2001 Proton Waja 1.6 4G18 from Malaysia

Summary:

Perfect car

Faults:

Power window assembly not lasting, only that.

General Comments:

To tell the truth, I have nothing to complain about with this car except car parts quality.

What I feel happy about, is that spare parts are so easy to get, and they're cheap.

I love the design, interior and exterior.

The engine is quiet (4G18), smooth and easy handling. The suspension system feels comfortable, and stable on sharp corners (with strut bar).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th September, 2014

2001 Proton Waja 1.6 from Malaysia

Summary:

No need to say, everybody knows

Faults:

Boot lid fails to remain standing after opening, knocking the head and neck if bending over into the boot and doing loading. Service centre said it is a design fault, nothing can be done. Have been injured many times. Please suggest modifications to solve this problem!

General Comments:

It won't be my next car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th October, 2011

2001 Proton Waja 1.6 petrol from Malaysia

Summary:

GOOD CAR if the material quality improved

Faults:

Problems;

- Power window bracket

- Door handle

- Temperature went high, nearing 100 Celsius if stuck in traffic jam more than 30 minutes, if I'm using air condition together with fog lights. Temp goes normal if I turn off the lights. It seems more likely a electronic problem... I think so.

General Comments:

- Handling superb.

- Very silent engine... my one.

- NVH not bad.

- Comfortable for the passenger.

- 150 km/h still steady on highway.

- Top speed I had tried 190 km/h.

- FC not bad. Better than my previous Wira for long distance ride.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th December, 2009

2001 Proton Waja 1.6 from Malaysia

Summary:

Inferior goods

Faults:

Absorbers spoil after less than 5,000 km.

Radiator leaks after less than 10,000 km.

Radiator leaks again after less than 11,000km.

Rattling sounds from car after less than 10,000km.

Steering sounds from the very beginning.

Alarm goes crazy as it wishes from the very beginning.

And many many more problems; just too many to list down.

The best of all is when I send the car to Proton for the problems to be rectified, the service centre officials told me this 'this car is a Proton, it is like that one, cannot expect too much' instead of helping me rectifying the problems I am having with my useless Proton Waja.

I have spent approximately RM20,000.00 repairing this car, My advice is do not buy anything with the brand name Proton on it. I have since upgraded to a Perodua Myvi 1.3 EZI Auto, a much superior car compared to any Proton cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd February, 2008

2001 Proton Waja 1.6 from Malaysia

Summary:

Overall besides all the problem the engine is good

Faults:

Power window always have faulty operation.

Water enter fog lamp whenever it rains.

Door handle has a very short life time that is only around 2 years.

There is always a noise in the right rear suspension.

Engine is less powerful compared to other cars in the same cc when going up hill.

Body is not solid as being promoted.

General Comments:

The handling of this car is superb.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th February, 2006

2001 Proton Waja 1.6(M) 1.6 from Malaysia

Summary:

Great handling

Faults:

Quality problem.

General Comments:

Great handling, but need improvement in the car quality and also after sales service.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th January, 2006

2001 Proton Waja 1.6 from Malaysia

Summary:

Worth the money

Faults:

Door handle is broke one time. Change all to chrome. NO need to send for painting.

Power window at driver seat malfuntion. Change.

Head lamp always burn. only OK after putting a relay to head lamp.

General Comments:

There is no issue on handling because is superb.

Fuel consumptions it OK compare to the mod that have been made.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th January, 2006

2001 Proton Waja from Malaysia

Summary:

Proton needs to listen to their customer!

Faults:

After 20 years of manufacturing cars, proton's power window and cabin noise still sucks! Proton needs to improve those badly as noise level is just too high. It picks up every pot holes and you can feel it. The car seat is another, very hard and not suitable for long distance. For a 60K car, it is not worth it. My wiper broke at 75K. My reverse sensor only work when I already hit something. The remote central locking is just worst - only working when you are within 1 metre radius from the car. The front absorber is giving me problem at 70K. Poor pick-up!

General Comments:

So far, it never failed me while I am on the road, and it starts every time. Easy and cheap to maintain in Malaysia.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th December, 2005