1982 Renault 18 Reviews

1982 Renault 18 TL 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year1983
Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership1988
Most recent year of ownership1992
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles
Previous carDatsun 1200

Summary:

Comfortable, strong and unfairly maligned car

Faults:

Intermittent electrical failure; got stranded a couple of times, but car started again hours later. Remained a mystery.

Got harder to start in the cold as it got older.

General Comments:

Very, very comfortable car.

Not fast (max I got was 143km/h - 90mph) but fine around town.

Sedan still good looking after all these years.

Engine reached 150,000 miles (240.000 km) and felt like stronger than new.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th December, 2004

1982 Renault 18 TD 2.1-liter diesel from UK and Ireland

Model year1983
Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.1-liter diesel Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired99945 miles
Most recent distance290993 miles
Previous carRenault 18

Summary:

It just keeps running and running

Faults:

1) The wiper motor gave up in December 1999 (when the car had covered 135,430 miles).

2) One night (during July 2001) me and three friends were out for a drive in the car. We were going along a narrow country road with thick hedges (and some stone walls). A cow suddenly appeared out of a hole in a hedge. I slammed on the brakes and pulled up the handbrake. The car slid on all four wheels before veering off to the left and crashing though a hedge. I quickly selected reverse gear and slowly reversed the car out. I got out to look at the car and could see that I'd broken the nearside headlight and indicator, cracked the front bumper, and shattered part of the front grille. Fortunately I didn't burst the radiator.

General Comments:

All in all, it's a very reliable car.

The handling is precise, although the car might swap ends when braking heavily from speed in the wet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th November, 2004

1982 Renault 18 GTL Estate 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership1982
Most recent year of ownership1982
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance69000 miles
Previous carRenault 5

Summary:

Mobile armchair, and economical

Faults:

Heater unit failed to produce warm air.

No other faults.

General Comments:

This must be one of the most under-rated cars of all time. Sure, without upkeep, the bodywork suffered from some perforation; but then no worse than anything else I'd owned.

It has provided completely reliable, ultimately comfortable and stylish transport for my family as they grew. Peformance of my car is not very impressive, but with unbelievable fuel economy I prefer the latter. After all who wants to burn-up in an 18!

Those armchair seats must be the envy of every other manufacturer in 1982; and still are. Driving position is fine with simple ergonomics. the engine is accessible though parts are a bit 'pricey'.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th March, 2003

1982 Renault 18 TD 2.1 diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.1 diesel Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired396914 miles
Most recent distance400000 miles
Previous carRenault 18 TS

Summary:

A lot of car for the money

Faults:

Rust in the floor and sills.

The boot lid is at the moment quite hard to close - a rear end smash might have occurred sometime in the past.

The seats were badly worn, but I fitted seat covers over them for the time being as good second hand seats for this make of car seem quite scarce now.

There were some problems with the electrical earth connections.

General Comments:

The overall performance is nothing to get excited about, but after eight to ten seconds, it can reach a top speed of 100mph!

The handling is acceptable, but power steering is a must, especially when parking the car.

The seats are very comfortable (they feel very like armchairs) and the interior offers quite a lot of space, even for medium-sized people who have to sit in the back seat.

The boot is reasonably large, with 396 litres of luggage space. The only two bad points for the boot are that the loading sill is far too high and that half the normal size of the boot is taken up by the fuel tank, which is placed behind the back seat!

Like most old French cars, this car has some typically French quirks (remember, the following is in a right-hand drive car) - the ignition switch is located at the left side of the steering wheel, along with the wiper switch; there are two stalks at the right side of the steering wheel - the short one is for the direction indicators, and the long one is for the lights and the horn!

Operating the steering column controls (especially the light switch) takes a bit of getting used to. If you turn the end of the switch 90 degrees and move it down one position the dashboard lights and parking lights come on. Move it down once more and the dip beam lights come on, and when you move it down again the main beam lights come on.

I'll never sell this car as it has a lot of character as well as being cheap to run and easy to maintain.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th March, 2002

1982 Renault 18 GTL 1.6 from Netherlands

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership1987
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired29000 kilometres
Most recent distance161000 kilometres

Summary:

Nice, spacious, comfortable and reliable car

Faults:

Partially due to a lot of city traffic, the synchro of 2nd gear gave up. The car now has a second hand gearbox from another Renault 18.

The radiator was replaced. So were all the shock absorbers, the coil springs of the back suspension and the clutch. All brakes have been overhauled.

For some odd reason, the clutch cable broke three times.

Corrosion is an issue that has to be attended to. You have to tackle it at an early stage (which I did), otherwise the body work of your 18 will slowly disintegrate.

General Comments:

Very spacious, comfortable and reliable car. It has the best car seats I ever sat on in my life!!!

The 1647 cc engine is very reliable and gives sufficient power. It never let me down once.

If you have a model without power steering (which I believe applies to most 18s), then parking the car in a tight spot gives you a nice body workout :-)

The car has rather soft suspension, which is great on straight roads, but lousy in curves. However in terms of comfort, performance and reliability, it can still compete with all current models in its class.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th March, 2000

10th Jun 2001, 16:15

It's definitely a good car that was well worth the money. It's a pity most have rusted away, though. If only there were more around.

29th Jan 2002, 14:09

My father owned two 18's, a GTS and a GTL. Clutch cables, CV joints, door locks and drive belts were the most common failures. When he replaced then with a Ford Sierra he couldn't believe that a clutch cable would last 100,000 miles and that it didn't have an indoor swimming pool every time it rained! He certainly missed the power though!

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 5 reviews