1985 Renault 5 Reviews

1985 Renault 5 TL 1.1 from UK and Ireland

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2012
Engine and transmission 1.1 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired42000 miles
Most recent distance54000 miles
Previous carMazda 323

Summary:

Great little car, it always starts, and has never let me down :)

Faults:

I have had two wheel bearings and the carburettor diaphragm replaced.

Slight rust on front right wing and under front window, although for its age, it's not bad at all.

General Comments:

I love everything about this car (almost).

It's light with a kerb weight of only 700kg.

It's fairly nippy for a 1.1.

It looks great.

Not so good up hills ha ha.

Avoid standing water, as this car will rust!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th July, 2012

1985 Renault 5 TSE 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired103000 miles
Most recent distance112000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

If you can find one in fair nick, buy it!

Faults:

Brake Hoses required replacing. Front to rear pipes on their way out as well.

Alternator issues which turned out to be poor wiring after all.

Interiors wear badly.

General Comments:

Excellent driving position, very comfortable seats that I've never seen on another car. They roll forward and back and are so comfortable.

The engine is a little noisy at 75mph+ in 5th gear, but the other gears are very well spaced and 60mph takes no time at all.

Fuel economy is better that many smaller engined Renaults because the engine doesn't have to work as hard.

Easy to work on compared to other French cars. Expect the unexpected when tackling a problem on these cars though. My alternator problem turned out to be the regulator connections!

Engine has lots of torque, it pulls up hills as well as much larger engined cars, and is a beauty when overtaking going up hill.

Comes with a good electrical spec (electric windows, remote central locking and electronic ignition module) but the electrics need to be looked after.

Handling is nothing like the R5 GT Turbo, but B road performance is still good.

Getting rarer now, but far superior to other standard model Renault 5s. If you can find one, choose it over the other models and you won't regret it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd December, 2003

23rd Jan 2004, 07:05

I agree the Renault 5 TSE is a far better car than the standard 5 in many respects. It is far better equiped and has better performance than the later 1.4 models, even the GTL. Mine has served me well now for 3 years with very few problems. The TSE is a very rare model of a very common car and as a result is special. Take care of your 5 and it will take care of you!

23rd Jan 2006, 14:23

I would like to update my earlier review. My 5 TSE is now on 136k and still going strong. I commute to work 40 miles away and have just completed a 700 mile tour of the UK. The drivers seat is beginning to show wear, but I have not had a single breakdown or mechanical fault with the vehicle. For a £50 car this has proved 100% reliable and is still very enjoyable to drive.

1985 Renault 5 Le Car (GTL) 1.1 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.1 petrol Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired25000 miles
Most recent distance30000 miles
Previous carFiat Punto

Summary:

Character and rarity, but requires patience

Faults:

The car has overheated quite a few times, but this is now fixed by 'careful' driving.

Needed a top engine rebuild, as there was no compression (kindly done by a friend for a few pints).

Heater did not work, same with the fan once the heater was fixed.

Driver side shock absorber fell off (due to poor fitting by the dog of previous owner).

General Comments:

Despite the problems I love my Renault Five. I deliberately chose the mark 1 version, as it had more personality than the newer ones.

I hope to keep it for long and to put it back into pristine condition (eventually).

I don't particularly recommend it for people with no mechanical experience, as it requires some attention. However, if you would like to learn about car mechanics it is a good starting point, I have learned a load already.

Hope no more problems arise!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th March, 2001

1985 Renault 5 TC 1.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance92000 miles

Summary:

Good car for looks with economy

Faults:

Brakes (replace with GT Rurbo calipers and disks).

Front suspension is very soft (replace with new harder springs (Koni, Spax, Avon...)

General Comments:

Easy to get parts for because most GT Turbo parts will fit.

Hard to work on under the bonnet because it opens the wrong way.

Handles well with new springs and will look good with GT Turbo bumpers and side skirts.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th March, 2001

1985 Renault 5 TL 1.1 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.1 petrol Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired83000 miles
Most recent distance94000 miles

Summary:

A car for tight people

Faults:

The usual wear and tear items, brakes, tyres etc.

General Comments:

The most basic and slow car I have ever driven, had a nasty habit of cutting out when pulling away from junctions.

Ran it on buttons, and it always started (eventually!).

It was making all sorts of terminal sounding noises when I got rid of it.

Quite rust resistant, which was surprising as most of the older Renault 5's I see are rustier than the Titanic.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th March, 2001

1985 Renault 5 TL 1.1 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.1 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired35000 miles
Most recent distance50000 miles
Previous carnone none

Summary:

Simple to fix, small, light, no serious problems

Faults:

Leaky passenger door seal, results in a puddle in the passenger foot well.

Leaky radiator, replaced most of the coolant system.

Alternator blew and battery leaked, due to old age.

General Comments:

Fantastic first car. Solid as a rock and simple to fix.

Lightness makes for a relatively nippy vehicle, slow to warm up but fairly smooth after that.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th March, 2001

1985 Renault 5 TL 1.1 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.1 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired67000 miles
Most recent distance86000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin Metro

Summary:

Cheap and chic

Faults:

Alternator failed at 80,000 miles.

Front brake pads/discs replaced every 2 years. Binding problem never sorted.

Battery replacement.

Water thermostat seized so no heat coming through to the car (shortly after I bought it).

Died at the MOT because of corrosion of the front offside shocker and suspension mounting.

General Comments:

Performance sluggish to say the least, but cheap to run and a comfortable ride. Good town runabout.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 5th December, 2000

1985 Renault 5 GTR 1.4 Twin Carb Injection petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1985
Engine and transmission 1.4 Twin Carb Injection petrol
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10

Faults:

Tyres last 2000 miles! Re-tune and oil change every 3 months! Shocks every year, usual service stuff every year.

Central locking, sunroof leaks, oil sensor plays up now and then, front fogs every year.

General Comments:

Very rare model, 1 of 300??? Renault refuse to service it in UK, needs to go to France for computer service.

Carbs always need tuning, but goes fast (115bhp at wheels), lowered 45mm, BB2 exhaust, K&N conversion, electric everything, leather interior, 14" 5 spoke alloys standard!

Only Yokohama make tires for this car.

Drinks petrol! (120miles per tank!)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th January, 1999

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 8 reviews