1999 Rover - Austin 200 Reviews - Page 4 of 4

1999 Rover - Austin 200 SE 1.1i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 1.1i Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance12000 miles

Summary:

Best performance/quality all in one!

Faults:

Absolutely nothing has gone wrong!

One fuse blew once the day before it was due to go in for a service anyway so I let them replace it (I've blown more fuses myself in my ICE installs).

The quality is amazing and so even after nearly 2 years and 12000 miles, it's still mint. I leave the car outside and I believe it's one of the only small cars on the market which wouldn't rust to bits due to the British/German quality/engineering.

General Comments:

I've outrun my mate in his 1.1 Fiesta whilst being 2 up, hands down!

It's definitely the fastest 1.1 on the roads and even beats 1.4 hatches. This is due to the superb road holding, you just cannot slide it! The back suspension has a little trick which keeps you going right, and the revvy engine makes for a great driving experience which is even more fun when there's two people to keep the weight distribution right.

My ICE (stereo) system gets some funny looks, I think more people can't believe what they're seeing, as the 200 sometimes has the pipe and slippers image, but a little customisation makes this car into a very mean machine! Just look at the aggressive front and compare it to, hmm say a Fiesta, or a Saxo or a Corsa, they all look really boring and dull.

If you want quality, style and performance when you're young and insurance is a problem (got mine as my first car 2 years ago at 17 after I had passed my test), then this is the car to go for!

The beauty of this car is that because it's so revvy, it's no slow coach on the motorways. I'm down in Cornwall and we don't really have any within a 3 hour drive so when I went to Norfolk and got my speed up, there was a really nice power band higher up in the rev range meaning that slowing down and pulling away was leaving very higher spec cars behind. So it's doing me proud!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th March, 2001

3rd Apr 2001, 12:52

Hi.

What ICE system are you using? The original rover unit fitted to my Rover 200 1.1 was pretty poor, and Rover did not fit any tweeters!

I recently upgraded to a Blaupunkt head unit and daisychained some MB Quart tweeters off the woofer, and it sounds great.

Apart from that, the 200 is fantastic.

1999 Rover - Austin 200 BRM LE 1.8vvc from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8vvc Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance9500 miles
Previous carRover - Austin Vi

Summary:

The most fun on 4 wheels for not much money

Faults:

Oil temperature sensor faulty, made the overall running of the engine erratic.

General Comments:

A brilliant car, handling and overall performance are excellent, a fantastically fun car to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th December, 2000

12th Jun 2001, 03:28

I love Rover 200 Vi's and 1.6 GSi's, they are wicked. I love burning BMWs away from the lights. They go well, it's worth buying a full stainless steel exhaust system. My 216 now does 60 in 7.98 seconds. It has 15bhp added on to it. I would think if you get a good system, it could bulk your power up to 160 bhp. Try it, it's worth every penny.

28th Jun 2001, 16:05

Are you sure your 200 1.6 with 15 bhp added (110+15?) does 0-100 km in 7.9 seconds? 145 hp 200vi's 0-100 is 7.8! How is that possible? If possible, why buy Vi's instead of cheaper 1.6's and modifying them? I think there's a mistake with the 0-100 measurement...

27th Dec 2008, 03:22

Your living in cloud cuckoo land if you think a performance exhaust has added +15bhp to your car!!

1999 Rover - Austin 200 Vi 1.8 VVC Petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8 VVC Petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired14500 miles
Most recent distance0 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 400

Summary:

Understated high performance hatch with a fantastic engine

Faults:

Nothing has yet gone wrong but there again I had only had it two and half weeks when an old age pensioner decided to use it as a brake at a roundabout. Fortunately it is repairable!

General Comments:

This Rover is indeed an unassuming hot hatch. Looks quite mild mannered but with 0-60 in 7.5 secs, leather interior and neat 130mph top speed it really is a joy to drive. The ride is firm but not uncomfortable and the handling is great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th August, 2000

1999 Rover - Austin 200 216 Eaton 1.6i from Netherlands

Year of manufacture1999
Engine and transmission 1.6i
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10

Faults:

Nothing yet, but it is only 3 months old.

General Comments:

It is my fathers car. I have a Nissan 100 NX myself, which is more fun to drive and a bit faster. But for my parents this is a nice comfortable car. It is great value for money.

The power steering does help you too much. When you drive faster then 120-130 kmph it gets a bit loose.

Nice airco, good looks.

Bought new by a Chrysler dealer, because of the great service with my 100 NX (also bought there) and the previous car of my parents, a Chrysler Stratus.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd June, 1999

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 15 reviews