1988 Renault 25 V6 Injection from Netherlands


A very good bargain, although I just recently bought it


One front spring broke.

General Comments:

The V6 is a wonderful engine. Strong and smooth. It needs a bit attention (no synthetic oil and be gentle with it before it is up to temperature), but it is rewarding!

Extremely comfortable. The Renault seats are by no exaggeration the best in the field.

Very 'progressively' equipped with electronics, especially regarding the year of production. The electronics also give a safe feeling on the road: somebody is watching over you...

The shape of the car is still up to date, which is due to Renault's avant garde designers. Even up to date looking at the Vel Satis and Avantime. Prodon's (the chief designer during the making of the 25) special attention to detail and 'play' with deviant rear window designs makes the car special. Its straight lined profile gives the car a look something between a sports car and limousine. Excellent piece of timeless comfort, technique and design.

My car has climate control, air con and cruise control. The latter is very convenient on long stretches.

My one just had a new radiator, exhaust pipe and some other parts. The former owner was a Renault salesman and had the car fixed at the official dealer; so it is in excellent state. I paid more for it than the market prices, but as a 'markentreue' (German for brand loyalty) Renault driver it's worth it.

Paintwork of the car is still good.

No oil burning whatsoever...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th August, 2003

19th Oct 2003, 05:08

You know what is a good car.

5th May 2005, 18:59

Renault 25 2.9 V6 4 speed auto... WHAT A CAR!!!

I've had nearly every 25 model, GTS, GTX, TXE, TXI manual and auto's.

I now have the 25 2.0 Auto TXI.

Out of all the 25's I've had, one of them, let me down, but it was completely my fault.

The cam belt snapped on the motorway at 80mph,...because I didn't keep the car serviced regularly and never had the belt checked.

Apart from that, one slight misshap,...i have never had a problem with the 25s.

All of them have easily passed an M.O.T, none of them has ever let me down,...but they don't beat the 25 2.9 V6I Auto.

So,...sorry all you Renault 25 2.0 TXI Auto fans... its not a patch on the V6I.

I only got rid of the V6 because I just loved to cruise down the motorway between 80 and 100, occasionally when out of speed camera range and lack of police presence, taking it up to 135mph. I just couldn't afford the fuel costs.

Now,...i hardly use my car and I very rarely venture on to the motorway... i could afford to run one again...


1988 Renault 25 gtx 2.2i from UK and Ireland


A luxury cheap car


Put a new manifold on and gasket. nothing else apart from usual things like tires. the computer would start to tell lies when it was raining fairly heavily example: 'boot not closed'

General Comments:

Lovely car although I'm not to keen on the square shaped dashboard. The ride is as good as a jaguar. Altogether a very quiet, quick, reliable car. Seats are very comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th March, 2003

1988 Renault 25 GTX from Netherlands


I wish they still made it


The shaft of one of the windshield wipers broke down. I fixed it myself.

Non-problematic oil leakage after 300000 km.

Remote control broke down, since then I use the key.

General Comments:

I bought the car at 10% of the price for a new one.

I never had serious trouble with it.

At 400000 km on the clock it still runs a 100 km. on 7,9 liters.

It is a very comfortable car.

In the long run it is the cheapest car I ever drove.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st July, 2002

1988 Renault 25 GTX 2.2i from Australia and New Zealand


An underrated classic


Replaced timing belt at 120,000 - $400.

Replaced ignition leads - $150.

CV joints worn - replaced both drive shafts - $600 each.

Radiator hose - $50.

Injectors - $500.

Radiator fan relay switch had to be replaced twice - $100 each.

Fuel gauge has never worked properly but the other trip computer functions work fine - who needs a fuel gauge anyway in a talking car - it tells you when you need to fill up with at least 100km left in the tank.

General Comments:

The 1988 25GTX is a highly reliable, underrated grand tourer with brilliant road manners. Good low down torque makes it easy to drive around the city and smooth 2.2 litre J engine, the same engine in my previous car, the Peugeot 505, has enough in it for safe high speed touring - it could do with more power for quick overtaking but if you know the limitations of the car you don't get into situations that prove a problem.

The previous original owner was president of the Australian Renault club so was fastidious with servicing and garaging.

The metallic paint work is still like new and there are no signs of wear inside.

The leather upholstery has aged beautifully. No cracks or obvious wear which is unusual for a European car exposed to the brutal Aussie sun.

The gear box has never given me any trouble except for some minor leaking which is insignificant. The engine is pretty much indestructible if it is regularly serviced. I am encouraged reading other reviews on this page, particularly someone who has a 25GTX with 389,000 kms on the clock.

Very few of these were imported into Australia - they are now worth nothing because no one knows anything about them - including mechanics. It is important to have a good non-dealer mechanic who knows French cars. Like the Peugeot 505, this is the cheapest car to maintain I have ever owned.

The styling may have dated, but it still turns plenty of heads when I drive it in the city.

A great car, very reliable and beautifully poised. I hope to have it for another 5 years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th May, 2001

25th Jun 2001, 05:42

I was told I can change the drive shafts over when the CV joints make enough noise (230,000kms and still quiet) -- they are the same length and so when left is put on the right side and vice versa they will run OK -- I have no proof or heresay to back it up -- heard this from a mechanic who knew this model... he says... worth investigating perhaps.

11th Feb 2002, 13:33

Dated looks? Maybe. But my wife drives a 1991 GTD, and I must admit I like its looks the longer the more. It's simply a classic. Marcello Gandini did a great job.

30th Sep 2004, 20:40

I have a 25 GTX Renault and both door locks have jammed, I am wanting to purchase one suitable lock with a key could anyone advise me of a dealer in such a thing smellyfitzelly@hotmail.com.

1988 Renault 25 GTS 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland


A poor man's Bentley


Wiper stalk failed and refused to operate the washers.

Oil leak from sump gasket, exhaust center section blown.

General Comments:

The car is wonderful to drive and is very reliable. As I am only 20 years old it seemed like an "Old Mans Car" but I have grown to love it and think everyone should ignore its dated looks and try it, it's not as bad as you think.

Even for a big car in 2 litre form it is still quite nippy and it makes a brilliant motorway cruiser. Mine repeatedly gives 35 mpg urban and 40 mpg at 56mph.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th July, 2000