1997 Pontiac Bonneville Reviews - Page 6 of 7

1997 Pontiac Bonneville SLE 6 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 miles
Most recent distance104000 miles

Summary:

Not worth the high price

Faults:

The transmission has just been replaced. My mechanic says this is a major problem with the Bonneville.

General Comments:

The carpet has worn out quickly. There are seldom more than 2 people in the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd November, 2002

1997 Pontiac Bonneville SE from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired2700 miles
Most recent distance69000 miles
Previous carLincoln Continental

Summary:

As comfortable, dependable, and stylish as any car on the road today

Faults:

Absolutely nothing.

General Comments:

This has been the most dependable car I have ever owned. The interior is extremely roomy an comfortable with plenty of leg room in both front and back seats. The trunk space will hold as much as a small pickup.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th September, 2002

1997 Pontiac Bonneville SE 3.8 litre from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.8 litre Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Caprice

Summary:

An absolutely wonderful automobile

Faults:

Solenoid in transmission went out at 50000 miles. Replaced water pump at 60000 miles.

General Comments:

This is the first Pontiac I have ever owned, priorly I've owned nothing but Chevies. Other than the problem with the transmission and water pump, this vehicle has been extremely reliable. On a trip to Florida a year ago, I was able to get 33 mpg, fully loaded with gear for four people.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd June, 2002

1997 Pontiac Bonneville SE 3.8 liter from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.8 liter Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired97000 miles
Most recent distance103000 miles

Summary:

Comfortable but unreliable

Faults:

The car would die with no warning while at highway speeds. Impossible to diagnose unless the malfunction occured while on a diagnostic machine.

General Comments:

Intake manifold developed a hole at EGR port causing water to flood the fuel system which caused the engine to lock.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th September, 2001

16th Apr 2003, 22:20

I gave the review a poor.Why? because my car cuts off and the write didn't say what the dealer found and I need to know...thanks.

28th Jan 2004, 20:51

Uh, what part of "impossible to diagnose" don't you understand?

1997 Pontiac Bonneville SSEI super-charged from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission super-charged Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired55000 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles

Summary:

Great luxury and speed for a mid-price

Faults:

Minor problems (radio display out), nothing major except a mirror that my daughter hit off.

General Comments:

Very nice magnetic steering.

Great acceleration.

Very fast with much comfort.

Quiet.

Really hauls ass for its weight.

Very nice for impressing friends.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd September, 2001

1997 Pontiac Bonneville SE 3.8 L V6 (non-supercharged) from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.8 L V6 (non-supercharged) Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired5000 miles
Most recent distance40000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Comfortable, powerful, smooth, but repairs are troublesome

Faults:

12,000 wind noise - gasket replaced.

21,000 Battery leak at positive terminal - warrantee replaced with 6-year battery (see below)

33,000 Tensioner/idler pulley bearing bad - warrantee replaced, did serpentine belt at same time.

37,000 Water pump bad; replaced and partially covered by extended warrantee.

38,600 Goodyear Eagle LS tire delaminated (not directly car related)

41,000 Battery again leaking, destroyed cables and acid corroded part of chassis. Not covered under warranty, so cost $480 out of pocket.

General Comments:

Other than the seemingly high cost of repairs to this car, I like it's power, comfort, quietness, and appearance. I got the "SLE" package, which was not marketed in '97 as a model. It is very comfortable for long driving trips, and I arrive unstressed.

However, the mounting repair costs are beginning to worry me. Delco needs to fix their battery design - in hot climates they seem to always leak acid at the positive terminal, and it caused considerable damage this time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th July, 2001

1997 Pontiac Bonneville SSEi 3.6 supercharged from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.6 supercharged Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired29000 miles
Most recent distance51000 miles
Previous carPontiac Bonneville

Summary:

Good looks, nice performance, get a new suspension system!

Faults:

The brakes squeal even though they were replaced three times by GM!

Maybe is related to the poor air ride control system. My biggest gripe. I had the same problem on my previous SSE model, that I thought was just bad luck. Poor dealer support to correct.

Now I know it must be that Pontiac has a problem with their air ride control system. When the air bleeds down, the car sags, and causes the alignment problem.

General Comments:

I like the Pontiac styling, but the mechanical problems with the suspension, on both my top of the line Bonnevilles, tell me I had better look elsewhere when I am ready to replace.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd June, 2001

22nd Jun 2001, 07:07

I just recently purchase a Bonneville SSEI. I have had nothing but problems. It has left me stranded twice. Once on the highway trying to get it back to the dealership to be repaired. It has already had 3 repairs made. I feel GMC do not stand behind making sure their customers are satisfied with the purchase of their product. I wish I had never set foot on a Pontiac dealership lot.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 30 reviews