1988 Pontiac Sunbird GT 2.0 turbo from North America


Still runs with the new models, speed/MPG


Timing belt broke at 54k, and again at 90k.

A/T trans lockup converter coil failed (unplugged it).

Headlight covers open at 40mph.

Radio / speakers both have bad connections.

Power windows are slow / rubber outside seals cracked.

Interior / trunk are still nice.

Needs a new convertible top cover (OLD).

Turn signal isn't behaving right.

Water temperature gauge works intermittently.

Front tires go bald a lot and smoke / squeal.

General Comments:

The 1988 Fiero GT had no turbo... (why?). This car is great. The Sunbird name kinda kills it though.

Anybody ever use the trunk-rack?

It should have a spoiler.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st August, 2014

2nd Aug 2014, 14:32

What purpose does a rear spoiler serve on a front wheel drive car?

Anyways, you already have automatic pop-up front spoilers (the headlight covers).

3rd Aug 2014, 03:56

Get the temp gauge fixed - the head gaskets on the Brazilian OHC 4 did not last long. Other than that and occasional cam/lifter wear, they're good engines :)

1988 Pontiac Sunbird 2.0 VIN K from North America


Great little car for the money!


Head gasket replacement at 160,000km.

Regular maintenance otherwise: (alternator, water pump, timing belts, brakes, exhaust, struts).

All front end parts are original and in good shape.

General Comments:

Very reliable and cheap to maintain!

Gas mileage is great!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th April, 2011

1988 Pontiac Sunbird GT Turbo 2.0L turbo from North America


1988 Sunbird GT Turbos ROCK!


In a very cold winter back in 1996 the head cracked and was replaced for $1200. Other than that it has never left me stranded or with out a ride... and I've had it since 1988. It needs some restoration work now... which we've started.

General Comments:

I love this car! I really can't say enough about it... obviously I'm the original owner and will probably pass it down to my children.

Its fast, its fun and after all these years I still LOVE it. I've driven it from Upstate NY to Florida and South Carolina with zero problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th August, 2007

1988 Pontiac Sunbird SE 1.4L I4 from North America


The best car I've ever owned


I had to replace a ball joint.

A swing arm.

Also various braking components.

A year and a half later a component that helps that brake pedal work (I cannot recall the actual part) needed repair.

I replaced the belts.

Replaced the ignition switch after the original ignition key broke in half inside.

Also the seal for the back window has always leaked since the purchase.

A shimmy occurs when going faster then 70mph.

General Comments:

My father bought the car for me for my graduation. It had Michigan rust problems and almost no brakes, but after putting $400 into it the car ran just like it was new.

It was purchased for $500, but well worth the money. Cars 6 years old seem to have more miles then my car did when we bought it.

Altogether this car has been amazing. Total cost of repairs have been estimated in the $1000 range, but it beats a car payment.

The car has never let me down, it even got me down to Kentucky, a 700 mile journey, without stopping, except for gas, with no problem.

I want this car to last me as long as it can. The fuel economy is better then anything I've been interested in buying as a replacement. I estimated over 40 mpg in my trip from Michigan to Kentucky.

It's an ugly, gray beast, but the ride is very smooth. I never want to replace it or sell it.

This car has been the best car I've ever owned, even with the repairs.

We've owed a 1979 Thunderbird, 2002 Trailblazer, 1989 Grand Marquis, S-10s, and Somonas, and currently a 2004 Vibe. This car has outlasted them all performance wise (except the Vibe, which we traded the Trailblazer in for).

Pontiac did wrong by discontinuing this vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th March, 2007

1988 Pontiac Sunbird SE 2.0 tbi ohc from North America


Great Little car, Worth it's weight in Oil


Heater Core Failed.

Heater/AC fan vibrates badly.

Headlight lids raise when driving.

Seat fabric very worn.

To put it in a nutshell... Nothing.

General Comments:

The very few problems that have been stated above are nothing. The car was given to me, and had sat for several months prior to my acquisition. The battery had to be boosted, and it needed plugs.

Since then, It has made 2 trips to and from Texas (900 miles each way), exhibiting as much as 33 miles per gallon on what were bad plug wires. The little 2.0 liter in-line 4 is peppy and had little problem staying with a decked out 'Stang in the outskirts of Atlanta, where the speeds are like the American Autobahn. The car is not very attractive, especially when your previous car was a black Iroc T-Top, but all-in-all, I am overly pleased with it.

The Interior is not too bad, even for someone 6'7", such as myself.

The insurance is almost as cheap as my 58hp Sammy, and now with gas at $3 a gallon, it is a pleasure to go to the pumps.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th May, 2006