1993 Pontiac Firebird Reviews - Page 2 of 3

1993 Pontiac Firebird Formula 5.7L LT1 from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.7L LT1 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired1250 miles
Most recent distance136000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Summary:

This car is violently fast, while being civil around town

Faults:

My Drivers side exhaust manifold cracked at 115,000 miles.

The tires need to be replaced often.

General Comments:

This car was totaly restored with all performance LT4 parts and is making in excess of 400HP to at the rear wheels.

It runs in the low 12 second range on street tires and in the high 11's on slicks.

The car is great looking has an aftermarket ram air hood from Suncoast Creations (funtional) and SLP Firehawk rims.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th December, 2004

1993 Pontiac Firebird Formula V-8 from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired99875 miles
Most recent distance115786 miles
Previous carBuick Regal

Summary:

The sporty speed machine!

Faults:

I had to clean the coolant system and replace radiator (did not overheat!)

Driver door power window needs work.

Passenger seat belt has a nick.

A/C compressor blew.

General Comments:

I love this car. It is fast, and reliable.

She hugs the road like glue!

Give her gas and she will fly!

I maxed her out at 120MPH, but she would have done more!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th December, 2004

10th Dec 2004, 06:54

Hugs the road like glue eh?

As long as the road is dry, that is!

24th Jan 2005, 19:51

Yes she sticks to the road, as long as you don't drive like an @$$hole!

1993 Pontiac Firebird Formula 5.7 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.7 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 miles
Most recent distance175000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Truck

Summary:

This car is a blast to drive and dependable

Faults:

Nothing major has gone wrong so far.

Replaced passenger power window motor bad when purchased.

Stock exhaust is too quiet.

Replaced Exhaust for sound and performance.

Had to change the fuel pump at about 160,000.

Other than that just basics.

General Comments:

I love driving this car. It offers a great driving experience. I am installing modified heads, intake, and cam in a couple weeks. Plus other upgrades. Should be in the 400hp range when done. Might do more later.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th May, 2004

1993 Pontiac Firebird formula 5.7 LT1 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.7 LT1 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired154000 miles
Most recent distance154434 miles
Previous carFord Aerostar

Summary:

High performance beast

Faults:

My turn signals both had blown bulbs when I bought the car.

Driver side window motor fixed when car was bought.

Heater had to be fixed when I bought the car.

General Comments:

This is a very fast car to be 10 years old it drives like it just rolled out of the production line.

It sticks to the road like glue.

Never seen a faster car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd April, 2003

1993 Pontiac Firebird Trans Am LT1 5.7 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission LT1 5.7 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired44000 miles
Most recent distance89000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Summary:

Great fun to drive and very reliable

Faults:

Nothing major, all minor things like battery, clutch (worn out), window motor, headlight motors, window/lock switches, steering wheel radio controls, and horn contact inside steering wheel.

General Comments:

My Trans Am has never left me stranded anywhere. It is quick for a car built in 1993 and very comfortable on long trips. It also get incredible mileage (27+) for 275 hp rating.

My only complaint is that the plastic buttons (pw/pdl/steering wheel controls) inside the car do not hold up to extreme heat like the south has.

For a inaugural year of the 4th generation f-body, my hat is off to GM for doing a very good job on this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th March, 2003

1993 Pontiac Firebird Transam 5.7 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 5.7 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired48000 miles
Most recent distance63500 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

Excellent, enough said!!

Faults:

ABS in-op light came on, faulty connector in dash.

Immobiliser fault, new module fitted.

General Comments:

Seriously quick car ("no substitute for cubic inches") and it handles as well as any other Grand Tourer, despite what people may say.

Nicely laid out dash, comfortable cruiser (with space for luggage) but a bit bumpy over old back roads.

The sound of the engine cannot be beaten.

Simple to maintain and work on.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th July, 2002

1993 Pontiac Firebird Trans Am 350, V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 350, V8 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired58000 miles
Most recent distance61000 miles

Summary:

A very exciting car to own

Faults:

Well, I bought my car used, so I had the preliminary problems.

Alternator had to be replace at 60000 miles.

Brake pads had to be replaced.

A/C went dead, cost me 160 dollars.

Had to put new fog lights in, they were dead when I got my car.

New catalytic converter.

General Comments:

I really love my car, the performance is amazing for an 18 year old. I can hang with a lot of cars. And beat even more! I love it when you nail the gas, it really goes, throws you in the back of your seat. I love it that when I shift from first to second that I can spin my tires a little, that is definently enough power. My car also helps me to pick up some girls! Everyone loves my car.

I had the preliminary problems when I first got my car, but now everything is working well.

Gas really puts a hurting on my wallet, I only get 17 miles per gallon in the city.

I plan on getting Flow masters on my car, just to give me a little more power and better sound. I can't wait!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th April, 2002

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 13 reviews