1999 Pontiac Bonneville SLE 3.8 litre V6 from North America


Sporty and reliable, but not a good fit for someone tall


Other than normal wear, tear and maintenance:

2005 - Throttle plate had a lot of carbon, which I thought was odd, because 90 percent of the miles on the car are highway.

2003 - Transmission wasn't firing on all cylinders. Expensive fix. Luckily I had an extended warranty.

General Comments:

This car has been reliable and has a fair amount of power when needed.

However, the seats for me (I have a bad back and sacro-illiac joint) are very uncomfortable. No position seems to help.

Not a car for someone taller than 5 foot, 10 inches tall.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th July, 2005

25th Jul 2005, 01:12

Transmission wasn't firing on all cylinders? You mean the motor.. you're not a car guy are you.

4th Aug 2005, 13:20

Purchased this car with 30,000 miles. Was at the dealership for the next 9 months for repairs. First, something on the shift lever broke, so would not lock in park, therefore, key would not come out. Was in for faulty windshield wiper motor 3 times before the right problem was fixed. Transmission had to be replaced. There was one other problem; right now, I can't remember what it was. NOW, after extended warranty expired on June 28, the rear main seal has be to replaced-leaking oil all the time. About a $1 gasket, for an estimate from dealer of $567 to replace because motor has to come out. Also, I have never sat in such uncomfortable seats. I am 5'7", size 12, and there is not a good position for these seats. Also they are about 4 inches too short. Will never buy another one.

20th Dec 2005, 15:44

Your crazy I'm 6'3" and I have one and I fit fine try lowering the seat!!! I even took mine to the track, try to find another extremely large car with only a v6 that you can run in the 15's without doing anything to! V6 is powerful natural and that's why they continue the same engine in all GM applications.

1st Jan 2006, 03:27

I am 6'2 and I fit perfectly in my SSE Bonneville, the car was originally my dads who is 6'3. I don't know where you got the idea that this car is not good for tall people, I love my bonneville it is comfortable for 4 tall men. I would definitely reccomend it to anybody!

1999 Pontiac Bonneville SE V6 from North America


Great reliable car, with plenty of room


The automatic radio antenna stopped retracting and stays in the "up" position.

Transmission seems to be slipping when I press on the gas hard and it can shift "rough" when accelerating fast.

When I first press on the gas off the line it hesitates, then goes, unless I gun it and then I have the transmission problem above. I sure would like to remedy this.

The rear struts/shocks are getting weak, meaning with heavy capacity it appears to be sagging. Not sure about that yet maybe I just need to replace the struts/shocks. Will check out once winter is over.

Stock radio lacked power and good sound (i did not have a CD player). Fixed that by installing new stereo and six speakers, sounds good now.

General Comments:

This vehicle has been fun to drive. I have enjoyed the ride on the highway as my commute is long. The fact that I can get into the vehcile and start, point, and go is fantastic.

Seats are comfortable and long rides are pleasurable. Plenty of room for everyone including luggage.

Engine is in good shape and no leaks noted yet, of course except for the typical oil leakage as seals start to break down, nothing on the ground though.

I bought this car because the price was right and my Uncle had one and had many positive things to say about them. I have thought many times that I would like to trade in and get a Cadillac STS or SLS, but like one of the other writers noted once you clean it up and it shines they look nice, drive good, and are reliable. So then I forget about a newer car and go for a drive.

Overall I like the car a lot. Gas mileage is reasonable given the size/weight limitations and it drives nicely on the highway. I would just like to figure out why engine is not responding when I press on the gas. Oh well I can live with that.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th February, 2005

20th Feb 2005, 17:07

Good review.

Your issue with the transmission and car stumbling from a stop is an ignition problem. Get your spark plugs and spark plug wires replaced. I had the EXACT same issue with my 99 Bonneville.

4th Mar 2005, 07:55

Thank you, for the advice, I will change the plugs and wires and go from there. That would great if it fixes the problem, I kind of thought that might be the issue. I did have a couple of ignition switches replaced, but not all of them since they were still good. Thanks again.