1998 Renault Laguna RT Sport 1.6 16v from UK and Ireland


A good performing, economical car to own


Anti-lock brake warning light and the stop light came on.

After a £750 dealer bill, found back offside sensor connection full of water. Changed this and now problem with lights has gone.

General Comments:

This car is cheap to run and is as comfortable as my front room.

Eats up motorway miles like a diesel.

Although a little noisy at high revs this car performs excellently.

Air-conditioning and an electric sunroof! Thanks Renault.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th June, 2002

17th Jun 2002, 09:02

I own the same car and have had the following problems:

Power steering twice


Central Locking

Wheel bearing


Operating problems in wet.

The warranty that came with this car was not worth the paper it was written on and Renault UK do not care.

I will never buy another Renault and advise people to steer well clear.

1998 Renault Laguna RT Sport 1.8 from UK and Ireland


A cruiser


Just one hour after buying the car (privately) the cam belt broke. This took 3 weeks and £1100 to sort out - turning what was a keenly priced car into a fairly expensive one. The cam belt was due to be replaced at 72,000 miles so no idea why it went so early. The car had been AA tested and MOT'd the day I bought it so I'm putting it down top bad luck rather than bad judgement.

General Comments:

Great comfort and lots of in-cabin toys.

Particularly good on corners (is this for all Laguna's or a special set up for the Sport?)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th September, 2001

1998 Renault Laguna RT 2.0 8v from UK and Ireland


A good looking, reliable and comfortable drive


So far nothing has gone wrong with this car. When I took it for a test, the brakes were dodgy, in that they 'Juddered' when braking hard. Also the front tyres were quite badly worn, but these were replaced by the dealer before delivery.

General Comments:

The cabin is excellently laid out with all the controls easy to get to, apart from the headlight adjustment wheel which is impossible to get to as my knee is in the way. This isn't something which is uses a lot though, so not really important.

Air conditioning is an absolute lifesaver in warm weather - it's quick and effective, however does smell when first turned on and does have the effect of reducing the power of the engine quite significantly.

Stereo in this model is okay... not the best in the world but it does the trick.

Engine bay is very cramped. There seems to be much more in there than there ever was in the Cavalier!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th June, 2001

14th Jan 2002, 08:09

Brakes had to be done after around 10k miles. Cost £250 for new front discs and pads, which seems ridiculous. I don't think I drive too hard, yet this seems very expensive, and surprising at this mileage.

1998 Renault Laguna RXE 2.0 from UK and Ireland


Great looking performance bargain


Nothing yet for me. Full Service History shows normal wear and tear but nothing major.

General Comments:

Absolutely stunning looking car with every extra. My R25 was brilliant but the Laguna is quite obviously better built, more refined and loads of fun. Must be the best looking rep-mobile on the road.

Seats are fantastic and show no wear at 105K miles. Hope to do another 100K without any probs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th April, 2001

1998 Renault Laguna Executive 3.0 V6 24v petrol from UK and Ireland


Air con condenser failed (allegedly) - replaced under warranty.

General Comments:

Fabulous Q-car with tremendous, effortless performance - 80mph in second gear! Gearbox much improved from my previous V6 as is the fuel consumption.

Handling good, but the previous version seemed to roll less and an excellent ride, although not at low speed due to the low profile tyres.

Easy to use dash, great Alpine Hi-Fi as standard and comfortable leather seats, this really is a respectable alternative at amazing low nearly new prices to the Merc C280 and BMW 328i.

Shame Renault dealers are so average!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th November, 2000

1998 Renault Laguna RT 1.9 DTI from UK and Ireland


Creaking of front electric windows.

Lumbar adjustment on drivers seat collapsed.

General Comments:

Dealers could be a lot more helpful when servicing the car, this would make the Laguna a much better package, but the Renault dealers are generally much better than Ford (disinterested and unwilling to carry out work specified).

I work for ICI (Dulux) and three years ago 4 of us in my area had Mondeo`s ,now there are two Laguna`s, an Avensis and a Vectra. I think this speaks for itself.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th February, 2000

1998 Renault Laguna RTi 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland


All Lagunas of this age were recalled due to a potential problem with the driveshafts. I had mine checked and found to be OK.

Alternator output was found to be suspect. Replaced under warranty.

General Comments:

Performance of the RTi is excellent, quick, with really confident handling.

A great car for long journeys, very comfortable and quiet.

Servicing is cheap (£58 for 6000 mile service)

Dealer service could be improved though.

A much underrated car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th September, 1999

1998 Renault Laguna RT 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland


Lost oil after 3,500 miles.

General Comments:

Good reliable family car, easily fits 3 kids in the back, with the power of 110 bhp is very quick with a full load.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd September, 1998