1994 Renault Safrane Reviews - Page 2 of 3

1994 Renault Safrane RT 2.0i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0i Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance127000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

The car people forget until they have owned one!

Faults:

The only thing relevant, is twice the car has refused to start. After leaving it for 20 minutes or so, it started.

General Comments:

Comfortable, Reliable and still looks good for it's age and mileage.

Rust free body work.

Easy to service engine and brakes.

2.0i Manual is not very fast, but good on motorway, Top speed 122mph.

Good mpg at 70mph.

Sharp handling with link suspension.

I've drove it from Glasgow to the south of Cornwall a few times and you don't feel that you had done over 500 miles with only stopping once for fuel.

It has more spec than most BMW's for it's year and I only paid £350 for mine and it's been the best car I've had to date for reliability and comfort.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th December, 2003

30th Mar 2005, 11:33

What was the reason for non starting. I have the same problem - can you help?

8th Jun 2005, 05:39

My 1994 Safrane RN 2.0i with 82,000 miles on the clock had this same non starting problem. Would turn the engine off when I popped home and then it would refuse to start shortly afterwards. Leaving it for half an hour or so would mysteriously cure the problem, until it gave up the ghost 3 weeks ago! Had to be recovered to the local Renault dealer who informed me that I needed a new INJECTOR LOOM and TDC SENSOR. The cost... (take a seat!) £911.00 parts & labour!!! The car cost me £1000 2 years and 12,000 miles ago! The central locking, particularly driver's door won't lock now either if anyone has any suggestions they would be appreciated as I have failed miserably to get my hands on any kind of manual! Oh and I hope the problem with starting turns out to be simpler for you!

1994 Renault Safrane RN Vi 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired58000 miles
Most recent distance74000 miles
Previous carRenault Savanna

Summary:

Fairly cheap executive class car

Faults:

The metal water pipe between the engine and bulk head cracked, it took the main dealers hours to find the fault and was expensive to repair.

Remote door key only works close to the car.

General Comments:

This size car needs the bigger engines, although they do not seem to be as economical.

The comfort is brilliant.

Acceleration is not exciting, but this is a real motorway cruiser.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th February, 2003

24th Mar 2004, 10:02

I have found the Safrane to be a truly wonderful car.

Both in Design, and comfort.

The only problem I found was a difficulty in getting a manual for this machine.

If someone out there knows where to get a manual for the safrane, Please let me know.

1994 Renault Safrane RT Exec 2.2 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2 petrol Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired39000 miles
Most recent distance104500 miles
Previous carRenault 25

Summary:

Lot of car for the money

Faults:

Head gasket blew at 97000 miles.

Gearbox bearing started to break up at 65000 miles.

Power Steering intermittent at 43000 miles (loose connection)

Would not start at 45000 miles (immobiliser) no fault found.

Boot lock stopped working - suspect solenoid.

General Comments:

Renault not interested in gearbox fault.

Main Dealer service prices extortionate.

Superb motor, but horrendous spares prices (ex Renault)

Very comfortable - has everything I need, but would NEVER buy automatic due to reliability problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd January, 2003

29th Apr 2004, 09:13

Hi yes the gearbox may be expensive, but shop around and get a good deal. Reconditioned gear box can be as cheap as £895.Cheaper than a new car (without a new box)

chrislovewsm@aol.com.

1994 Renault Safrane RN 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired67000 miles
Most recent distance72000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Carlton

Summary:

A comfortable and cheap luxury car let down by silly design faults and expensive spare parts

Faults:

Cable operated heater controls seized.

Both front door locks corroded. Had to rely on remote key fob.

Clicking speedo cable. New cable cost £97 from Renault.

Torsion bar drop links worn out causing unpleasant knocking noises.

Exceptional oil consumption (1 pint/100 miles). Eventually traced to excessive crankcase vacuum due to badly fitting PCV valve in valve cover. New valve from Renault didn't work much better.

Non-existent thermostat in cooling system.

Paint peeling from speedometer face.

Worn out drive shaft bearing. New shaft £270?

General Comments:

This car was very cheap to buy secondhand which offsets the high running costs.

Because the Safrane is an uncommon car most parts have to come from Renault and their prices are far too expensive.

A very comfortable car, great on the motorway and not bad in town.

A real pleasure to drive. Not exciting, but does the job without fuss.

A cavernous boot, especially with the rear seats down.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th July, 2002

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 9 reviews