1996 Pontiac Grand Prix Reviews - Page 3 of 5

1996 Pontiac Grand Prix SE 3.1 from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.1 Don't Know
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance95000 miles

Summary:

Worth every dime I paid for it

Faults:

Alternator went out shortly after I purchased it $250 to replace. Clutch on AC pump went out, replaced Ac pump with a $40 junkyard find.

General Comments:

My 1996 grandprix Se. has been an exceptional car to own, Floats down the highway like a dream. plenty of power for my needs.

My car receives plenty of preventive measures I. e flush transmission, oil changes, fuel filters, etc I hope to put another good 100,000 on it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st May, 2005

1996 Pontiac Grand Prix SE 3.1 from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.1 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired92412 miles
Most recent distance96286 miles
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

It's a awesome car, it looks good, sounds good and I would consider another one down the line

Faults:

Water pump went at 92,412.

Serpentine belt at 92,412.

Battery at 94,671.

Alternator at 94,682.

Upper radiator hose at 96,108.

Lower radiator hose is leaking.

Needs brakes all around, rotors are pitting.

General Comments:

It's a great car overall, runs OK body is in great condition along with the interior.

The driver and passenger seats are stuck all the way back so it would be impossible for a person under 5'6 to drive it if necessary.

It's a clean car for the most part, except for the antifreeze, there is no sign of oil leaks or any other fluids.

Has descent pick up, great for passing very nice get up and go.

Has a nasty hesitating at about 60.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th October, 2004

1996 Pontiac Grand Prix SE 3.1 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.1 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance233859 miles

Summary:

Porsche quality for Pontiac Price

Faults:

A/c failed at 180,000 miles.

Clear coat on hood peeling at 220,000 miles.

Body kit's passenger side fenders have broke off, due to poor driving.

General Comments:

This car will run no matter what as long as there is gas in the gas tank, it has been over 230,000 miles and still yet no engine problems what so ever. The only manufacturer problems that have come of it is a couple of broken plastic accessories, clear coat peeling, and the a/c dying, but not until 180,000 of driving it to death.

Parts can be hard to find, especially aftermarket products, and if you do find them they are a bit costly. Overall, this car is an excellent investment of money if looking for a used car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd May, 2004

1996 Pontiac Grand Prix SE 3.1 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.1 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired89000 miles
Most recent distance98000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Prix

Summary:

The nicer twin to my other GP

Faults:

Service Engine Light stays on, small vacuum leak somewhere.

CV boot changed 97000.

Driver's power seat malfunctioned, can't adjust it up or down (oh well).

AC vents die out then the AC comes out of the floor vents when stomping the gas, really noticeable when going uphill.

General Comments:

I like the red paint job, even if it says Cop Magnet.

The car looks real mean, handles pretty nimbly, especially with the aftermarket rims and tires.

Has some-get-up-and-move when you want it, K&N filter helps a lot.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th May, 2003

20th Sep 2003, 21:24

I think your vacuum leak an ac problem may be a small black vacuum hose in the harness behind the battery, either the engine heat or battery acid makes it crack. I found it on my wife's car while changing the battery. Fleetguru@juno.com.

9th Sep 2004, 16:28

Can I see pics of your car I am gettin a 96 want to add stuff to it email is cam_6868@yahoo.com.

1996 Pontiac Grand Prix SE 3.1 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.1 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired73000 miles
Most recent distance84000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass

Summary:

Excellent purchase new and equally excellent as a used vehicle

Faults:

Alternator and battery replaced.

General Comments:

Very economical 3100 motor averages 32 MPG on highway.

Very quick acceleration from the V6.

Better fit and finish than previous GM cars owned.

Very nice factory sound system.

Front split bench seat could use more thigh support as well as adjustable lumbar.

Responsive steering along with good handling for a family sedan.

This car has been in my family since new and has always proven to be reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th December, 2002

1996 Pontiac Grand Prix SE 3.1 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.1 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired25000 miles
Most recent distance160000 miles
Previous carBuick Century

Summary:

Buy another one soon, but keeping this charm!

Faults:

While under warranty, a several electric window switches and the alternator had to be replaced. My cost has been normal routine such as brake pads and such. I replaced the battery at 140,000 mile!!!

Drivers seat is sagging now, wonder why.

The only body parts is the gas tank door cover spring keeps breaking.

General Comments:

The car is still quick as ever!

Engine ticks a little, but still runs like a charm. No oil leaks or usage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th September, 2002

13th Sep 2004, 10:42

Does anyone have picture of how the spring is installed. I have one and can't figure which way around it goes.

Dave.

24th Dec 2004, 15:26

Hi

I need help with a question. I own a 1996 grand prix. I just had a new transmission put in. The car set for 2yrs. The mechanic fix the car, he started it up and took it for a test ride. When he returned, he shut it off and it will not start. I have exhauted all my thinking. I feel that the security system has shut down the car. Please help me. By the way there is no spark. Thank you.

3rd Feb 2006, 14:14

Hi my wife ran my 96 grand prix special edition out of gas, so I put some gas in that I had laying around it ran until I shut it off at the gas station then I pushed it and it fired, but it did not start any suggestions?

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 21 reviews