1990 Pontiac Trans Sport Reviews

1990 Pontiac Trans Sport V6 from North America

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 miles
Most recent distance180000 miles

Summary:

Great, a tank

Faults:

Electric engine cooling fan failed over and over, leaving the engine vulnerable to overheating often.

Exhaust pipe and muffler fell off (Due to previous neglect).

Cloth on interior roof fell off.

General Comments:

Other than the problems noted above, this thing was a freakin' tank. Drove interstate often, offroaded for camping, heavy city driving, and seriously neglected all maintenance. This thing wouldn't die until I got hit by a drunk driver, which totaled it. If you come by one that was "granny" owned, buy it up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd January, 2005

1990 Pontiac Trans Sport SE 3.1L from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.1L Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.3 / 10
Distance when acquired25000 miles
Previous carFord Aerostar

Faults:

Vancouver B. C Canada 2004.

Had a Ford Aerostar van, the engine went.

Purchase 90 trans port van for 700 $, drove it home didn't make it. The alternator went, the battery went. Already spend 200 dollars. That sucks. I bought the van because I thought the reviews for this model were great. But I am finding out there are some problems. It is an old van so I expect things to break down; I am praying it will just be that. It has over 25000 miles on it. Still have to get it air care so I can insure it. Have to kids and it was a no brainier to get a van.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th September, 2004

3rd May 2006, 16:02

If you buy a car for 700 dollars, problems are to be expected.

1990 Pontiac Trans Sport 3.1L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.1L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired139500 miles
Most recent distance140000 miles
Previous carPlymouth Voyager

Summary:

A cool looking vehicle for those of us who need to haul!

Faults:

Nothing!

General Comments:

I just picked this one up a few weeks ago, and even though it is early in its life with my family I felt compelled to review it!

The construction of the vehicle is rock solid - even though it is almost 14 years old there are no rattles.

The engine and transmission operate smoothly and quietly.

No road noise! It's quiet inside at highway speeds.

The huge "flipper" windshield wipers flick snow right off of the windshield with no effort!

Great fuel mileage!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th December, 2003

25th Apr 2004, 07:19

Owned one of these and put on 220k so far still going strong. it is hard to find something wrong with this model which has been unusual for an American vehicle. I would recomed this vehicle to anyone.

1990 Pontiac Trans Sport SE 3.1 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1989
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.1 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance220000 miles
Previous carFord Aerostar

Summary:

Best car I have ever owned! I won't sell it. It is indestructible

Faults:

Standard stuff like alternator fuel pump starter waterpump all with very high mileage when replaced. When replacing I have always used lifetime warranty parts. This is a great way to get second and even third time replacement parts- alternators.

I have done almost all of the work on the car engine myself as it is easy to work on. Only has GM replace the fuel pump because the gas tank had to be removed.

The interior looks great and has held up well. I had the black roof top repainted for $200 because it was peeling.

General Comments:

I bought my Pontiac trans sport new in 1989. My family has been using it for 14 years driving it every day and putting a total of 220 thousand miles on the original engine and transmission. It is still the most practical car we own. What is most amazing is the plastic body which show almost no wear because the body will not dent. The paint is very good also as it seems to keep its new car shine.

If you get a chance to buy this model and year you won't be sorry.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th September, 2003

5th Jan 2005, 21:01

Back again to update my comments. Put another 11000 miles on the trans sport. still running strong with 231k on it.

Used a few bottles of lucus power steering repair to slow down a leaking power steering leak. Great product with a money back guarantee.

14th Sep 2005, 23:27

Back again Just went on a long 1300 mile drive to the Northwest. Car ran perfect. Just had the car smogged and it past with high marks. Now has 240k on odometer with original engine and transmission with no problems.

New update:

Replaced the transmission at 245k- cost $2500. Now has 250k and is running perfect! Also replaced the motor mounts when replacing the transmission. We use this car daily over our other cars because it is quiet and has excellent road visibility AND HANDLING.

9th May 2007, 21:10

Back again

Now have 260k and still running fine. Had to replace the power steering high pressure hose last week. Everyone is amazed at the condition of this vehicle. I have someone interested in buying it, but not sure I want to sell. Can't find another minivan with all features this van has. GM builds a great car once in a while.

5th Nov 2007, 21:18

Back again

270k and just replaced the timing chain which broke. Had a mobile mechanic do the job for $300 + parts. under $500 for all. Thanks to GMC the engine is non interference meaning there was no major damage when the chain let go. Engine sounds a good as new and with new hoses and a new front motor mount seems rather tight. Also, the engine passed the california smog test with flying colors so compression test is OK. This car is so handy and has great cargo space 130 cf. Can't find another model with the same room in a passenger van. Have put 4 people and 4 bikes inside.

Check out the European car clubs on internet for this car model. Very popular in Europe.

This car is a definite keeper.

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 4 reviews