1996 Pontiac Firebird Reviews

1996 Pontiac Firebird Formula Firehawk 5.7 LT1 from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 5.7 LT1 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired74000 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles
Previous carChevrolet C1500

Summary:

I will definitely own another!

Faults:

Window motor went out the day I purchased the car.

Radiator needed replaced at 76,000 miles.

Developed high RPM miss at 76,000 miles (this was due to antifreeze leaking onto distributor when replacing radiator).

The car came with special aluminum brake calipers, which are expensive to replace.

General Comments:

This car handles awesomely!

LT1 ignition system is kind of pricey to work on.

Extremely comfortable seats.

Absolutely beautiful car inside and out.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th April, 2008

1996 Pontiac Firebird Base Coupe 3.8L V6 from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.8L V6 Automatic
Distance when acquired147630 miles
Most recent distance156350 miles

Summary:

It's an alright car

Faults:

My plugs and plug wires were bad, and had to be replaced; about $70.

I can't figure it out, but my car sputters when accelerating.

General Comments:

I love this car, and I would get another one, but I just need to get the kinks out.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th April, 2008

1996 Pontiac Firebird 2D coupe 3.8L V6 from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.8L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired118000 miles
Most recent distance127000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Prix

Faults:

The only problem I've had with it is the headlight motor, which can be fixed for $15. Other than, it gets it annual tune up and fluid changes, which don't cost me a dime.

General Comments:

The car is awsome. Its quick for a V6, especially one from 1996. The car handles well, and the motor can take a lot of crap. I drag race my car weakly and it has 127K miles on it. this car makes me glad I don't own an slow import lol.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th October, 2006

1996 Pontiac Firebird Trans Am 350 LT-1 from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 350 LT-1 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired103000 miles
Most recent distance111111 miles
Previous carHonda Prelude

Summary:

Waste of money, you would be better finding a hole and throwing cash in it

Faults:

Spark plugs have gone at 110,000 miles.

Headlight motors wore out quickly.

Power window motor wears out quickly.

Gauges don't work anymore.

Full brake replacement at 108,000.

General Comments:

The spark plugs cost 600 bucks to replace.

The mechanic said this is the toughest car to work on besides a Jaguar. Maintenance is expensive when it needs to be done. The car does not last through the years. It's like all american cars, they last for 80,000 miles, then blow up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd July, 2006

24th Jul 2006, 10:10

Imagine that, you bought a car with over 100K miles on it and you had to replace the spark plugs and the brakes?

Sounds like a real lemon all right.

24th Jul 2006, 20:00

"Waste of money, you would be better finding a hole and throwing cash in it"

Well then, next time maybe you should spend a bit more and get a vehicle that in all probability, was`nt beat on for 100k miles.

23rd Oct 2006, 12:02

Wow. 600 bucks for spark plugs? You have to be kidding. Unless they are diamond studded gold and titanium plated, I'm pretty sure you got ripped off. And with the tiny list of problems you have with having a muscle car over 100,000 miles, that is quite a well built car, so don't even think about saying that American cars are crap. I had a 89 civic and had to replace exhaust valves, tierods, radiators, waterpumps, and I only had it from 72k - 92k. So if I were you, I would be quite happy with what you got, and how little you spent on it.

20th May 2007, 05:15

Interesting... Congratulations, you own the most expensive set of spark plugs ever made. I'm thinking your either legitimately angry and over reacting in your comments, or you're a teen early 20's kid that loves his Honda Civic or whatever foreign brand you drive. It is those like you with your attitude that buy foreign cars and put Americans out of work, when in reality the American brand's quality have improved substantially over the last several years.

21st Oct 2007, 13:37

It's not the plugs that cost so much money; it's the labor (because they have to raise the engine to get to the back 2 plugs).

21st Jun 2008, 22:08

I had one of these cars and you simply get at those plugs from directly underneath the car with a short-neck wrench. Now, if you need to put exhaust headers on it, yeah, you gotta 'tilt' the engine to get them in. I'd be wondering if this fella either a) wasn't told, b) didn't realize, or c) forgot to print that his optispark was replaced along with that other stuff. Starting to sound like he got a deal, when you think about it that way!

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 16 reviews