2000 Pontiac Grand Am SE 3.4L from North America


Good Family Car


Only 85k put on this 3.4L Se

Fuel pump replaced. Warranted $600.00

Problems with speakers.Warranted.$100.00

Replace brakes way too often.$60.00

Driver side mirror just fell off. $300.00

New Motor.$3500.00

Good on gas


Lot's of cabin room for family

Good trunk space


Controls easy to use

It's got some kick for a family car.

General Comments:

If your thinking about buying this car it's a good idea to get a warranty of some sort. Make sure you check the car for any kind of leaks!! May cost you. Like me hence new motor. Besides that it's a good car for what your paying..

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th April, 2005

6th Jul 2007, 10:07

How can you say this has been a good family car if you've had to replace the entire engine for $3500 after only 85,000 miles?? You're expectations must be really low! I had a 1999 Grand Am too for 6 years and it was a piece of junk. Literally fixing something else on the car every two months. Drive a Honda for awhile and maybe your expectations of quality, reliability and durability just might go up - a lot!

2000 Pontiac Grand Am GT 3.4 Ram Air from North America


A great Buy!


The only thing that I have replaced are:

New Brakes and Rotors, and the blinker.

General Comments:

I love my Grand Am. This car handles amazing. The acceleration is outstanding for a factory car. My CD player has great tone quality with the 6 speaker sound system. I am impressed with the gas mileage considering the way I drive it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th April, 2005

2000 Pontiac Grand Am SE 2.4L DOHC from North America


I'm glad I like taking care of my car so much, if not it would probably be a real pain in the neck


Fuel pump in gas tank has gone out twice. The first time it was under warranty and in the shop for 3 days. The second time, I did it and it took all of 30 minutes.

I have changed the brakes and rotors about 4 or 5 times.

The A/C circuit behind the blower went bad from water leaking into the car. The blower would only work in 3-4-5.

The driver side window assembly broke. Just the little clips, but I had to buy a whole new assembly. And its going out again, I can hear it...

The driver seat motor went out. The seat back frame broke. The tilt handle also broke. I just put in a whole new seat.

The turn signal takes a day off occasionally.

The radio volume knob adjusts the volume randomly.

The trunk locking mechanism went out. I had to take it apart and oil it up.

The horn relay went out.

The lights on the radio display don't work.

My factory rear speakers blew out.

The wiper motor gets the shakes sometimes when I turn it on.

My ignition won't 'recognize' my key anymore so I have to jiggle it to get it to turn.

The paint on the hood is fading around where the heat guard is on the underside.

The passenger side mirror fell off.

I hear wind from coming in from everywhere now. My car used to be so quiet.

General Comments:

I bought this car in early 2001 and have put about 130,000 miles on it.

Even though sometimes I get frustrated with all the little things that go wrong, I take very good care of my car.

Its very comfortable on the long trips I usually take and seats 4 with all their stuff no problem.

Even with a measly 4 cylinders, it still delivers some power while being fuel conservative.

The makers of this car had a great idea going when they made it, they just slacked off on the quality.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th April, 2005

28th May 2006, 22:31

The blower only working on 3-4-5 is most likely caused from the blower resister which is an extremely common problem on the 99-05 Grand Am's.

2000 Pontiac Grand Am SE V6 from North America


I think it's a great domestic car


The only concern I have with this car is that I smell burning oil, when the car is sitting or being driven for a long time. And will over heat by 1 or 2 degrees. It's a very faint smell, you will only smell it when you are stopped.

Also, a small rattling noise from under the car. It not the catalytic converter, because it doesn't rattle louder when I accelerate.

Any suggestions.

General Comments:

It's a beautiful looking car.

Great comfort.

Horse Power and Torque is great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th April, 2005

8th Jun 2005, 09:48

Definitely have the oil checked out. Hopefully your burning oil smell won't be as costly as mine was. The oil was leaking back into my engine. I would smell that same type of odor, but was not alarmed because there was never an oil spot, so thought it was just something minor. Twelve hundred dollars and three days in the shop later I realized how really wrong I was! I won't pretend to understand what really happened, but I do know that a sludge had formed in my engine and it had to be completely cleaned out and hoses replaced.

28th Jun 2005, 10:21

Well if I was you I would replace the oil as soon as possible. and if that isn't it then I would take to a mechanic and have them look at it before the problem gets worse then what it already is.