1992 Renault 21 Turbo Quadra 2L from UK and Ireland


Gallic crap!


Blown hoses

Speedometer stopped working

Tachometer stopped working

Fuel guage with a mind of its own

Phillips radio/cassette stopped working


Wheel bearings all round

Front and rear calipers replaced

Clutch slave cylinder failed

Major problems with 4WD system

General electrical problems

Various oil leaks

Engine management playing up

Blown bulbs/fuses

General Comments:

This is one of the last Renault Turbo's to be made, and it is a very fast good handling car when nothing is going wrong. Unfortunately 99% of the time something IS going wrong.

I bought this car with my heart not my head BIG mistake. The interior is awful, dark, plasticky, flimsy and cheap, it shakes and rattles and groans constantly.

I bought the car for its power and handling, but now I wish I had my SAAB back, in fact anything would be better than this.

Its constant problems are driving me nuts, I dread getting in the the thing because I know something else will play up.

Speed means nothing. Reliability is everything, I'm bored to death with its wearisome problems now and will never buy a French car again, I mean what do they make them out of... Gitanes and garlic puree?

Truly ghastly, avoid it like the plague.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th June, 2003

12th Apr 2004, 08:42

Very informative review. I was going to buy a cheap one, glad I didn't now. Thanks.

7th Sep 2004, 18:49

Like it happens with others, some units tend to fail more than they should. I know 21 Turbo's with lots of miles and no major problems. Better luck next time ;-)

8th Aug 2011, 09:34

I had one of these, and a Renault 25 V6 Turbo; without doubt the worst, most unreliable cars I have ever owned. Never again would I go near a Renault.

1992 Renault 21 TEX 2.0 from Belgium


Automatic transmission.



Air-con control panel + air-con/heating valve.

Electric window motor.

General Comments:

Good value for money (digital air-con, computer, 4 electric windows...) for a 1992 car.

However, all these electric and electronic features are rather expensive to replace or fix in case of failure.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th August, 2001

1992 Renault 21 TXI 2.0 12v injection from UK and Ireland


Superb value for money, seriously underestimated


ABS light comes on when driving conditions are wet.

Rear brakes are very poor.

Central door locking doesn't work on the rear door.

Release bearing noisy.

Hoses keep blowing.

Clutch went at 72,000.

General Comments:

This car kills the average boy racer in his XR3i... with ease.

The interior is superbly comfortable, but lacks pizazz.

This car only performs above 4000 revs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th February, 2001

1992 Renault 21 GTXA 2.2 from Venezuela




Excellent vehicle - not cheap to buy - very cheap to run.

Nothing major has gone wrong - just regular maintenance: brake pads, plugs, oil, radiator fluid, tyres, etc.

General Comments:

My third Renault in a row - wife also has one, for a total of 7 in the family:

2 R18's, 2 R11's, 1 Fuego, 1 R21 and a 1998 Clio. Also my father had 2 Dauphines in the 50's...

Thinking of buying a Megane or Scenic soon...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th August, 2000

1992 Renault 21 Turbo Quadra 2.0 from UK and Ireland


A comfortable, fast, safe-handling car


Central locking, electric roof, electric mirror, vibrating shield on exhaust, faulty oil pressure switch and faulty diff. lock switch.

General Comments:

Very good level of performance and comfort, a lot of car for 10% of its original cost in '92 (

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th May, 2000

1992 Renault 21 GTS 1.7 petrol from UK and Ireland


Two sets of front pads in only 2k. The radiator blew up on 56k, and is still prone to over heating. Cooling fan sounds like a small plane taking off. Currently having all sorts of electrical problems, not uncommon for a big Renault. The electric windows are very slow, and rarely work. Exhaust replaced on 60k, but despite new back box, it still makes a horrible sound when pushed.

General Comments:

Very accommodating and comfortable car to drive. But under powered with only a 1.7 litre to usher it along.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th June, 1998

1992 Renault 21 GTX 2.2 petrol from UK and Ireland


Central-locking motor, some interior lamps. (66'000 KM)

General Comments:

Very comfortable and fast car. The gearbox is very precise to use, the power-steering too!

Uses between 8.5 and 10 litres of Superplus.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th March, 1998