2008 Pontiac G6 4 cylinder from North America

Summary:

This car is great, and I would recommend it to any and everybody!

Faults:

Nothing much, the biggest problem that I've had recently was having to get new windshield wipers, because the ones that came on the car were completely worn out.

General Comments:

This car is great!

Very comfortable.

It handles like a champ.

The system sounds like something you would go to a professional and get put in your car for hundreds of dollars.

The only thing that I would have negative to say about this car, is it would be nice to have cruise control on it, but it's definitely not a must.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th May, 2011

18th May 2011, 10:35

My folks love their G6 too. I would have bought one myself if Pontiac was still in business, I settled for a Cobalt instead. You must have the base model? I was sure all G6's came with cruise.

2008 Pontiac G6 4 cylinder from North America

Summary:

Sporty with good economy

Faults:

Noisy brakes.

General Comments:

I'm happy with my purchase so far.

We got up to 33mpg highway out of the 4 cyl motor on a recent trip from WA to CA, with the AC running, and it has enough power to handle hills.

The fit and finish of car is not very tight however. A bit of road noise is evident. It could use some dampening material in the trunk.

Comfort is fair for me, but I am 6'3". Hardest getting in and out, having to duck my head under low roofline. Once I am in, I am good.

Telescoping steering wheel is nice option.

Brakes squeal, even though the pads are fine. Took it in to a mechanic at 19,000 miles to have the brakes checked because of squealing. Said everything looked good. I have read about possible warped rotors on earlier models of this car. No problems stopping so far.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th January, 2009

2008 Pontiac G6 Value Leader 1 4 from North America

Faults:

Nothing has happened to take this car back to the dealer.

General Comments:

Although nothing has happened mechanically to this car, I'm not at all happy with it. I wish I had rented one for a couple of weeks before I bought it.

The noise from the 4 cylinder motor is grating. I hate to have to accelerate hard because of the drone of the motor. Funny it didn't sound like that during my test drive, but a few months down the road it just keeps getting louder. My mechanic told me it's just the noise of a 4 cylinder. You'd think it would have better sound proofing in the cab.

Also the suspension is awful. I feel every crack and bump in the road. Believe it or not I looked under the car to make sure they installed the shocks when they built it. My Dodge truck (which I traded because of the mpg) was quieter and had a smoother ride.

I'm not going to own this car long, so if you're considering this car for gas saving, listen to that motor closely during your test drive, and instead of driving on smooth asphalt find a side road with gravel and cracks, that'll show you what the ride is really going to be like.

In its favor, it's a nice looking car, great mpg and lots of room in the cab.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th December, 2008

16th Mar 2009, 21:44

I bought my Pontiac G6 brand new in June of 2008. I too wish I had rented one because I would not have purchased this. I have a 6 cylinder, gas mileage is horrible. I'm only getting about 20mpg doing city driving. This is a small thing, but where the door lock is makes it uncomfortable to drive if you put your arm up on the window. I'm not exactly thrilled with it, but guess I am stuck for the next 4 1/2 years with this car until it is paid off.

2008 Pontiac G6 2.4 Liter 4 cylinder from North America

Summary:

Very enjoyable ride

Faults:

No problems so far.

General Comments:

Bought this car new. With $3K rebate it priced the same as a comparably equipped Corolla, but is larger more comfortable car. This is the base model, just above the Value Leader with most of the desirable options.

A pleasure to drive. The 4 cylinder is lighter in the front, and makes steering touch lighter than the V6.

Plenty of power - 164HP. Our V8 Grand Marquis is 200HP. Surprising that they get 80% as much power out of half the cylinders.

Lots of electronic read-outs - instantaneous mileage, est. miles remaining, tire pressure, long term mileage, 2 trip odometers - time, temp, and more.

Comfortable cabin with gauges easy to read and knobs and switches easy to reach.

Electric steering is very much like regular hydraulic power steering. Not sure if this could be a maintenance problem when the car ages.

Back seat is spacious but 14 cu ft. trunk is slightly smaller than Camry. Overall dimensions same as Camry.

Stylish exterior and not much chrome.

Comfortable on long trips - doesn't tire you out.

Only complaint would be shifting between 1st and 2nd gear (up or down) on the 4 speed automatic is not as smooth as I would like. This may smooth out as the car ages.

The oil filter is a cartridge that screws into a metal cup attached to the block. It seems to keep the oil quite clean as the oil monitor showed about 35% oil life remaining when first changed at 5,000 miles. Oil change & new filter was only $23 at the dealer - comparable to Walmart and less costly than many other places.

XM radio and built in phone with On Star is a nice plus. Just punch the phone button on the mirror and say "Dial". Then tell it the number one digit at a time. You hear the person you called thru the stereo speakers. You buy minutes thru OnStar with your credit card.

Overall, pleased with the purchase so far. The dealer appears to take a quality approach to service which was part of the reason we chose them and Pontiac.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th July, 2008

4th Oct 2008, 17:31

I agree with this review, although I don't own a G6, I rented one a couple weeks back and enjoyed it (V6 model). The one thing I also found was the transmission seemed dated since I was constantly having to downshift in the mountains. A 5 speed auto would be great. Otherwise, a nice, smooth ride.

5th May 2011, 18:35

I wrote original review. Followup comments 36 months into ownership.

2 failures:

Speaker out in driver's door. Probably a loose wire.

Right rear door lock usually fails to engage when locking doors. So you have to manually open door and push button. Button located at the BACK of the rear door, rather than at the front, so you can't easily reach it to manually lock or unlock. Poor design.

Had to have electric steering opened up and lubed at 30k miles (under warranty). Steering gave a slight bump when rotating wheel. OK now.

Otherwise, still liking the car very much.