft broke, the knob for the window broke, the pisston blow through the head.

General Comments:

This is the worst car I have ever owned in my 70 years of living. Id much rather drive a firely then this.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th September, 2005

28th Sep 2005, 18:30

Did you look at the mileage you got out of it???

16th Mar 2007, 06:38

You've been driving for 70+ years, so presumably you're what... 86 years old at least? Yeah, you got 300,000km's out of this vehicle, take the time to maintain your old cars and stop complaining.

16th Mar 2007, 14:46

Yeah, what a piece of junk to only go 300,000! It was outrageous enough to have to put gas in it, but I refused to ever buy oil on top of it! This is the last Horseless Carriage I'll ever own!!!

14th Jan 2008, 08:20

I sure miss my 6000! I am sure it would still be getting me around had I not been rear ended by a drunk driver. It was the best car I've had. Liked the pick up when you needed it, the comfortable seating, the visibility backing up! My 96 lumina is not any of those!! I wish I could find a 1990 6000 to own again.

1990 Pontiac 6000 SE 3.1 multi-port from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.1 multi-port Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired113000 miles
Most recent distance314000 miles
Previous carChevrolet S-10

Summary:

Best car I ever owned

Faults:

I had to replace the fuel pump at 254,000 miles.

I had to replace the Ignition Control Module at 270,000 miles.

The alternator has been replaced twice.

The water pump has been replaced twice.

I replaced the cooling fan motor at 230,000 miles.

I am going to replace the crankshaft position sensor this week, since it will not crank right now at 314,000 miles.

General Comments:

This is the best car for the money that I have ever owned. I paid 2500 for it in 1997 with 113,000 miles; it now has 314,000 miles and still strong motor.

This car has sufficient pep and gets good gas mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th August, 2004

1990 Pontiac 6000 LE V6 3.1 Liter from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission V6 3.1 Liter Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired63000 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles

Summary:

Not bad for a first car

Faults:

Started leaking oil at 65,000 miles.

Started leaking coolant and transmission fluid at 66,000 miles.

Was told engine was "burning too much oil" at 67,000 miles.

General Comments:

Very nice car for my first ride.

Comfortable and roomy seats and all around interior. Even when filled with 5 people, no complaints of uncomfort.

Packs more power than it looks like it can. I've outraced people on the highway that thought they could tailgate me then blow by me in "better cars."

Better than expected stock speakers. When used with a semi-decent head unit got MUCH better than expected performance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st May, 2004

5th Jan 2010, 18:44

My name is Kristopher and I am writing this on 1/06/10, so I hope you will read this. I get, by the low mileage you stated, that you have owned the car since it was new or nearly new?

I agree with you on the power of the car, out racing other tuner cars. I have two 85 6000 STE's and I have had fun racing other people and usually winning.

1990 Pontiac 6000 LE 3.1 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.1 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 miles
Most recent distance133385 miles

Summary:

Excellent

Faults:

Replaced the main brake line.

Replaced the rear brakes... hardware and all.

Replaced one of the transmission coolant lines, other needs to be replaced.

General Comments:

This car is the fastest car of its size and age that I have ever ridden.

It has excellent acceleration.

My first car and is excellent.

It'll smoke a ricer any day off the line and keep on going.

Has rust like a car of its age should have.

Looking for the optional ground effects kit off of an S/E.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th January, 2004

1990 Pontiac 6000 LE 3.1 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.1 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance280000 kilometres

Summary:

A hidden surprise

Faults:

It had transmission problems at about 170,000 kilometres and had brake problems from new (pads had to be replaced like clockwork.)

The alternator had to be changed a few times, as well as the head gasket.

General Comments:

It handled so well you could drive with your pinky on the steering wheel, the six-by-nine speakers had so much base, the car rattled, and the 3.1L had so much torque, you could take off and feel your front end lift happily.

The six-way power seat was always comfy, and it came with other great features, like yellow fog lamps that made it easy to drive in snow.

It was a great car while I drove it, but Canadian winters killed it; it had to be sidelined because the frame rusted after thirteen years of salt.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd November, 2003

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 17 reviews