1994 Pontiac Bonneville Reviews - Page 4 of 5

1994 Pontiac Bonneville SSE 3.8 Litre Not SuperCharged from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.8 Litre Not SuperCharged Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired6250 miles
Most recent distance192400 miles
Previous carNissan Frontier

Summary:

Great, Reliable Vehicle

Faults:

1. 1994

A. Alternator

2. 1995

A. Alternator

3. 1996

A. Alternator

Discovered SSEi uses a higher amperage alternator at a cost of $25 dollars over the cost of a stock alternator installed a SSEi alternator. This did require a slight modification of a bracket. Also by this time car was out of manufacture warranty. Car had about 55,000 miles. 4. 1997

A. Air Conditioner Compressor

This was a very expensive repair this repair was about $600 dollars at the Pontiac dealer.

5. 1999

A. Ignition Switch

6. 2000

A. Blown Intake Gasket.

General Comments:

I believe considering the mileage we have put on this car it has been very reliable. This vehicle still runs very well and I still drive it everyday. It has had some interior problems I did not list above because I have not bothered to fix them. Including the center console cup holder has broken off. I would say every Cup holder of this type is broke off within a year off owning car. Also none of the steering wheel radio controls work any more. Remember 192,300 miles though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th June, 2003

1994 Pontiac Bonneville SSEi 3.8 liter V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.8 liter V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired132000 miles
Most recent distance133000 miles

Summary:

Luxury with Attitude-Pontiac

Faults:

I just bought the car from a guy down the street. I am only 16 but I am really in to cars. I have had some problems with the door panels and the CD player, but nothing a half-way intelligent person could not fix.

General Comments:

I like the car a lot, it was in fair condition when I got it and I have fixed some minor things in it. One thing is the low coolant fuse has a short because I have full coolant, but it still comes on.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th November, 2002

30th Jun 2006, 02:12

I just got a 1994 bonnie and I love it! I got the car for eight hundred and fifty dollars.. and it looks almost like new and it runs pretty good... WOW.

1994 Pontiac Bonneville SE 3.8L from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.8L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired16000 miles
Most recent distance189524 miles

Summary:

A safe, reliable, touring sedan

Faults:

ABS failed after some time.

Compression problem, engine was rebuilt in garage for little money.

Design flaw in windshield, cracked in the center. Was replaced for 200 dollars.

Detonation. Checked at dealer, they claim it is normal for the 3.8. I suspect a worn timing assembly.

General Comments:

Handles great on original suspension.

Stops quickly, even with ABS disabled.

3.8L Gen I engine provides smooth, torquey acceleration.

One rust spot on rear fender after 9 years of being parked outside in Pennsylvania acid rain.

Wears tires better than any GM car, has never needed aligned.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th October, 2002

1994 Pontiac Bonneville SE 3.8 Series 1 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.8 Series 1 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired105000 miles
Most recent distance106000 miles
Previous carBuick Regal

Faults:

Needed sensor on drive shaft to engage engine. It wouldn't start. 105000.

Driver's seat is worn on the left side. But, the rest are in good condition.

General Comments:

A good car for the money.

It has all the equipment of an SSE, but without the higher price.

The dual power seats are still strong after 106000 miles, all the other power equipment still works great.

I didn't keep the stock stereo, exchanging it for a CD player (aftermarket). But, I have heard that the stereo is VERY good. My speakers are stock and work VERY well for all the different types of music I listen to.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th October, 2002

25th Mar 2008, 16:22

What is the reason for saying no to Pontiac? it seemed like he was happy with the car.

1994 Pontiac Bonneville SSE 3.8 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired98000 miles
Most recent distance108000 miles
Previous carDodge Coronet

Summary:

A reliable, yet powerful machine

Faults:

A month after I owned the car the hub bearings went bad because I found out the previous owner replaced them with junk yard parts.

I also replaced the rotors, which looked like Swiss cheese, and put some high quality ceramic brake pads on up front.

Recently I replaced the rear brake cylinders to be safe.

The previous owner never had to rebuild the transmission, but did put in a new battery, alternator, and tires.

General Comments:

I wasn't expecting to buy an "old people's" car after selling my 1970 Dodge Coronet, but I have no regrets in buying a Bonneville. This car is extremely reliable and is not what it looks like.

The 3800 Series engine under the hood dishes out some impressive power when stock. However I've given my Bonneville a run for its worth since I purchased it with the following additions:

16" Chrome Epic Rims

215/50/16 Firestone Tires

Superchips Mod Chip

MSD Super Conductor Wires

Splitfire Sparkplugs

Pro Zen Motorsports Ram Air Style intake system

Intake Timing Advance

180 degree Hypertech Thermostat

Dynomax muffler with stainless steel exhaust tips (y dual exhaust)

I have also tricked out some parts of the car with strobe lights in the headlights, as well as GTS headlight blackouts and a hood protector.

I have decals all over the windows as well as my car club's decal on the rear window which really catches people's eyes.

I would have to say that taking a car no one thinks much about and turning it into a head turner has been a very fun experience.

Just remember, don't underestimate grandma's car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th September, 2002

14th Nov 2002, 12:55

Hey, I believe I saw your Bonneville on www.cardomain.com. The part that caught my attention was the part about the junk yard bearings. I remember the part on that website about the bearings. That, and all the updates on the car I remembered. If I'm correct, could you please e-mail me at Adam73647@hotmail.com.

13th Nov 2003, 23:44

HI,

I also have a 1994 Bonneville SSE. I am very interested in spicing it up and am curious to see whatever upgrades I can make to mine to increase performance and power. I'd appreciate any and all information I can get and/or clubs available. I'm located in South Jersey.

Thanks to anyone that answers.

gcash2@comcast.net.

24th Jun 2004, 15:56

Seems to be a trend here! I too would be interested in finding out more information regarding your mods... please post a reply if you can so that you can point us other lost souls in the right direction, thanks!

bschwipps@yahoo.com

7th Aug 2004, 14:14

You are right definitely a trend here with the Bonneville's. I also have an extremely clean white 94 SSE and I am also looking to increase power. anything that I can do to give it a little bit of extra kick. I have had a lot of work done to it just for the heck of it and now I'm looking to make it more of a performance machine. anything would help. thanks.

Chrisbeck060683@yahoo.com.

5th Sep 2004, 10:25

Hey, mind sending me some pics. and other details about your Bonnie? Sounds like you know what you're doing! Much appreciated!

Bmnytennis@yahoo.com

Average review marks: 8.5 / 10, based on 25 reviews