1998 Pontiac Bonneville Reviews

1998 Pontiac Bonneville SE 3.8 V6 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.5 / 10
Distance when acquired159000 miles
Most recent distance167000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass

Summary:

Good car starting to show many signs of aging

Faults:

A/C Compresser at 158,000 miles.

Front Wheel Bearing at 165,000 miles.

Idler Pulley at 166,900 miles.

Serpentine Belt at 167,000 miles.

Vibration on the highway that cannot be fixed.

Many squeaks and rattles in the interior.

Rubbing noise from rear of car.

Front Speakers have loose connection.

Front grille rusted and is now loose.

Transmission quivers at low speeds.

General Comments:

Overall, it has been a decent car, but it has poor workmanship inside and out. The interior used cheap material that creak and rattle.

Wind and road noise unacceptable for this nameplate.

The red panel lights are attractive and stylish.

Buttons on the steering wheels are a nice touch.

ABS works well and quiet, not all can be said for cars of this age.

Exterior styling is one of the most attractive on the road in silver.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd April, 2007

11th Jun 2007, 21:21

Wow! Do we have the same car? Mine has had every single problem you have listed! And no more or less than that!

1998 Pontiac Bonneville SE 3.8 Liter V6 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.8 Liter V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired62000 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles
Previous carJeep Grand Cherokee

Summary:

Almost great

Faults:

No mechanical problems so far.

General Comments:

This car has great performance from the V6. Very smooth, quiet and gets GREAT gas mileage. I averaged 30 mpg on a highway trip through mountainous terrain. I average 25 mpg around town. It handles well, is roomy bit the base cloth bench seats are VERY uncomfortable after an hour or two of sitting. Not good for a long trip. With the uplevel seats this would be my ideal car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th June, 2006

1998 Pontiac Bonneville SSEi 3.8L V6 Supercharged from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.8L V6 Supercharged Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired76000 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

Excellent all-around family vehicle.

Faults:

Replaced fuel sending unit about a month after I bought it (76-77k). That was the ONLY problem I've had with this car.

General Comments:

Very quick for almost a two-ton vehicle. Ride comfort is pretty decent, and the cabin is pretty quiet on the highway. Decent handling. Has been very reliable for me. I rated 'Running Costs' low because the supercharged car requires higher octane gas (91+). I have averaged 16-18 mpg city.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th June, 2006

1998 Pontiac Bonneville SE 3.8 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired54000 miles
Most recent distance104000 miles
Previous carFord Tempo

Summary:

I love my Bonneville!

Faults:

Let's start with the intake gaskets at the ERG valve site. The service manager at the dealership where this car was purchased was left walking... in Chicago, about 350 miles from home! The intake literally broke. The dealership did a shoddy repair job, just replaced the intake and gasket without checking for other damage as it literally quit running due to high temps. Of course I am not told this until after I buy this car. But 10,000 miles later I have both a new motor and transmission under the extended warranty. 33,000 miles on the new engine and the intake gasket blows!Interior speaker covers on doors came loose.

Center arm rest/tape holder hinges broke. Other misc. interior problems.

General Comments:

Intake gasket failure is a big problem with these engines. This is in my opinion the only real issue.

This car handles very well.

Very comfortable seats.

Plenty of truck space.

Would I buy another one? Indeed I would. Dollar for dollar spent I have enjoyed this particular car more than any other vehicle I have ever owned. I do think GM/Pontiac needs to fix the intake gasket issue however.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st May, 2006

1998 Pontiac Bonneville SLE 3.8 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Distance when acquired79000 miles
Most recent distance97566 miles

Summary:

A great car it will be sorely missed!

Faults:

Smoke started to come out of vents on dash. then within in mintues the car was fully engulfed. this car was a sound running car. maintained regular.the cause is still unknown.

General Comments:

This car was far the best I owned.

It handled wonderfully.

I am trying to find a replacement now.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th January, 2006

1998 Pontiac Bonneville SLE 205 hp from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 205 hp Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired62000 miles
Most recent distance102000 miles

Summary:

Except for its $1,600-to-repair Achilles heel, the Bonneville is one fantstically satisfying auto

Faults:

Intake manifold/head gasket required replacement at around 63,000 miles. Cost around $1,600 to repair at dealer. At about 93,000 the intake manifold/head gasket needed repair a second time!

No other problems.

If the factory would assume responsibility for this typical problem I would not have any other car.

In every other way, 0-60 times, handling, passenger room, gas mileage, trunk size, the Bonneville excels.

General Comments:

Except for the costly repairs noted above, my Bonneville has been a fabulous car in every other way, however, every time I am out late at night or in bad weather I feel uneasy, wondering if the damn gasket will blow again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th March, 2005

26th Apr 2005, 06:14

I have a 1998 Grand Prix GT with a 3.8 V6 and yes a blown intake manifold gasket at 60000 miles. I have taken repairing the Grand Prix myself by purchesing a aftermarket intake manifold for less than half of the dealer with all the same improvements. I feel this should be a recall on GM.

17th Jan 2007, 09:32

1998 Bonneville, My car is on its 4th intake manifold gasket at 82,000 miles. It has left me stranded too many times one time was two states away. The first two replacements were handled under my purchased extended warranty, but the last one is not. It is at the dealer as I am writing having the gasket replaced again. Last one was supposed to have been a redesigned gasket and this new one is supposed to have been redesigned again. I agree with the previous contributor about not wanting to trust this car anymore. No wonder Toyota is taking over, my opinion is I will be looking at a Camry myself after owning many GM cars and vans.

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 12 reviews