2001 Pontiac Montana Reviews - Page 3 of 8

2001 Pontiac Montana from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired67000 miles
Most recent distance148000 miles
Previous carIsuzu Trooper

Summary:

Buy under 120K!

Faults:

A/C not working replaced air compressor, tie rod plus passenger side wheel bearing, that should be recalled! (I have two friends with Montana's 01-02 and their Pass side wheel bearings also went bad between 130-150K.) Recall on the sliding door latch. Rubber seals on doors coming off. Seat belts get old fast. Recline handle screws loosing. Interior overhead leaking water during heavy rain at information center.

General Comments:

This has been a nice car to me so far with regular maintenance. The wheel bearing/air compressor were the worse things. I have driven many types of cars and Pontiac was at least better than Chevrolet, Chrysler or Ford (non trucks). Of course I have seen the best performance and reliability from foreign cars, especially Toyota.

It handles well. Very luxurious and comfortable. Up to date on technology. Not reliable after 130K. Good on gas. I get up to 20 mpg or more. Buy it at younger miles to last you, but not over 120K!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th July, 2007

2nd Oct 2008, 15:37

Just your comment about buying one under 120k. Ummm, don't buy one at all. You're headed for trouble even under 120k, the repairs are just around the corner and they're all big ticket items. Stay away.

2001 Pontiac Montana V6 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.6 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance76000 miles
Previous carPontiac Sunfire

Summary:

American junk plastic with a little bit of iron

Faults:

Replaced entire engine due to AC parts bad, and rear head gasket leaking. It was cheaper putting in a 2004 motor than having to repair the old one. Was pretty bad due to overheating.

Right front bearing going, and so is the speed sensor. Oil sensor is not working also.

General Comments:

Piece of junk! Bought a warranty from a dealer. Company went BK. Dealer still in business. Out $1400 and the dealer won't stand behind it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd June, 2007

2001 Pontiac Montana from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired39 miles
Most recent distance72000 miles
Previous carPontiac Montana

Summary:

Not worth spending your money on with so many repairs having to be done so soon

Faults:

The van over heated after a couple thousand dollars of repair work on the engine.

The majority of the repair bills were due to gaskets, intake manifold, oil and coolant mixing, coolant in the engine, you name it.

The driver-side power window broke last year.

There is a weird clunking noise coming from underneath the vehicle.

The front cup holder broke off of the van last year. There has always been a problem with overheating every since the first big repair job to fix gaskets.

Rear wiper fluid motor not working at all.

A short in electrical wiring to the rear lights.

General Comments:

I'm not sure if this van is worth fixing.

Repair bill will total around $3400 if I decide to get the engine fixed.

I liked the van until it started having so many problems around 60k miles.

A nice ride. Kids loved it.

Not much cargo space at all for groceries, soccer equipment, etc.

Not nearly enough cup holders.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th April, 2007

4th Apr 2007, 15:20

I'd find another mechanic, since your current preference seems to be causing all the problems.

2001 Pontiac Montana Van 3.4 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.4 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.7 / 10
Distance when acquired86000 miles
Most recent distance86000 miles
Previous carPontiac Montana

Faults:

Have same problem many are experiencing with intake manifold gasket leak on 3.4 L motor at 86,000 miles. Sludge in the engine oil. Any recommendations on best way to get Pontiac to pay for fix since this is obviously a known issue that they don't seem interested in correcting. Also, any one know of any class action law suits to join for state of Florida or Virginia? I feel they should pay for entire fix. Location of internal Pontiac memos regarding knowledge of this problem would be most appreciated, thanks.

shanleys@aol.com

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th February, 2007

2001 Pontiac Montana Extended 3.4 gas from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.4 gas Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.2 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 kilometres
Most recent distance160000 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Bonneville

Summary:

Do not buy it Lemon!

Faults:

Everything

Head gasket blew 80000km, A/c compressor 90000km, front wheel bearings 100000km, right power window, thermostat, a pain to change, main break cylinder, too many problems...Everything is poorly made

General Comments:

I will never buy another GM ever again...sad, because I had a Pontiac Transport before this and at 315000km- (had an accident) haven't had 1/4 of the problems that I had with Montana at 150000km.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd February, 2007

9th Jul 2007, 10:35

My right power window also went out - I wonder what it took to fix this one -- new motor, switch, etc.

Average review marks: 5.4 / 10, based on 32 reviews