1989 Renault 19 Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1989 Renault 19 Energy 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership1992
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired10000 miles
Most recent distance34000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin Metro

Summary:

One of the most practical hatchbacks of its day

Faults:

Brake pads needed replacing at 17,000 miles and again at 30,000 miles.

Brake fluid began leaking at 24,000 miles.

Tailgate catch broke at 25,000 miles.

Upholstery began decaying after 30,000 miles.

Interior trim was very flimsy and breakable.

General Comments:

Very reliable, but not very well built.

For a 1400, the R19 was economical and performed well.

Interior space and ride comfort were also good.

Good value at £6,000 for a one year old family hatchback.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th April, 2006

14th Sep 2006, 05:22

I had a Renault 19 GTS 1.4 energy from new, and it was the most unreliable car I have ever had. It needed over £5000 of work done under warranty.

I had serious trouble with: engine, gearbox, clutch, suspension and sunroof, and the red paintwork on the roof lost its shine and turned into a matt light pink.

The selling dealer was useless.

The car when running was lively and economical. The steering needed power assistance as it was very heavy.

1989 Renault 19 ts 1.4 energy from UK and Ireland

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.4 energy Manual
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance155000 miles
Previous carRenault 19

Summary:

Perfection, I wish they still made them!

Faults:

Only ever had to buy a new number plate and light bulbs.

General Comments:

Perfect cheap comfortable easy to drive car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th October, 2005

1989 Renault 19 TXE 1.7 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.7 petrol Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired12000 miles
Most recent distance13000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Passat

Summary:

Comfy sofa of an 80s car

Faults:

Did not always start in the mornings

Steering squeaked.

General Comments:

My dad bought this as his first self-owned car in years.

I liked the car - it was the same age as me and I thought it had character.

The seats were very comfortable, and it's 1721cc engine was pretty quick (about 90hp) for its power. The cabin was very 1980s with grey seats and yellow dial numbers, but this added to its character. I would buy one of these cars, definitely.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th April, 2004

1989 Renault 19 TS 1.4 energy from Croatia

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.4 energy Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired115000 kilometres
Most recent distance210000 kilometres
Previous carSkoda Skoda 120 LS

Summary:

I am sorry they do not make R19 anymore!

Faults:

Bodywork caught some rust around the back wheels.

Paint suffered a lot in 12 year period even when regularly washed and polished. It was non-metallic red.

Car went through 5 accidents and that is how many times the front was fixed. I did only 2 smaller damages on the car.

Gear stick was precise and easy, but the rubber ball at the top broke due too bad sponge material.

Rear trunk was leaking rain from somewhere.

It had very bad brakes. Even I purchased whole new set for all brakes on the car it was still very slow and unreliable when braking.

Engine tends to turn off during winter time and you need to fight it with it manual choke.

General Comments:

It is very good car. I bought it used and it would be much better if I had it while it was new.

It has great road performance and it is very comfortable for city and open roads. It has great engine with 80 HP which is just about great for that car.

It has large trunk and it is very practical and good for family.

The main point is that the car never stopped and never left me on the road.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd April, 2002

11th Mar 2004, 04:56

I had R19 for 15 years (still have it) without problem. The engine was changed after 230.000 km and now (285000km) it runs very smooth. Maybe some rust on rear mudguard. It didn't abandon me for 15 years. GREAT CAR!!!

1st Oct 2005, 10:18

A friend of mine has a R19 and some of your comments about the car, like leaking water and paint rusting and poor brake system. I almost thought that my friend posted that comment! Too bad dough... Cause it truly is a nice car. My friends car already has 240.000Kms, but still purrs like a kitten! He-s got new car now and I'm going to drive the car now, hope it lasts like your's!

1989 Renault 19 GTS 1.4 Energy from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.4 Energy Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles
Previous carNissan Stanza

Summary:

Decent used buy

Faults:

Clutch cable snapped at around 55,000 miles.

Coolant pipe leaked at around 60,000 miles.

General Comments:

Coolant pipe easily fixed at home. Dealers attitude towards customers is OK.

Clutch cable snapped at about 55k.

Seats are average, a bit slippery.

Ride quality hard at low speed. Improves above 30mph. Fair bit of body roll.

Basic cabin; no electric windows for example. Electric sun roof motors somehow disconnected from the runners so it won't move. Strange fault!

Boot is large, rear leg room OK. Comfortable and refined at motorway speeds.

I would recommend one, but watch you aren't paying too much and you get one with optional extras. Contemporary TXE specification a bigger bargain. The 19 as a whole is a very dated car, however, so don't expect too much.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th May, 2001

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 8 reviews