1993 Rover - Austin 200 Reviews - Page 4 of 6

1993 Rover - Austin 200 i 1.4 8v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.4 8v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired53000 miles
Most recent distance63000 miles

Summary:

A very capable hatchback

Faults:

Tailgate collapsed due to offside hinge failure.

Microswitch in drivers door fault causing problems dis-arming alarm.

High oil consumption for no apparent reason.

General Comments:

For a 1.4 8v engine this car is surprisingly fast, but at the same time very economical.

You should consider changing the 155 tyres for 175's for a little bit extra grip.

Overall a fine handling, quick and good looking car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th July, 2002

1993 Rover - Austin 200 i 1.4 injection from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.4 injection Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance138000 miles
Previous carNissan Micra

Summary:

Cheap now and probably a worthwhile buy

Faults:

Head gasket blew at around 83,000 miles.

Constant exhaust corrosion, requiring pipe and back-box replacement every 6 months.

Alternator needed replacing at 110,000 miles.

Constant overheating past 138,000 miles, problem remained un-diagnosed.

General Comments:

My dad actually owned this car from new, and I began driving it in 1999 after passing my test, so all the history was already known to me.

The Majority of the problems encountered were only cheap to fix, aside from firstly the head gasket, which is a common fault in these cars above 70,000 miles and of course the overheating which ended in the final demise of our old faithful family car!

For a 1.4 8 valve engine, this was one quick car! Compare it to even an escort 1.4 16v or a BMW 316i and the Rover leaves them both for dust. It came without luxuries such as power steering and electric windows, but the steering did give plenty of feedback. Handling was generally OK, but the front wheels with the skinny tires were a little vulnerable to locking and torque steer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th June, 2002

1993 Rover - Austin 200 GTi 2.0 turbo from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired31000 kilometres
Most recent distance58000 kilometres
Previous carRover - Austin Metro

Summary:

Super-car performance at a bargain basement price

Faults:

Alternator failure at 40,000km.

General Comments:

An extremely underrated hot hatch with performance that can embarrass more expensive and exotic cars. Fun to drive quickly and very sedate around town when required.

Spacious, well laid out and comfortable cabin with masses of boot space, especially with the rear seats folded down.

Reliability and relative cheapness to run makes it one of the best cars I have owned to date.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th April, 2002

1993 Rover - Austin 200 220 SLi 2.0 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

A high performance bargain

Faults:

Central locking problems - actuator in drivers door was broken when I bought the car and the repairer managed to damage the window tracking and break the exhaust! Still, now fixed, however the actuator in the rear offside door has now failed.

The cover over the catalytic converter came loose at 76000miles.

New exhaust at 77000miles.

I'm concerned at the amount of smoke from the exhaust and the clutch is beginning to wear.

General Comments:

The car is very fast but could handle better.

It is a very understated car, looking like a 214, but is faster than a Golf GTi.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th September, 2001

1993 Rover - Austin 200 Si 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired92000 miles
Most recent distance102000 miles
Previous carFiat Tipo

Summary:

Hidden treasure

Faults:

Wipers wouldn't "park" - just dirt in the wiper motor.

Oil light came on - pickup strainer in the sump was completely blocked.

General Comments:

Some vibration at idle. This car is a bargain. Fast for a 1.4 and very reliable. I would definitely buy another one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th June, 2001

1993 Rover - Austin 200 Si 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.4 Don't Know
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance135000 miles
Previous carFord Sierra

Summary:

A bargain if I ever saw one

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

It has good performance for the size of it.

My one has no rust and has never broke down in the time I have had it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd April, 2001

1993 Rover - Austin 200 SLi 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired55000 miles
Most recent distance101000 miles
Previous carFiat Uno

Summary:

Lively and elegant - underrated and therefore cheap!

Faults:

Radiator leaked at 90000 miles.

Clutch failed at 95000 miles.

Gearbox required an overhaul at 98000 miles.

General Comments:

Gearbox fragility is a problem.

Performance is excellent. The K Series engine is extremely responsive and can very often overhaul bigger engined cars in a traffic light grand prix. If you want economy, a gentle right foot will give you this as well.

Handling is OK, but be careful of the back skipping out!

Comfort is superb, and the cabin looks suitably upper class. Electrics all round.

An excellent car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th March, 2001

1993 Rover - Austin 200 214 Si 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired55000 miles
Most recent distance66000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Nova

Summary:

Dull, but does what it should

Faults:

Minor things only.

Wipers don't return to base on intermittent or flick-wipe.

Rattles like it's falling apart at 2000rpm. Fine above and below 2000rpm.

Back seats loose and sun visor loose, have been padded out with sticky tape to hold them still. Driver's seat rocks under sudden braking.

Windows keep rolling themselves down and letting wind noise in.

Consumption is very variable, from 290 to 400 miles on a tankful.

Brakes squeak like mad at times.

Nothing major - yet.

General Comments:

Does everything adequately. Comfortable enough on long journeys, but also OK for buzzing round town.

Reviews and stories of blown head gaskets and melted engines are slightly worrying, especially as mine is getting to 'that age'.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st February, 2001

21st Feb 2001, 20:37

I have exactly the same rattling problem at 2000rpm, it drives me nuts. It happens in 1st, 2nd and 3rd gears. I don't like driving around town for that reason. If anyone has a good solution for this, I might be tempted to keep this Rover for another year or two.

11th Mar 2001, 15:32

Had the wiper motor looked at, and only one cog was broken which prevented the wiper arms returning to base. As its not possible to just replace the broken bit, (wouldn't you know) I had to get a whole new motor and that cost me £120. What a rip off, for one piece which probably would cost just pennies to replace. Not happy Rover! Obviously more concerned with profit than customer satisfaction. Rant rant rant!

2nd Aug 2001, 13:14

Exactly the same noise problem, gotta be Rover, my head gasket blew, luckily cost £240 to repair.

Will now keep it as I have a new gasket, good for another 95,000 miles I hope. Just wish I could get rid of the rattles.

23rd Nov 2001, 15:49

This car is now dead thanks to a drunk driver who ran into the o/s front wing. Completely wrecked the suspension, buckled the chassis and moved the wheel so far back I was almost sitting on it. Luckily though I was unharmed apart from a whiplash. Could have been much worse, but good construction (if rattly) saved my bacon.

Last recorded mileage:79412 and still going sweetly with its new alternator.

Personal injury claim?? You betcha. Ker-chinggg.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 30 reviews