2003 Renault Kangoo Reviews

2003 Renault Kangoo diesel from Portugal

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2011
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission diesel Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired1700000 kilometres
Most recent distance1700000 kilometres
Previous carRenault Kangoo

Summary:

Boring but useful

Faults:

First day it rained heavy, and the speedometer stopped working, the light for preheating the motor before you starts flashes sometimes.

I suspect it's an old problem with the speedometer, it worked the day after in the sun, so the mileage isn't correct.

General Comments:

Less expensive to run than my previous 4wd Kangoo, but poorer handling in rain and less powerful.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st January, 2011

2003 Renault Kangoo Trekka petrol from Sweden

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired17000 kilometres
Previous carCitroen DS

Summary:

Gets you where you want, but thirsty..

Faults:

Handbrake jammed on one rear tire, otherwise no problems, love it in the snow.

Front window sensitive to small stones, and it´s hard to heat in really cold weather.

General Comments:

Good winter car, but heavy on petrol.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th February, 2010

13th Jan 2011, 05:56

Now at 220.000 kilometers, there is total engine failure, a bit of noise before the failure a day in advance.

I wrote wrong it should be 170.000 kilometers, not 17 thousand.

2003 Renault Kangoo Trekka 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance26000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Cavalier

Summary:

A seriously good car despite some problems

Faults:

Minor problem with canvas sunroof, needs adjusting to stretch fabric tight. Renault agents and Renault unable to provide solution as this is a car imported from Cyprus and UK spec doesn't list it.

First serviced at 2 years from purchase, (at end of warranty) no problems. Mileage 11,000.

Second service at 18,000 miles 1 year later. This is forced by the car breaking down 3 times in 1 week. The problem was the 'Top Dead Center' sensor failing when the engine was hot. When cold it would start and run fine when hot it would stall at road junctions and then would not start till cold. Sensor replaced no problems with it since.

Third service at 26,000 miles. This was forced on by the 'Toxic Fumes from Exhaust' sensor coming on as the car reverted to firing on only 3 cylinders. I managed to complete short local journey with 4 people in the car, about 6 miles without problems. Problem was with 2 of the ignition coils. 1 failed completely, 1 intermittent. Told local non-franchised garage to change all 4 coils.

General Comments:

This car is about the 16th/17th I have owned over the years and I like it a lot.

I like the permanent 4 wheel drive, it is very sure footed in the wet and on ice. It holds the road well and has nice positive steering.

The 5 speed gearbox is fast and precise.

The engine is very willing and although the top speed is limited at just over 90 mph it would cruise flat out.

The seats are really excellent and visibility is good.

Braking is disks all round and very good. The car doesn't mind if it is empty or loaded fully.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th May, 2008

24th Feb 2010, 11:07

I got one as well, so far after 6 months, jammed handbrake is the only problem.

I love it to bits in the Swedish snow.

8th Feb 2011, 10:10

Had my Kangoo Trekka 1.9 diesel for 7 years - I am very happy with the car, which has been taken to some extremely rough mountainous places cross-country and actually performed stunningly well, and is a vehicle particularly suited to narrow mountain tracks. I haven't found Renault service very good from any of the garages I've used over the years -- I much prefer my local garage especially now I'm out of any warranty; much, much cheaper and much more helpful. It would have been better if Renault had spent less on F1 racing and bit more on recording which make of starter motor they fitted in which car... To have to pay to have the car taken apart and put back together just to read the serial number on the broken starter motor was, well, dispiriting.

9th Feb 2011, 07:14

Everything in the engine bay of the Kangoo is crammed, so I'm not surprised that start engine is hard to get to.

12th Apr 2011, 09:55

We have a September 2003 Kangoo 1.5 DCI and we love it!

It's a French spec with a folding back electric sunroof. This was repaired under warranty, but then became faulty again. We were quoted over 1000 Euros plus labour for a new "cassette" for the roof to be replaced by Renault. It seems to be a common fault. After searching on the internet, we found a guy in the North of Germany who fabricates the faulty parts, so we bought 2 for 129 Euros and then had the parts fitted in the Renault garage. Success, the sunroof is now as good as new and with more substantial parts!

2003 Renault Kangoo 1.6 16V from Israel

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired4 kilometres
Most recent distance26600 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Polo

Summary:

Good value for money

General Comments:

The automatic version, equipped with the Megane's 1.6 16V engine is a very comfortable load carrier. It feels like a private car capable of carrying a big load, yet is not much bigger than any Toyota Corolla for instance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd November, 2005

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 4 reviews