2002 Renault Megane Reviews - Page 2 of 2

2002 Renault Megane Expression 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired9000 miles
Most recent distance28000 miles
Previous carRenault Megane

Summary:

Unreliable, but good looking

Faults:

Aibag fault present on delivery of car.

Plastic trim on door (external) falling off.

Internal plastic trim (center console/window switch panel..) loose and not well fixed.

Internal roof trim loose.

Switches on gearbox and brakes faulty hence car failed to start on random occasions.

General Comments:

Great shape and the exclusive 'derrier'.

Poor performance.

Great comfort.

Very unreliable due to starting problems where vehicle left immoblised on five plus occasions.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd December, 2005

2002 Renault Megane Classic RXE 1.6 petrol from Spain

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired12000 kilometres
Most recent distance25000 kilometres
Previous carPeugeot 309

Summary:

Superfically nice, but totally undependable

Faults:

Automatic gearbox failure at very low mileage.

Water leaks in boot from faulty rear lamp assembly.

This is the second Megane automatic gearbox in succession which has failed at very low mileage. The gearbox seems to me to be either frail or have reliability problems.

Renault CLIP diagnostics are supposed to be able to log all faults or incidents with these gearboxes which are stored in memory. On two cars Renault insist there is no fault showing up under Diagnostics.

However even their engineers confirm that the gearbox displays faults on the road.

But this time the car has been in the garage for two weeks; they claim not to know what is wrong with it; and are resisting replacing the gearbox under warranty as they should.

General Comments:

This is the second Megane in a row which has shown Auto gearbox faults at low mileage.

I would not recommend anyone to buy an automatic Renault.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th May, 2004

23rd Nov 2004, 09:36

I am from Singapore. My dad bought a second hand Megane Classic from a dealer and now he's in trouble. According to most mechanics, his auto gearbox is showing signs of failure at only 50,000km. At times, the car would be stuck in 2nd gear and despite stepping on the gas pedal, the revs would just go up, but the box will not shift to 3rd.

Renault Singapore says there's nothing wrong with the gearbox after accessing the situation via the CLIPS computer. Despite my dad's insistence, the dealer says it's due to his driving style and the car will gradually learn to adapt to my dad's driving habits. What crap! Clearly the symptoms point to an imminent failure of the auto box and here we have the local Renault dealer saying it's perfectly okie? I don't think we will ever consider Renault again.

On the other hand, my brother's Nissan Micra 1.0 CVT auto is still in perfectly good mechanical condition even after 275000km on the clock. The N-CVT gearbox has never been replaced.

21st Feb 2006, 13:52

Megane classic Alize 5 door.

Replaced gearbox at 63k for £1,800 then 12k later warning light appears after 2 miles. Stop car and re-start. Problem disappears.

Warning light has been flashing every ten minutes whilst driving. Is the gearbox going again? Help with answer needed.

28th Feb 2006, 13:50

I have the same fault. Is it worse when it is cold? If so, get the oil levels checked. This is a main dealer op, DO NOT attempt to undo the filler plug as you may wreck the gearbox. :- (I speak from experience.

2002 Renault Megane Expression from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired2000 kilometres
Most recent distance10845 kilometres

Summary:

Not worth the hassles, buy an Astra Convertible instead

Faults:

The Megane had an oil leak from day one. We took it in for repairs twice (1000km each trip plus accommodation). The third time they freighted the car for us. It was there 5 weeks and when it came back it had 150 less km on the clock. They said it was impossible, where did my car go during that 5 weeks? Oil leak seems fixed, still concerned about the missing kilometers. We have had lots of little problems, faulty lights, boot struts etc.

General Comments:

Love the look of the car and it is seriously fun with the roof down. Great to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th March, 2004

2002 Renault Megane Expresion + 1.8L 16v ( 120 bhp) from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8L 16v ( 120 bhp) Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired500 miles
Most recent distance11000 miles
Previous carAlfa Romeo 156

Summary:

A Sporty Family Hatch

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Good Car. Great performance 0-60 Mph in 8.9 Secs and a top speed of 126 Mph. Saxo VTR drivers looks at it and snigger untill it takes off from the lights then I have the last laugh. 120 BHP at 5750 RPM.

I used to own a 1999 Alfa 156 1.8L and the Megane feels as quick as it. Good for the Motorway Trips more than enough grunt around 3500 rpm +. My Wife owns a 1.8L 2003 Scenic and it doesn't feel that much slower than my Megane.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th February, 2004

2002 Renault Megane Dynamique+ 1.4 16 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.4 16 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired5000 miles
Most recent distance13500 miles
Previous carSAAB 900

Summary:

Don't keep one long

Faults:

Nothing really, wouldn't expect it at this mileage.

General Comments:

Although a loverly car and perfect family hatch, one or 2 bad points, fuel consumption is good if you drive very steady, but is disapointing if you keep up with traffic, can be down to 38 average, but can get 50 average. The heater controls are in the way of the gear stick when in 3rd and 5th, you can't alter the fan speed or distribution. Also the biggest let down on these cars is depreciation, we sold it for a 4x4 and lost £7K in 18 months on this car which was £13 ouch.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th January, 2004

2002 Renault Megane Dynamique 1.9 dci from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.9 dci Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired13800 miles
Most recent distance14000 miles
Previous carAlfa Romeo 156

Summary:

A highly comfortable, economical bargain

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong, although the quantity of electrical systems on this vehicle worries me.

General Comments:

The car is extremely comfortable, the seats are padded armchairs, the padding is many inches thick, but still very supportive.

The strong self centering of the steering is off putting and makes it harder work that it might of been. In addition the rear suspension seems to have a mind of its own.

Otherwise this is an extremely well equipped, comfortable, fast and economical car with plenty of space. It also appears to be very well built.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st October, 2003

2002 Renault Megane Classic Aliz 1.6 benzin from Hungary

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 benzin Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance16000 kilometres
Previous carLada Samara

Summary:

High performance, but pain in the back

Faults:

Steering system made knocking noise since 0 km. It was repaired only at 6000 km.

Differential gear went wrong (gear shift made knocking noise during engine break).

Clutch pedal makes cracking noise sometimes.

Air ventilation system needed repair after half a year.

General Comments:

The 1.6 version has a very good engine, with good acceleration and real power. Internal comfort is very good, but the built quality is poor. Quality control at Renault is very very poor... Minimum 3 years guarantee would be needed for this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th July, 2003

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 10 reviews