1996 Pontiac Firebird Formula Firehawk 5.7 LT1 from North America


I will definitely own another!


Window motor went out the day I purchased the car.

Radiator needed replaced at 76,000 miles.

Developed high RPM miss at 76,000 miles (this was due to antifreeze leaking onto distributor when replacing radiator).

The car came with special aluminum brake calipers, which are expensive to replace.

General Comments:

This car handles awesomely!

LT1 ignition system is kind of pricey to work on.

Extremely comfortable seats.

Absolutely beautiful car inside and out.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th April, 2008

1996 Pontiac Firebird Base Coupe 3.8L V6 from North America


It's an alright car


My plugs and plug wires were bad, and had to be replaced; about $70.

I can't figure it out, but my car sputters when accelerating.

General Comments:

I love this car, and I would get another one, but I just need to get the kinks out.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th April, 2008

1996 Pontiac Firebird 2D coupe 3.8L V6 from North America


The only problem I've had with it is the headlight motor, which can be fixed for $15. Other than, it gets it annual tune up and fluid changes, which don't cost me a dime.

General Comments:

The car is awsome. Its quick for a V6, especially one from 1996. The car handles well, and the motor can take a lot of crap. I drag race my car weakly and it has 127K miles on it. this car makes me glad I don't own an slow import lol.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th October, 2006

1996 Pontiac Firebird Trans Am 350 LT-1 from North America


Waste of money, you would be better finding a hole and throwing cash in it


Spark plugs have gone at 110,000 miles.

Headlight motors wore out quickly.

Power window motor wears out quickly.

Gauges don't work anymore.

Full brake replacement at 108,000.

General Comments:

The spark plugs cost 600 bucks to replace.

The mechanic said this is the toughest car to work on besides a Jaguar. Maintenance is expensive when it needs to be done. The car does not last through the years. It's like all american cars, they last for 80,000 miles, then blow up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd July, 2006

24th Jul 2006, 10:10

Imagine that, you bought a car with over 100K miles on it and you had to replace the spark plugs and the brakes?

Sounds like a real lemon all right.

24th Jul 2006, 20:00

"Waste of money, you would be better finding a hole and throwing cash in it"

Well then, next time maybe you should spend a bit more and get a vehicle that in all probability, was`nt beat on for 100k miles.

1996 Pontiac Firebird trans am 5.7 lt1 from North America


Almost a Corvette


Headlight motor housing cracked. The headlight would freeze in the up position, requiring it to be manually lowered. My dad fixed it by wrapping it with wire to close the crack. It was jerry rigged, but it worked.

Stitching on leather seat on drivers side was coming lose.

Transmission had a fluid leak.

General Comments:

I always wanted a Trans am. Wanted a Trans am back in high school. I always liked the performance and style of the cars. They always seemed a bit more upscale than a Camaro. I drove a 1989 Trans am back in 1995 and liked that car. I couldn't afford a new new car in those days, but I saw the Camaros and Trans Ams, both on the dealers lots, and always hoped that some day I would own one.

Now ten years later I had the money to buy a nice, clean used Trans am.

The nicest one I found I bought. It was painted dark green metallic with tan leather. Only had 65000 miles and it seemed really nice. the power and performance of the lt1 5.7 engine is awesome.

I never owned a small block chevy V8 that had that type of performance.

The automatic transmission was a good match for the car. Nice smooth shifts under light power and a neck snapper under hard throttle.

The handling is very good. Despite the cars weight, it can corner very good. The Trans am was the best handling car I have ever owned or drove. The 1989 Trans Am I drove years ago could really corner, but, the 1996 Trans am was even better.

The 4 wheel disc brakes hauled it to a stop decently, but, I always thought they could have been better.

The interior was really cool with a fighter jet style layout. I loved how the dashboard gauges were backlit with red lighting. The controls were simple to use. The factory stereo seemed nice enough for me.

I love the way the car looks. The styling is very aggressive and timeless. It doesn't have any silly "look at me" pretensions. The Trans am has a spoiler on the back, however it looks like it belongs there, and only enhances the "fighter jet on wheels" look.

The little things I forgot about. The air conditioning worked very well.

The Trans Am also had fog lights. I didn't find them to be really helpful for extra lighting. I do think they added another point to the cars cool factor.

The things about the car I didn't like.

I saved the problems with the car for last. There weren't many things about the Trans Am I didn't like, but there were a few.

The ride could be too firm for some people. I didn't mind this personly. I know that performance cars need to ride a bit firm for good handling.

The outward visibility. The car is very low to the ground. So it can be a little hard to see that's going on in traffic. The rear sail panels are wide and might cause blind spots, the worst when backing out of a parking space.

This car can be a bit difficult to get in and out of.

Due to its low to the ground. I pity anyone who has to ride in the backseat. There isn't much room back there.

This car was a dream come true for me. I loved every minute of driving it. I'll never forget cruising around, getting approving looks from girls and jealous stare from guys, blasting the stereo, doing a little street racing, just having good times behind the wheel. The types of things Trans am were made for. Fun driving and hauling butt, not hauling groceries.

I would recommend this car only to people who can enjoy its strong points and accept its flaws.

I'll never forget the gleam of the just waxed hood reflecting the glow the the street lights, stereo blasting some classic rock, the exhaust pipes rumbling with strong v8 power. Taking me home after a night of street racing, bar hopping and skirt chasing good times, very good times.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th June, 2006

13th Jan 2011, 12:39

I fully agree with your report. My 1996 is the same color, but is a convertible.