1992 Renault 25 TXE Executive 2.0 petrol 8v from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Probably the best car in it's class ever made

Faults:

Windscreen washers not working when I bought her, required a replacement switch.

General Comments:

This is my second 25, but my first automatic.

'Box improved by having a fluid change - now I don't think I would go back to a manual!

Nobody else makes seats this comfortable - I can drive for hundreds of miles and get out with no aches or pains.

And the voice unit still works!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th December, 2005

1992 Renault 25 TXE Exec. 2.0i from UK and Ireland

Summary:

The most perfect old cruiser you could wish for!

Faults:

Head gasket blew not long after I bought the car, but I suspected this when I purchased it so had budgeted for the repair cost!

Original stereo would not play tapes - just worn out I guess - replaced with a CD system.

Power steering pipe split, also not long after purchase.

General Comments:

What a wonderful car, even after all those miles. Surely the best car of it's type ever!

Fast, reasonably economical and supremely comfortabe - as long as I can keep finding good ones, I will never drive anything else.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th October, 2005

1992 Renault 25 TXE Executive 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Summary:

A £300 bargain that I love to drive

Faults:

Sometimes the dash does not illuminate the digital read out. This is cured easily by wiggling the ignition key a fraction.

The built in stereo will not play tapes any more.

Occasionally the engine revs rise and fall for no apparent reason, this seems to happen at high temperatures.

The drivers door does not always unlock with the remote, this only occurs in wet weather.

General Comments:

A lovely comfortable and quick drive, well suited for a disabled person like me.

Everyone loves the burgundy colour, and the leather interior too.

Plenty of interior space.

Excellent caravan tower.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th May, 2004

1992 Renault 25 TXE Auto Executive 2 ltr from UK and Ireland

Summary:

The best car in the second market

Faults:

Replaced multi switch on gearbox at 122000 miles, Transmission oil cooler at 98000 miles, Water radiator at 91000 miles, Radiator cooling fans control gear and wiring.

General Comments:

This is still the best executive car that Renault has ever produced.

The ride and comfort are better than in cars costing twice as much.

If cared for and serviced regularly will give many miles of pleasure.

More than ample room for all passengers in front and back, leaving tons of space in the boot.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd June, 2002

1992 Renault 25 I 2.9 V6 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Expensive toys

Faults:

Auto gearbox gone 3 days after buying it (£1000).

Big ends also gone at the same time.

Air con not working.

General Comments:

This is my second 25, the gearbox went at 100,000 on my first and the same has happened on my second.

When they work they are very nice cars, but when they need fixing they are very expensive cars.

Watch out for high mileage on autos.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th June, 2001

28th Sep 2001, 10:05

It's a Renault... what do you expect.

These cars are cheap for a reason!!!

25th Jan 2002, 00:15

I've heard that the automatic transmissions on these cars are a bit crook, even at lower mileages. On the whole though, these cars can reach mileages of up to 400,000kms (obviously being carefully maintained) without a hitch.

9th Dec 2007, 16:23

Hi.

My mum's reno 25 has done 155,000 miles and nothing is wrong yet. It is luck (with a reno 25). We have had 4; 3 have failed but 1 has worked.

I still insist to everyone that the reno 25 is the best for comfort.

3rd Apr 2008, 19:22

(Threes are good cars but don't buy a auto.

Go for gears then you will be very (Happy.

get it checked by the AA, or some one like that then you will love it.

1992 Renault 25 TXi 2.0 multivalve from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Luxury at a rock bottom price

Faults:

Spring on the accelerator.

New rear brake discs, pads and steering gaitor for the MOT.

General Comments:

A good car which despite its size can be run quite reasonably if you use non franchised Renault experts.

I have had to spend very little on the car since buying it and it has been very reliable. What you get for your money is very impressive. However the one previous owner spent a lot of money maintaining it with the main dealer and before selling the car spent £800 after the head gasket went. I was surprised that this happened and later learnt from my local garage that this is a common fault on the multivalve engine and they have known it to happen at lower mileges. If I had known this before it would probably of scared me off from buying one.

The digital dash is also a cause for concern. They do go wrong and if it fails you lose the milometer and fuel gauge amongst other things. I am told Renault do not repair them but do an exchage for £1000+. This is probably how much my car is worth so I hope it never happens. However it's a nice car to drive and passengers appreciate its comfort. There are a number of models that do not have the digital dash or the multivalve engine.

I believe the normal 8 valve motor is very strong. I had one in my Renault 21 which burnt no oil having covered 155,000 miles before I sold it. My advice if you want a Renault 25 is to find the best example you can with a service history, don't pay to much as these cars are not easy sellers and avoid the auto gearbox.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th September, 2000