1993 Renault 5 Reviews

1993 Renault 5 Campus Prima 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired4000 miles
Most recent distance50000 miles
Previous carRenault 5

Summary:

Economical and reliable

Faults:

Radiator replaced; otherwise, usual wear and tear only.

General Comments:

Exceptionally reliable.

Used as a hearse for a charity, with the passenger seat removed.

Unfortunately, someone drove into my 14 year-old car and wrote it off. Need another for the charity's work, unless there is a modern car, equally small, equally economical, equally reliable, in which the seats can be laid flat for coffins.

John Bradfield.

Alice Barker Trust.

Harrogate.

01423 530900

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th September, 2007

1993 Renault 5 campus prima 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired34000 miles
Most recent distance38500 miles
Previous carFord Ka

Summary:

Love it to bits. why are they so cheap?

Faults:

Nothing, absolutely nothing! Just amazing.

General Comments:

What a fabulous little car bought by chance. It takes me on a 50 mile round trip each day to university. The 1.4 engine in so small and light a body helps the car feel lively, although it does get harsh if revved. Comfortable, if basic. Quiet and easy to live with. Incredibly cheap to buy.

Points to watch - body corrosion mostly caused by lack of owner care! Look around the bottom of the windows on 3 door cars. Check the leading face of the front inner wings where the bumper is mounted.

I've put waxoil all over the underside of mine and also have removed the rear quarter interior trim to rust proof inside the car below the rear windows. Sounds a bit keen, but why let corrosion prematurely kill off a brilliant and otherwise easy and cheap to maintain machine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th December, 2005

1993 Renault 5 TR 1.4 injection from Netherlands

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.4 injection Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 kilometres
Most recent distance145000 kilometres
Previous carCitroen Xantia

Summary:

Brilliant french piece of engineering and very very cheap to run

Faults:

The exhaust went, which is only to be expected after 10 years and 120,000 km.

Apart from this, nothing more than regular maintenance items.

General Comments:

This is an excellent little car. It runs at least 17 km to the liter on average, it's very comfortable, and with the 1.4 liter engine it can keep up with other traffic very well. The gearbox handles smoothly, it's roomy and very, very comfortable.

You don't need power steering on this car, as it turns very easily.

The seats are better in the more expensive models, though on short rides they're just fine.

Unfortunately, some parts of the bodywork are rather prone to corrosion, which is the only flaw I can think of.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th October, 2004

1993 Renault 5 Campus Prima 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance45000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Chevette

Summary:

Cute, economical and fun - why can't new small cars be like this?

Faults:

Rear exhaust box blew at 38000 miles, but only cost £30 to replace.

Seat frame cracked, but two minutes with a welder fixed that.

Trim fragile, but nothing actually broke.

Head cracked at 45000 miles, fixed with some Rad weld shortly before selling it!

Thin bodywork dented easily.

General Comments:

A town car should be light, easy to park and economical and the 5 was all of those things. Not a brilliant cruiser, but was happy enough at 80mph on occasional 50 miles runs on the M25.

Visibility was absolutely superb, as was the fuel economy. I used to get 40mpg irregardless of how I drove it. I replaced the car with a Fiesta 1.25 which NEVER exceeded 29mpg.

If I found a good one which was well looked after, I'd buy it straight away.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th July, 2004

25th Jul 2004, 11:41

Hear hear. great little cars, I also had exceptional fuel economy regardless. think it's that light body and a 1.4 that doesn't have to work very hard to move it!

15th Dec 2005, 14:27

Yes, I bought a 5 campus 1.4 '93 with 35k miles and one owner earlier this year and very cheap - sub £200. What a great car. All small cars should be like this, but are all too often over complex and over weight. I did an mpg check on mine (long run cruising at 65-70) ; 57.5mpg. Just stunning.

1993 Renault 5 Prima 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired68000 miles
Most recent distance77000 miles

Summary:

Gimme 5

Faults:

Since I've owned it (and I don't want to tempt fate by saying it...) nothing has gone wrong with the car.

General Comments:

This car is great!!

It's my second car - owned a Fiat Cinquecento beforehand, which was good, but a bit too slow.

Wasn't even looking to change car when I came across the Renault - but it was so smart and well priced it seemed rude not to buy it!!

It's a 1.4 - 60bhp (I think), which in a car of this weight is pretty good. I often use a Vectra for work - and the Renault never feels a lot slower than that. (Though I'm sure it is) It overtakes well, and will do 95mph on the motorway. No, sorry - it would never do 95mph on the motorway...officer.

I get about 40mpg as an average, closer to 50mpg on a long run.

The car isn't overly comfortable. Fine for short journeys, but the seats are too soft on long journeys. That said, the ride is very comfortable (for a car designed when flares were last in fashion)

It handles brilliantly - and really can be thrown around back roads (when you learn to hold your nerve through the body roll!)

Incredibly cheap to run. Get this - I had a whole new set of tyres for £79 all in!!

I'm not even going to pretend it's in the same league as a new Clio - but I paid £1100 for this car 18 months ago, it starts first-time-everytime and is a bit of fun.

...now just let me try a GT Turbo...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th May, 2003

1993 Renault 5 Campus 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired47000 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles
Previous carRenault 5

Summary:

Great car, cheap to run!!

Faults:

The de-misters keep going on and off, I was told it was a bad connection, but it cannot be fixed.

General Comments:

Great, nippy little car, would definitely buy another one.

Good on miles to the gallon.

And for a 17 year old first car, quite cheap on insurance for a 1.4.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th September, 2001

1993 Renault 5 Campus Prima 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired57000 miles
Most recent distance62000 miles

Summary:

Absolute bargain car

Faults:

Heater motor needed replacing at 60,000 miles.

I'm having problems with getting it into first gear.

Rear light clusters fail.

General Comments:

The car is quick for a 1.4, 70mph in third gear, top speed 100mph (where permitted).

Very comfortable.

I regularly get 40mpg.

Very cheap compared to a Metro or Citroen AX.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th June, 2001

29th Oct 2001, 10:56

About to sell it because of a starting problem, and I also liked the look of a Rover 214 SEi, but the Renault is great!

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 7 reviews