1992 Pontiac Grand Prix Reviews - Page 6 of 7

1992 Pontiac Grand Prix GTP 3.4 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.4 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired98000 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles
Previous carToyota 4Runner

Summary:

This car is luxury coupled with sheer guts

Faults:

My alternator has to be replaced a minimum of once every two years.

The brakes have been done four times in 30,000 miles.

General Comments:

This car is a rocket off the line, and even at highway speed there's lots of room left. It's hard to keep it under 80 miles per hour even on a Sunday cruise. The cabin is stylish and makes you feel as though you're piloting an aircraft. The fully optioned leather seats are a dream for both driver and passenger, as the passenger gets to enjoy the same adjustment options of the driver. Sight lines are a worry though as blind-spots are prevalant thus keeping a driver on his toes.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd October, 2002

1992 Pontiac Grand Prix SE coupe 3.1 Automatic from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.1 Automatic Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired89000 miles
Most recent distance93000 miles
Previous carPontiac LeMans

Summary:

Good car and decent performance

Faults:

I have had this car for only a few months now and I have already replaced the alternator, the fuel injectors, and the fuel pump. All of this work was done within a few hundred miles of eachother. Also the glovebox has been broken since I acquired the car. It has a combination on it so I have to specially order one from GM. Which really sucks ($).

General Comments:

I like the style of the car. The interior is in perfect condition: no scratches, burns, tears, fading, etc. The engine sounds great when I get on the gas, but when I reach high RPM's the engine seems a little sluggish. The transmission shifts nicely, overall a very smooth and powerful ride.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st April, 2002

1992 Pontiac Grand Prix SE 3.4 DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.4 DOHC Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired107000 miles
Most recent distance115600 miles
Previous carBuick Regal

Summary:

A high-performance efficient car

Faults:

The rear brakes locked up. It leaks a little oil and the cruise control needed adjusting.

General Comments:

This is the fastest car I have ever driven. It toasted a new Buick Riviera with a 3800 supercharged! Superb handling, but a harsh ride.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th September, 2001

1992 Pontiac Grand Prix SE 3.1 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.1 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles
Previous carDodge Daytona

Summary:

I like this car

Faults:

I rebuilt the rear calipers after they locked up. Also had to turn the rotors (did it myself, worked out great).

Had to replace the thermostat.

General Comments:

Really nice car. The problems I have had, I have been able to fix.

I got the windows tinted and installed some speakers, amp, and a new CD player. Sounds great, pretty tight.

The car handles extremely well and has sufficient performance.

More room inside than I know what to do with. You can fit at least 1 person in the trunk. :)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th September, 2001

1992 Pontiac Grand Prix LE 3.1 MPFI from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.1 MPFI Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired179000 miles
Most recent distance195000 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

GREAT CAR

Faults:

In the months that I have owned this car it has been very reliable car.

General Comments:

It's a very quick sedan. The 3.1 has good power. No problem getting up to 115 MPH. Gas mileage is great. I love this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th May, 2001

1992 Pontiac Grand Prix LE 3.1L V-6 MPI from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.1L V-6 MPI Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired62000 miles
Most recent distance66400 miles

Summary:

A reliable, high miles per gallon, sporty Grand Prix

Faults:

My dash panel and gauges, when I bought it at 62,000 miles. I fixed them for $180.

Brake shoes need replacing and brake rotors need to be turned at 66,000 miles.

General Comments:

The engine is good and reliable, however the stock 140hp could be higher.

The interior is comfortable.

It actually handles pretty well for a "family sedan", or at least I make it handle well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th March, 2001

7th Sep 2001, 18:37

On your gauges. How or where did you go to get them replaced for only $180?

I have a '92 SE. I bought it in '95 with 51,000 miles. The dash lights were acting up so the dealer replaced the cluster under warranty.

2 years ago they started acting up again. It keeps getting worse. Faulty lights, odometer will add and subtract mileage at random, speedometer will lie sometimes. Car has 132,000 miles and is in great shape.

Please let me know if a dealer fixed this for $180, or maybe you had a special connection.

Thanks

1992 Pontiac Grand Prix SE 3.1L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.1L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired144500 miles
Most recent distance158550 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Nice, efficient, comfortable, and VERY good looking!

Faults:

It was a fixer-upper when we got it (for really cheap though... definitely worth it).

We replaced the battery, brakes, fuel pump, and we're now replacing the starter for the second time (even though it's my fault because I live in North Dakota, and I didn't understand the meaning of "cold starter: don't freakin' crank on it for an hour!!!!!!" at the time, so...) But it's worked really well.

The previous owner didn't really take that great care of it, so I think it's been a real sport!

General Comments:

I wanted a Grand Prix for a long time, and was pleased when I got it. I would get another one for sure (but I'd take a better look at the previous owner that time).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th December, 2000

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 24 reviews