Pontiac Tempest Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1991 Pontiac Tempest 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired89000 kilometres
Most recent distance136000 kilometres

Summary:

Nice little family car

Faults:

The A/C went causing the car to stall every time it was turned on. Doesn't like to start in the winter, even if it's been plugged in.

General Comments:

I've used this car as a means of transportation, it runs well, not that high of k/ms considering the year of it.

It's cheap on gas.

The speakers are good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th July, 2003

1989 Pontiac Tempest 2.8 EFI from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.8 EFI Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired99000 kilometres
Most recent distance190000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

Market price not representative of value

Faults:

The radiator sprung a leak at 170,000 km.

The turn signals went out a long time ago, but I didn't bother getting them fixed.

That's it, except for regular maintenance.

General Comments:

This is and has been a great car. In seven years the only thing I had to spend money on was maintenance and a new radiator ($200). The car has been extremely reliable, enjoyable, and versatile.

I've used it as a student car, a kennel, a grocery getter, and a daily commuter.

Mine has quite a pick up, even with 190K km on it! I have caught many unsuspecting people by surprise. With its small displacement, you get the gas mileage of a four banger with the low-end torque of a V6. The best of both worlds!

The stock stereo is amazing. Don't expect to use it to win any competitions, but the bass is unbelievable for something without a subwofer. The radio reception is quite poor. I have a hard time picking up a station 40 km away, on a hill. But it is loud enough to suppress the squeaks and rattles.

But who needs a stereo when you can listen to the sweet sound the engine makes when you floor the accelerator at 100 km/hr... 60 mph for our American audience. '89 was the last year for the 2.8 and all the kinks seem to have been worked out by then.

To be fair, I have heard some bad things about the 2.8. Such as the head gaskets blowing, timing belts shredding, and many other things asymptomatic of a neglected power-train. If you change the oil, monitor your other fluids, and clean the fuel system once and again... I don't see why you wouldn't have as care free and enjoyable an owners experience like mine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th November, 2002

13th Jun 2007, 23:22

I love my "89" pontiac tempest. Has anyone had the problem with the transmission --I can drive forward, but no reverse, any ideas Thanks Pat J. (this has just happened)

13th Oct 2008, 14:20

My dad had a 1989 Tempest 2.8 V6 with 560000 km. He got it new from GM.

He had to park it because of the rust, the motor was still going strong. It would knock when cold, but when it warmed up it was OK.

We never change the fluid transmission, never had any problem.

We changed minor things like alternator, disc brakes, heater core, plugs, belt tensioner, nothing major.

I now have a 1991 3.1 V6 Corsica with 320000km on it, and like the Tempest it will go a long way before it dies.

The best cheap car there is out there.

1984 Pontiac Tempest GT 2.4 from North America

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership1984
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.4 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance191000 miles
Previous carFiat X1/9

Summary:

Definitely worth every penny

Faults:

Seats and headliner are shredded (in process of replacing).

Air conditioning system died last year.

Headlight motors died about 4 years ago.

General Comments:

In the 18 years that I've had my Fiero, it has never once let me down. The car has been cross-country on three occasions and has always performed exceptionally.

With almost 200,000 miles on the odometer, I guess it's just to be expected that she's looking a little rough around the edges.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th July, 2001

1967 Pontiac Tempest Custom 326 from North America

Year of manufacture1967
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 326 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired553909 miles
Most recent distance564988 miles
Previous carPontiac Bonneville

Summary:

A high performance bargain with a hell of a lot of grrrrrrrr

Faults:

I love this car and all other Pontiacs.

I think they are the most breathtaking cars on the market.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th May, 2001

15th Apr 2005, 09:41

Well, can see why this "review" is in the "other" category: completely worthless.

Steven needs to dump this one the next time he "cleans house"

1968 Pontiac Tempest GTO 400 CID. (Ram Air) from North America

Year of manufacture1968
Engine and transmission 400 CID. (Ram Air)
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10

Faults:

Wears out U joints (due to driving habits).

General Comments:

When they said "Pontiac Excitement," they weren't joking! Melts tires in all four gears, and ever since I installed a rear sway bar the handling is actually pretty good. Four wheel drum brakes, no power assist, have to stand to stop. One of the best looking Pontiacs ever!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th January, 1999

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 11 reviews