1997 Reliant Robin SLX 848cc from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Good Fun, Good MPG, Good Car

Faults:

Nothing, down to the car.

It misfired in the Rain, but this was fixed with new spark plugs and HT leads.

General Comments:

Its great fun to drive. Corners much better than you would think.

Will sit at 70mph all day long and will go much faster if pushed, although engine noise above 70mph becomes a bit loud.

The seats are also much more comfortable than they look although a headrest would be nice.

The 1997 Robin has a new type instrument cluster with 3 individual dials. It looks very modern and gives the slightly dated dashbord a better appearance.

Being rear wheel drive the gearbox is right under the gear lever which gives it a really good and solid gear change.

The rear seats are very good for smaller people, but adults will find them cramped.

The hatchback opens to reveal a boot which is easily as big as that in a Ford Fiesta. The rear seats fold down to carry bigger items.

The Engine is simple and as such is easy to maintain. It barely sniffs the petrol, I get 50mpg at 70mph. about 80mpg if I stick at 50mph and in town I get a good 42mpg.

Road tax is also very cheap at £60 a year.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th December, 2003

19th Jun 2005, 10:13

HeHe Mr Bean's insurance is going to go through the roof. LOOK OUT! It's a CORNER! great car for painting middle strips.

17th May 2009, 19:30

Reliants are absolutely brilliant... my 1994 SLX special edition is bog standard and regularly tops 100mph. My 0-60 time is 7.3 seconds. (measured at our local racetrack) I regularly embarrass the local kids with their Saxos and Fords. Cheap to run, cheap to tax and big enough to sleep in if you have to. What more do you need??

1975 Reliant Robin deluxe panel van 750 cc from North America

Summary:

This is one of the most fun cars I have ever owned

Faults:

The thrust bearing went out at 79,000 miles. The starter casting cracked at 70,000. I have had to replace the light bulbs in the rear light twice in 19,000 miles. The radiator hose is soft and I will be replacing it while the car is down with the clutch replacement.

General Comments:

The Reliant Robin is a real nice car.

I like the distance I can drive on six gallons of gas.

The car is quick for a 750cc engine and is fun to lift the rear wheel on corners.

The cabin is roomy and the instruments are well placed on the dash board.

The seats could be better for comfort.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th May, 2003

10th Mar 2004, 21:46

I have a 1974 Reliant Robin Deluxe panel and love the car too.

17th Jan 2006, 14:28

"Thrust bearing" This car has thrust? I thought it gently meandered up to speed.

14th Feb 2006, 20:09

I've owned one for several years, can't fault them at all.

22nd Aug 2007, 21:07

I've just bought a 1975 Super Robin, New York is never going to look the same again!

17th Sep 2007, 13:28

Please could you picture your cars so I can have a look at shape as we are looking to buy.

13th Feb 2014, 22:55

How did you import one into the USA? Perhaps it came in as a "grey" vehicle, as you had it modified to fit US standards.

1979 Reliant Robin Super 0.85 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

An individual symbol of English-ness

Faults:

General wear and tear, the car seems to eat rear bulbs and constantly blow fuses.

The car leaks very badly even in only minor rain. Most of the water comes in through the rear window.

The rubber seal around the base of the windscreen wiper arm perished causing water to leak through the body and drip directly onto the radio causing it to short.

General Comments:

A great individual little car.

Amazingly quick acceleration, scary handling especially in cross-winds!

Attracts so much attention from other road users and pedestrians, they all wave and point.

Inside the seats are terrible for both wear and comfort. The car surprisingly has loads of front legroom and the controls are well laid out.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th January, 2002

10th Feb 2005, 15:42

Amazing acceleration? whoa!!! you better slow down crazy dude before you get loaded with points on your licence.

1984 Reliant Robin Saloon 0.85 petrol from UK and Ireland

Faults:

The car is OK, it's other people who think the car is wrong!

General Comments:

Believe me, it's fun, reliable, cheap and a real pleasure to drive!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th April, 1998

19th May 2001, 19:17

I have covered thousands of miles in different ones with all sorts of tools and various bits of kit in the back. Great little motors and they last for ever.