1985 Renault 11 Reviews

1985 Renault 11 GTL 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired176000 miles
Most recent distance177000 miles

Summary:

Cheap. An ideal first car

Faults:

Clutch cable detached from the clutch pedal. Minor fault as it could be reconnected without being replaced.

Fuel sender cracked.

General Comments:

The car is spacious and comfortable.

Reliable, considering it's age.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th May, 2003

1985 Renault 11 Hatchback 1.4L 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1985
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.4L 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance245112 miles
Previous carEagle Vision

Summary:

A car to be treasured

Faults:

-Stuff you'd expect from a car this old, but nothing extremely out of the ordinary.

General Comments:

-This is one of the most under appreciated cars in history. Either I got extremely lucky, or this car is extremely reliable! If I could, I'd buy another Renault, as they aren't sold in the US anymore. I also own an Eagle Vision and a Dodge Dakota. My little Renault is still a favorite, and I plan to keep it as long as it keeps going and going...

- In the US, this car was named the Renault Alliance. Buy one used if you get the chance (which is very unlikely, considering they are so rare and the ones that are left are in terrible condition)

-Any question you have about the car? Leave a comment and I might answer them!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd April, 2003

24th Apr 2003, 16:20

I agree completely, I've had several of the Renault 11 models since my first car in 1992, and I have another 2 R11s currently with the aim of making one very good one, to get the little car back on the road. many happy years of motoring to you.

Joe.

16th May 2004, 21:20

I recently found a 1987 Renault Alliance for $900 in a very small town in Indiana. Are parts very hard to find in the US? The convertible top has holes in it. The car has a little over 101,000 miles. Looked under the hood the air intake has been disconnected and even though all hoses are intact the Styrofoam on the outside is rotting. I really fell in love with the car. But I don't have huge amounts of money to put into a car right now. I was wondering if it would be worth it.

6th Jun 2004, 09:47

In that case, it's not worth it! Parts are extremely hard to find and are often overpriced. Give another car a try.

29th Mar 2005, 15:17

I agree too--These cars are under-appreciated. Those who owned them always have good things so say. I had an '86 Alliance for 5 years and was surprised not only with the reliability, but also how much I enjoyed driving the car. It handled better than some new econo cars, and the mileage was fantastic. It was ahead of its time with independent rear trailing arm suspension and EFI on the 1700 CC engine. I would recommend a Renault to anyone who can appreciate and know how to maintain a car. You'd also be surprised how easy and cheap it is to find parts for these cars--don't let that scare you away!

1985 Renault 11 GTD 1.6 diesel from Spain

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 diesel Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 kilometres
Most recent distance162000 kilometres

Summary:

A cheap good car

Faults:

Water pump broke.

Electric system failure.

General Comments:

This is a reliable car that is not very fast, but reaches any place you want to go.

The motor is not powerful enough to go fast, but the brakes are OK and the steering is quite precise.

It is really cheap to maintain and if you don't go full throttle the fuel consumption is really low.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st May, 2001

14th Feb 2004, 10:54

I too had one of those. Mine was slow, but reliable, it simply never broke down, not even on bad Lapland roads, except when it crashed into a large Volvo early 1990.

26th Mar 2004, 10:13

My R11 GTD from 1985 bring me everywhere around France and now everywhere in Ireland. I think that is the unique R11 in Ireland because I never saw an other one... It's a good car not too fast, (but now you don't need it... be careful with the speed...) comfortable & low consume about 5L/100Kms for a diesel that is not too bad. Isn't it?

So that's all for me

Thank you, enjoy

Ciao.

1985 Renault 11 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4 Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.5 / 10
Distance when acquired88000 miles
Most recent distance135000 miles

Summary:

To buy & run one is cheap, but not so cheerful

Faults:

Most things have gone wrong at some point. Transmission lost 2nd gear, needed complete overhaul & now the computer has an intermitent fault. Weber carb butterfly got stuck open so got a new carb. Had 2 new CV joints, new steering rack, new front discs (twice), new battery, alternator & starter at various times.

Water pump & timing chain replaced after a few years as both were noisy & getting worse. Anti-roll bar bushes, steering bushes & a track rod end replaced as getting noisy. Rear drum repair kits fitted. Brake master cylinder was replaced when leaking. Rear torsion bar suspension bushes are tired but I can't be bothered to replace them!

General Comments:

This car is really just one to get from A to B. It's practical, reasonably comfortable but nothing special on the way it looks & drives. Although mine has had a lot of problems, there hasn't been anything major (except transmission) at any one time... probably why I've kept it running so long. To be fair, a better example may have not suffered so much. As the car is old, parts are cheaper now and non-Renault ones are available. But run the 11 for a long time and it'll show you everything that's bad about Renault cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th March, 2000

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 4 reviews