1998 Rover - Austin 200 Reviews - Page 6 of 6

1998 Rover - Austin 200 Vi 1.8 VVC from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 VVC Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired39000 miles
Most recent distance43000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta XR2

Summary:

Bargain, but check the price and history first

Faults:

The rear wheel has just recently started to squeak, think it's the wheel bearings.

It did not start in the midwinter, fault was down to the spark plugs.

Have just checked out the alarm and immobilisor, they don't work all that well, don't know whether this is what it should be like or if it is a fault in the wiring, will let you know!

General Comments:

Quick at 4.5k, since the power is in the top end, the fuel economy is very good.

Very nice to drive.

Apart from the above faults, I feel the car's reliability is not in question. There have been no serious faults as yet.

One more comment. If you're over 6"2 forget it, especially if it's got a sunroof.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd January, 2001

10th Sep 2002, 09:28

I own a 200 BRM LE and am 6ft 4 and have no trouble sitting comfortably.

1998 Rover - Austin 200 DS 2.0 TD from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 TD Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance21000 miles
Previous carFord Escort TD

Summary:

Economical/reliable car

Faults:

3 door locks on the driver's side, 2 door locks on the passenger side and both driveshaft gaiters have failed at different times.

Rust treated on the nearside sill near the passenger door and around the tailgate aparture.

General Comments:

Reliable car with plenty of torque to pull our caravan up and down the country.

A bit concerned about the quality of the paintwork and possible further rust.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th January, 2001

1998 Rover - Austin 200 214 Si 1.4 16v from Spain

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4 16v Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance27000 kilometres
Previous carCitroen AX GT

Summary:

A waste of money

General Comments:

Nice car design. Just forget the performance!! I guess even my old AX can let this Rover behind with no problems!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th December, 2000

12th Nov 2001, 03:25

I have no idea why you think this car is slow. I've been in one and believe me your previous AX wouldn't stand a chance. I mean a 1.4 engine with 16 valves and 103bhp slow??

16th Dec 2001, 21:16

I agree are you sure you didn't buy the 1.1 by accident?

29th May 2002, 10:05

I also agree, the 1.4 K Series engine (especially in Mpi form as yours would be) kicks out a tremendous amount of Power. More infact than just about any 1.6 engined car built by any other manufacturer.

Maybe get the car checked out, a Dyno test would give you some indication as to whether there's a problem.

Happy motoring!

1998 Rover - Austin 200 Vi 1.8i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8i Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired11500 miles
Most recent distance28000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra SXi

Summary:

Fun with frills

Faults:

Start valve (choke) required a look at due to bad starting.

General Comments:

Looks like an OAPs car. No credibility. Fed up with being cut up by middle aged women in silver Mondeo's.

So fit extra horns and lights so you can get your own back. Drop a gear and floor the pedal to put a big smile back on your face.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th December, 2000

1998 Rover - Austin 200 214 Si 1.4 16V from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4 16V Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance43500 miles
Previous carBMW 316

Summary:

Like a big Mini, without the rust (yet)

Faults:

Inlet manifold gasket leak, rear wiper hose split, various rattles.

General Comments:

It rattles, clutch is not nice (one dealer recommended dropping the clutch at 2000 RPM), noisy engine. Not let me down though, goes & handles well for a 1.4. Very comfortable even though I'm 6' 6" tall.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th April, 2000

1998 Rover - Austin 200 218is 1.8 injection twin cam petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
Engine and transmission 1.8 injection twin cam petrol
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10

Faults:

None.

General Comments:

The car handles well and is a surprisingly quick, well built car and looks good too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th February, 1999

1998 Rover - Austin 200 218vi 1.8 vvc petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
Engine and transmission 1.8 vvc petrol
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10

Faults:

Nothing...but we've only had it for a week!

General Comments:

Have lusted after one of these for so long I am delighted to have traded in a P plate 216 SLi for this beast (0-60 in 7.5 secs). So far I am not disappointed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd September, 1998

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 26 reviews