1997 Pontiac Bonneville Reviews - Page 3 of 7

1997 Pontiac Bonneville SE 3.8 Series II from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.8 Series II Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 miles
Most recent distance210000 miles
Previous carJeep Grand Cherokee

Summary:

Great reliable GM sedan that will go the distance

Faults:

Normal wear and tear of driving it 30k/year.

Intake manifold at 90k.

Transmission repair at 170k due to clutch pack between 4 and 5th gear in automatic transmission.

General Comments:

Great reliable vehicle.

Has handled a lot of hard driving.

Just now replacing the original suspension at 200k.

Great power and freeway passing ability.

Handles great in Midwest winters.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th November, 2007

1997 Pontiac Bonneville SSEi 3.8 liter from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.8 liter Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired46000 miles
Most recent distance147000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

I miss my Bonni!!

Faults:

The only problem I had during the seven year I owned it was an alternator that went out.

General Comments:

This was the best car I have ever owned. I am 56 years and really am impressed with a good piece of machinery. This model and engine/transmission combination was a big hit for my family. It was the most comfortable car to take on a long trip. The nine position car seats made an unlimited combination of adjustments for comfort on a long haul.

Pontiac did a major mistake by removing this model from the stable. I have left the Pontiac line since it was changed to the New GXP or is it the G6P.

I would have bought another Bonneville if it was still produced. Figures an American company would do away with a winner.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th March, 2006

1997 Pontiac Bonneville LSE - 40 year anniversary 3.2 Series II from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.2 Series II Automatic
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance96000 miles
Previous carChevrolet 3104 Pickup

Summary:

Poorly engineered for the price

Faults:

The day after I picked the car up from the dealer I returned with a leaking gas tank. The dealer was very apologetic, but I couldn't believe a new car could have a tank that leaked. The car performed well for the next 45,000 miles. All required maintenance was accomplished. This car was driven mostly by my wife and then one day while driving to Charleston, SC., I noticed some problems with the automatic transmission. To make a long story short, I reported it to the dealer, but was told they could not find anything wrong and dismissed it. I reported it to them on four other occasions, (48,000 - 51,000 - 54,000 - 55,000 and finally at 58,000 miles). The last time I decided to take the car to a local Chevydealer, my extended warranty was done at 50,000 miles. The Chevy dealer told me that there was a code in the computer, which had been there for quite some time that stated, "transmission slipping", I needed a new transmission. After a heated debate with regional Pontiac and my dealer it was replaced free of charge. That made me happy until a new alternator was needed at 65,000 miles. I still have the car, I use it as my go to work car, it has 94,000 miles and now the battery cables are corroded and will be replaced later this week.

General Comments:

In 1997 this car sold for just over $25,000.00.

I will never buy another American engineered car.

Thankfully the Japan automakers are using US workers to assemble their better engineered cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th November, 2005

1997 Pontiac Bonneville SSEi 3.8 Supercharged from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.8 Supercharged Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired12000 kilometres
Most recent distance305000 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

Fast and Reliable

Faults:

The only things that have gone wrong on the car are:

Battery at 175 000kms.

Water Pump at 195 000kms.

Alternator at 215 000kms.

Catalytic Convertor at 300 000kms.

Front Brakes roughly every 50 000kms.

General Comments:

This has without a doubt been the best car I have ever owned.

It has never let me down with all the driving I do (roughly 50k/yr).

It is fast, roomy, handles decently for a big car and carries 4 golf bags with 4 big guys with no sweat in comfort and style.

There were a few small problems with some squeaking and creaking when new which were addressed by the dealer (just some tightening of a couple of screws here and there).

Overall, it is a fantastic car and still has another 150-200k's left in her.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th July, 2004

1997 Pontiac Bonneville SE 3.8 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired49000 miles
Most recent distance101000 miles
Previous carPontiac Bonneville

Summary:

If maintained, this car will last and last. Keep it checked, and it won't let you down

Faults:

After purchasing, the water pump had to be replaced. The dealer was kind enough to replace it. I thought this was very nice considering it was used with no warranty.

Next, the serpentine belt had to be replaced at 68,000 miles. I consider this routine maintenance.

We had a leak in one of the lines on the back brakes. This was relatively inexpensive to get fixed.

At 80,000 miles we had the head gasket replaced. We were told this was common for this model because GM used cheap plastic gaskets. The replacement was aluminum which hopefully means that it will last longer. this cost roughly $730.00 to fix.

General Comments:

Overall, I have to say that I love this car. Sure, we have had to fix some things, but I consider this normal. It is a man made piece of machinery. Over time it will cause some problems if not well maintained. We caught the gasket problem early on and avoided major engine problems with coolant and oil mixing.

This car is a great family hauler.

The car also handles and takes cures very well.

The transmission shifts seamlessly and beautifully.

This car also has a tougher look about it which makes me want to own it longer. Who knows, maybe we will reach 200,00 in this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th April, 2004

18th Jul 2004, 18:21

I to owned a 97 Bonney, to which I traded it after 4.5yrs for a Grand Prix, and all I can say is I miss my Bonney and I regrett it. It was a very comfortable, fun to drive car and it was really good on gas.

19th Oct 2004, 19:45

I am a technician for a company that currently owns about 12 96-99 bonnevilles as sales cars. we currently average about 250,000 miles before they are replaced. I can't say enough good things about these vehicles. I have purchased 2 from the company so far. I have a 98 with a little over 300,000 miles and I drive it every day. the only real problem I see with these cars is the upper intake manifold. I have found that the aftermarket have pretty much corrected the manifold problem, so if you replace one, get it from an auto parts store and not the dealer!

5th Feb 2006, 14:10

I bought a 97 Bonneville in 1999 when it had 30,000 miles on it. It now has over 90,000 and while I have had to fix a few things, like the water pump, air conditioner compressor, I have been very pleased with it. Considering the size of this vehicle, I have been amazed at the consistent high mpg on the road. Sometimes, I get over 30 mpg!!

I had considered trading it in, but I have maintained it well, and I really think I might get well over 200,000 miles on it, who knows. Right now it is still running and performing like a new car.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 30 reviews