1991 Pontiac LeMans Reviews

1991 Pontiac LeMans LE 1.6 from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired109000 miles
Most recent distance113000 miles

Summary:

Ol' Faithful

Faults:

My alternator went after 5 months.

Next was my starter, which I got from another LeMans that came with the one that I bought. It saved me 190 dollars.

Then it was my brakes. The pads were completely gone and my calipers were grinding against my rotors. It completely grinded through the whole rotor.

Then it was my water pump and CV axles.

And finally it was my head gasket.

General Comments:

It's a very reliable car and it is great on gas mileage. I get around 35-38 miles per gallon.

Not the fastest Pontiac, but it gets me from point A to B.

It's a fun little car and it can burn out like a champ.

The sound system is awesome, and hits very hard. It's the only thing valuable in my car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st November, 2004

2nd Nov 2004, 15:30

Sounds like some of your problems are result of lack of maintenance (letting the brake pads wear down to bare metal, destroying the rotors; and letting water pump problem cause a blown head gasket), although I cannot dispute your last sentence, even if the stereo is a Sparkomatic 8-track.

26th Dec 2004, 12:57

I just bought a 91 Le Mans LE for $500. It was a good buy for someone like me who knows how to work on vehicles. For someone who knows nothing about cars it could very well become a money pit. Gas mileage on this car is incredible, although the tank is the about the size of a shoe box. All of the main components of this car are in excellent working condition and only small repairs are needed. Overall I am happy with my purchase and have no problems with the Le Mans LE.

1991 Pontiac LeMans from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired143000 miles
Most recent distance197532 miles

Summary:

I paid 300 for this car and got a heck of a car

Faults:

The muffler fell of on the way home.

The seats were almost completely destroyed.

The left rear louver was missing (I have yet to see one with it)

Every belt and hose had to be replaced due to poor maintenance. (there was a screw driver piercing the radiator hose)

It had three different types of tires on it.

General Comments:

After replacing all of the faults I have yet to see I have decided I love this car.

It handles like a Cadillac.

Once I replaced the stereo and speakers the sound system was killer.

The paint on this car has yet to show any wear.

It has more guts than anything I've ever driven and out runs even the cockiest of teenagers.

My primary complaints are it's a Daewoo engine and it has no passenger mirror.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st August, 2004

4th Aug 2004, 07:14

Yeah, I know what you mean, those cocky teenagers on their rollerblades are SO annoying...

1991 Pontiac LeMans LE 1.5L 4-cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.5L 4-cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired11300 miles
Most recent distance12500 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Beetle

Summary:

Buyer beware!!!

Faults:

Fully manual (as in hand-on-glass) windows.

The console lights flicker when I touch the steering wheel.

The automatic transmission sounds like a pinball machine right before going into third gear.

The steering feels like mashed potatoes.

General Comments:

I purchased this scrap from a used car dealership shortly after wiping the tears off my face from the loss of my 1965 beetle. I talked the crooks down to $3000 from $3500 since the air conditioning didn't work. It seemed like the car had been cared for since the license plate frame said "Calvin and Lori, Silver Anniversary", yet little did I know that 12,000 miles later the crankshaft bearings would blow as I was 80 miles from home at 3 in the morning.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th January, 2002

1991 Pontiac LeMans Aerocoupe 2 door 1.6 Liter from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 Liter Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance117000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Celebrity

Summary:

A fun keeper

Faults:

My speedometer broke in 2000.

The muffler has fallen off (and has been replaced).

Rear defrost hasn't worked since I bought it, and recently the backup lights don't work (going to fix that soon).

Oh, I also had to replace the clutches a few months after buying it.

General Comments:

I did some repairs to the coloring of the interior and since then it has been extremely comfortable to ride in.

Even though I've actually had to put quite a bit into this car, I plan to keep it for a long time. It has been very reliable and useful.

I would definitely suggest it for a college student who needs to find parking in small spots.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th May, 2001

13th May 2004, 06:17

I agree with this review. My LeMans has never given me any major problems. The CV joints are starting to act up, but that has been it. It is very reliable.

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 4 reviews