2004 Pontiac Sunfire Reviews - Page 3 of 3

2004 Pontiac Sunfire SL Coupe 2.2 from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.2 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired71 kilometres
Most recent distance1700 kilometres
Previous carMazda GLC

Summary:

A mediocre entry-level car

Faults:

There are several loose interior pieces that create annoying rattles.

When adjusting the driver's seat, it does not always lock in place, so it 'shifts' while driving.

The 5 speed transmission whines loudly in 4th gear at 2000 RMP - a condition that Pontiac claims is 'normal' due to the way that the gears are cut. Very annoying, since no other manual cars I have driven have exhibited this 'feature'.

General Comments:

The car accelerates and brakes well.

The interior is rather tighter than would be expected, given the size of the car.

The lack of a rear wiper is a serious deficiency.

The car is adequate basic transportaion for first time new car buyers, but is otherwise unimpressive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th June, 2004

24th Jan 2006, 14:56

I thought that the 2004 sunfire was great with the transmission, maybe you have a bad transmission! That happens when you drive 2 hard! Well my only complaint would be the wind noise1 Thanks.

15th Sep 2006, 15:39

That and look what you paid for it. What do you expect from a Mexican made cheap car? ha ha ha .Mine is great, a 2004 with 150,944kilomters on it, pretty good I think.

22nd Sep 2007, 21:23

It is not just 4th gear. I do a lot of low rev shifting (to keep mileage up 'cause of gas prices) and it does it on the all the lower revs, regardless of gear. Any where between 1500-3000 revs is where I find the most noise. It takes a bit to get used to, but there's nothing wrong with it. Hope this eases the pain.

8th Dec 2007, 20:06

My wife and I purchased the 2004 sunfire black on black Ecotec 5 speed new and now have 60000 kms on it, driven hard! Our only real problem is the speakers for the stereo the rest is just regular maintenance. I plan on keeping this car until it is a lawn ornament. For it has already paid for itself! Cheap and Fast.

2004 Pontiac Sunfire 2.2 4 cylinder. from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.2 4 cylinder. Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired3500 miles
Most recent distance3600 miles
Previous carChevrolet Malibu

Summary:

Awesome!

Faults:

The car runs fine. I have only owned if for a short time, but am enjoying it. The only problem I've had is that I got a screw lodged in the back tire. That's not a mechanical problem, though.

General Comments:

I love this car. It handles great, gets great gas mileage, has a great sound systems, and runs super.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th April, 2004

9th Dec 2004, 07:41

I totally agree with this person, I have had my car for 3 years and the only major issue I have had with it was the alternator went, but its 10 years old what do you expect. There is a little of the vibrating noise on the muffler, but that's no major issue. It's a good car overall.

2004 Pontiac Sunfire SL coupe 2.2 Ecotec from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2 Ecotec Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance2000 kilometres
Previous carHyundai Accent

Summary:

A zippy ecobox

Faults:

Nothing so far. Owned the car 1 month.

General Comments:

The seats are very comfortable. The radio was junk, so I replaced it with an aftermarket unit. Very sporty, and nice 16" aluminum wheels. Makes a weird grinding noise when pressure is put onto the chassis. The Ecotec 140hp has some nice power behind it, and the 5 speed shifts very nicely. A nice car for the money spent.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th December, 2003

11th Jun 2006, 21:29

What does "pressure on the chassis" mean? Pushing sideways on the car? Getting in and sitting down? Otherwise, thanks for the clear review information.

2004 Pontiac Sunfire 2-door Coupe 2.2 from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired29 miles
Most recent distance800 miles
Previous carChevrolet Monte Carlo

Summary:

It is a good car for the money spent.

Faults:

I have had this car for approximately 1 month, and have not had any problems with this car yet.

General Comments:

Although the car is very sporty looking on the exterior, the interior is not very sporty. While you are driving it you feel like you are driving a tiny 4-door sedan instead of a sporty coupe.

The driver seat is very uncomfortable.

The distance to the clutch pedal is not comparable to the gas & brake pedal. Either you are too far away from the clutch or too close to the gas & brake. I am starting to get used to this, but my legs were very sore the first couple of weeks.

It is not easy getting in and out of the driver side of the vehicle.

It has some nice pick up speed when you need it.

The trunk needs to be slammed shut 3 or 4 times before the lock catches and it stays closed. I will be contacting the dealer regarding this, it may be a malfunctioning lock.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th December, 2003

26th Feb 2004, 18:20

I have also had my Sunfire for about a month now to. I bought the 1SC fully loaded and am experiencing the same problem with the trunk. Hopefully that can be fixed, but besides that, it's a nice ride the dollars spent.

13th Dec 2004, 03:22

I thought it was just me, at least I'm not alone with the trunk problems!

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 11 reviews