1987 Pontiac Grand Am Reviews - Page 2 of 3

1987 Pontiac Grand Am LE 2.5 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1989
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.5 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.6 / 10
Distance when acquired3000 miles
Most recent distance93500 miles
Previous carPontiac Catalina

Summary:

Junk

Faults:

Here is a list of problems that this car has had...

The engine block cracked and was replaced around 3000 miles.

The heater core went at 85,000 miles.

The driver side window stopped going down around 55,000 miles.

The oil, window washer fluid, and power steering fluid have leaked since almost new.

The high beams kept burning out.

The electrical system started to have problems around 60,000 miles and at times made the car unuseable.

The starter was replaced around 75,000 miles.

The coil pack for cylinders 2 and 4 were replaced at 80,000 miles.

Dome light stopped working at 30,000 miles.

Cassette player kept eating tapes.

Interior fell apart.

Body rusted with only 93,000 miles and 3 coats of wax a year!

Finish on the alloy wheels started to peel around 50,000 and look very bad.

Weather stripping fell apart.

General Comments:

This car was among the most unreliable I have even encountered. With only 93,000 miles on it (and it was the second engine) the car had to be junked.

The car jumped and jerked between gears, the body rusted through, the electronics were beyond what words could say as bad, the engine was weak, the brakes didn't do anything.

I would never buy another Pontiac or GM product for that matter. We bought a Honda and it is 100 times better.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st November, 2003

1987 Pontiac Grand Am SE 3.0 litre V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0 litre V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired67000 kilometres
Most recent distance289000 kilometres

Summary:

One absolutely fabulous car

Faults:

Timing chain wore and caused a ticking sound in the engine. Was replaced and has been in good working condition ever since.

General Comments:

This was the best car I ever owned, you can't kill it. We have had it for 13 years and it is still going strong. Just a little rust here and there.

We have a new car now, but I will never get rid of the Grand Am SE - a wicked car!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th July, 2003

1987 Pontiac Grand Am 2.5 Litre from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5 Litre Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10

Faults:

The head gasket and head had to be replaced, due to wear and tear.

The steering is very stiff when you first start the car. The season doesn't affect this either.

General Comments:

This is a good first car. Seeing as I'm still a student, it is good for what I need it for. It has, however, been costing me a lot of money due to repairs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th May, 2003

1987 Pontiac Grand Am 2.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.5 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired167000 miles
Most recent distance171000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass

Summary:

A big bang for the buck!

Faults:

Fuel injectors clogged.

A/C developed a major leak.

Water pump failed and had to be replaced.

Headliner detached.

General Comments:

This car has been reliable for the most part and is very economical to operate.

The 2.5L 4-cylinder is great on gas usage using the 5-speed manual transmission.

The small body and responsive steering gives this car great maneuverability in traffic.

Body shows a lot of wear and tear at 171000 miles, but has little or no rust.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th October, 2002

1987 Pontiac Grand Am from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10

Summary:

The car is alright, but the rust is terrible!

Faults:

The alternator belt has gone, as has the battery, the radiator, the body, and the brakes.

General Comments:

-The rust on this car is terrible.

-I have seen the same make of vehicles that have rust in the same places.

-My opinion is that the body was poorly done as the rust is terrible.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th June, 2002

1987 Pontiac Grand Am 2.5L from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.5L Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.5 / 10
Distance when acquired68000 miles
Most recent distance198000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Colt

Faults:

Changed timing gear from plastic to metal (at approx. 50,000 miles)

Alternator changed twice at 90K and 140,000 miles..

Changed water pump at 190,000 miles. It was a royal pain.

Changed radiator at 198,000 miles.

Changed steering rack at 165,000 miles.

Changed fuel pump at 175,000 miles (inside gas tank).

Passenger-side ball joint replaced at 196,000 miles.

Had cruise control fixed, but broke again.

Driver's seat worn badly.

Driver's side manual window is almost impossible to open.

Car rattles a bit.

General Comments:

The car still has full power, but at almost 200,000 miles, it's showing some age. It's always been a bit noisy and rattly, but it gets excellent gas mileage, the tires seem to last forever, and it's never let me down. The seats can hurt your back on long trips. I have always done excellent maintenance on it, using the highest quality materials (synthetic oils, good filters, etc.). I want to coax it to get to 250,000 miles. Overall, I'm surprised that an American 4-cylinder has made it this far.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd May, 2002

22nd Feb 2003, 08:43

I have a 1987 Pontiac Grand Am that I purchased in 1999.I have had the car for almost 4 years now and find it to be a very reliable vehicle. Best used car I've ever purchased.

I read your comments and found that I have had to have the same work done as you have at about the same mileage. My car was purchased with 138,000 miles and now has 176,000 miles. The exterior looks shabby because of the peeling paint, but GM had problems with all it's paint jobs around that time due to poor prep work and primer.

I have replaced the water pump at around 150,000,replaced the steering rack at about 165,000,heater core has been replaced twice (second time was my fault for not flushing the system).

Replacing the water pump wasn't too bad. Replacing the heater core was a pain because of the time involved removing the center console and related parts then replacing after changing out the core. The biggest pain was disconnecting the hoses from the core because you have to be under the car to do it (I don't like being under any vehicle).

I plan on rebuilding the engine sometime in the near future. I want to keep this car for as long as possible. Good dependable cars are hard to come by.

Thanks for reading my comments.

29th Jul 2003, 12:30

My 1987 Pontiac grand am won't die, Has over 200,000 miles on it.. All you people waiting for it to turn to the 200,000 mark got news for you. It stops at 199,999 My did that about 6 months ago and I drive 500 miles a week and sometimes take it on trips over 250 miles away.. Haven't changed the oil in like 6 months, Thought I would rebuild the engine once it died, but it hasn't yet. This thing is the noisiest car ever. all I hear is knock knock knock and yet it still takes me 100 miles a day for work.

Great car.

17th Nov 2003, 13:47

I bought my 1987 Grand Am new in 87. It currently has 219,000 miles and is the best car I have ever owned. I have had to replace the alternator 3 times in the last 10 years, (nobody could ever figure out why.) The motor is the 2.5 4cyl. It still gets around 30 MPG, but like most others I've seen it sounds like a diesel tractor. Good car, I'm never getting rid of it.

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 12 reviews