1978 Pontiac Grand Am Reviews

1978 Pontiac Grand Am 3.50 Chevy from North America

Model year1978
Year of manufacture1978
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.50 Chevy Don't Know
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10

Faults:

Only minor problems that I am just recently getting fixed. The blinker has broken 3 times, I need a full AC restoration, the headliner has been replaced twice, the rear-view mirror has fallen off the glass, and it takes about 5 minutes to warm up and turn on.

General Comments:

When I first got it, I inherited it from my great aunt. She hadn't gotten a paint job since she had bought it, but only drove it to church, the store and back.

I will admit, when I got it, it was an ugly car. But I saw potential. I got the whole car painted jet black, except for the chrome, and didn't get the gloss. It is beautiful now. Everybody I talk to asks for a ride.

It also rides very smoothly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th July, 2006

28th Apr 2007, 02:36

The 1978 grand am has a 305 Chevy and an optional 49 state 301 Pontiac, and of course a 3.8 Buick as base.

1978 Pontiac Grand Am from North America

Year of manufacture1978
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired3000 miles
Most recent distance4200 miles

Summary:

The best car I have ever owned

Faults:

The brakes are the only major thing that has been wrong with the car.

General Comments:

Very fast and handles very nice.

Corners like a dream.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th November, 2005

1978 Pontiac Grand Am 3.1 4 barrel from North America

Year of manufacture1978
First year of ownership1978
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.1 4 barrel Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance84046 miles
Previous carPlymouth Valiant

Summary:

I still love how this car looks and handles!

Faults:

Cooling system needed complete replacement over the years.

Headliner replaced once, needs it again.

AC has been worked on several times - rebuilt compressor installed the last time.

That's it!

General Comments:

My mechanic - who hates GM cars - always tells me, "You got the good one."

The car has been faithful, comfortable, reasonably economical, and fun to drive.

I bought it new and it's been garage kept all these years.

Now sports antique tags (Virginia).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th April, 2004

26th May 2006, 13:20

I like this car so much, I bought it!

13th Apr 2007, 16:41

I had one of these as my very first car when I was about 16, which I got from my dad after he bought a rather fancy used Caddy at a good price from a rich uncle. I loved this car and drove it for about 2 1/2 to 3 years before the transmission snapped on my one day during my first year of college. I do miss it, still one of my two favorite cars of the 5 that I've owned in my life and definitely my sentimental favorite.

1978 Pontiac Grand Am 2 door coupe 301 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1978
First year of ownership1983
Engine and transmission 301 turbo Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance250000 miles

Summary:

I'll never sell it

Faults:

My car is going to a speed shop to get professionally built to drag race. I got a Pontiac 400 with a 400 turbo transmission. Then I'm going to throw in a bottle of nitrous. It will be stainless steel with marron interior. It's been sitting for 12 years and now it's time.

General Comments:

It's my childhood car, my dad used to pick me up in school with.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th February, 2001

17th Jul 2001, 23:13

This is the type of thing I like to hear. Right now 2/3 of the interior of my 1990 Grand Am LE is in my basement because I love the thing and am completely restoring it. It's my first car. Even though a lot went wrong with it, there's somewhat of a challenge to keep it going and make it better.

29th Aug 2004, 02:16

I have a 1978 Grand Am that I am just about to start fixing up. It was one of 2000 made, it has the Trans Am engine in it. It was used in the testing grounds in AZ. It has only 68,000 on it. It really was my Grandmothers car, driven to the store and back. I am wondering if there is any hints as to what I can do to make it faster (It is pretty quick) than it is. A descent price would be nice.

1978 Pontiac Grand Am LeMans 305 5.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1978
First year of ownership1989
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 305 5.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance100000 miles

Summary:

A gas guzzler but well worth it

Faults:

The starter keeps going out. And it's really hard to find emission parts for this car.

General Comments:

It a very comfortable. The previous owner, my mother, didn't care for it very much. She did routine oil changes and tune-ups on the car but that pretty was much it. Now I'm trying to restore it because I love the way it rides.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th April, 2000

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 5 reviews