1992 Rover - Austin 400 Reviews

1992 Rover - Austin 400 416 Si 1.6 16v from Slovenia

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired315000 kilometres
Most recent distance321000 kilometres
Previous carPeugeot 309

Summary:

Cheap, Luxurious, Reliable, Fast

Faults:

I've only had it for about 3 months so nothing actually :). Which is surprising because it already has 320000km, which is a miraculous distance for a rover.

General Comments:

The Power steering is great. It can be a bit difficult at high speeds because it's extremely sensitive, but in tight streets and parking lots it's a blessing.

The consumption is more than acceptable for 112hp (about 30 miles/gallon or even less). but it can take 25 if you step on it all the time. The car is very stable if you use good tires.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th October, 2006

1992 Rover - Austin 400 416LSi 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired117000 miles
Most recent distance121000 miles
Previous carFord Mondeo

Summary:

Prestige car for banger money

Faults:

Drive shaft is starting to knock and nearside front electric window will not open.

General Comments:

Fantastic value for money motoring for only £450.

My car is Factory Black with Power Steering, Electric Windows, Alloy Wheels, It has been lowered and it looks great.

After a 4x4 Mondeo the fuel consumption is fantastic.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd July, 2003

1992 Rover - Austin 400 Si 1.4 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.4 16v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired61000 miles
Most recent distance62000 miles

Summary:

A dreadful car in most aspects

Faults:

The ignition system needed replacing.

The car would stall at any speed in the rain.

The brakes failed completely on one occasion, and then kept locking up on moderate braking. They would also squeak all the time.

The car's steering squeaked every time the steering wheel was turned.

Replaced the air filter twice, in under 2,000 miles.

The car's seats started to wobble.

The car would jump out of gear.

The clutch system would sometimes not engage the selected gear.

The handbrake also failed.

General Comments:

The car proved completely unreliable, and after a while was almost impossible to drive without be dangerous. I would not recommend this car to anyone.

When I booked the car in for a repair, it would take 3 weeks for them to look at the car, and then 1 month after that for the repairs to take place.

However, the car had a very good interior. It was well built, except for the wobbly seats, and was rattle free and very comfortable.

In the end, I sold the car for a mere £200. Losing £500 from when I purchased it. I have now got a Peugeot 306, K registration. Except for a few minor problems, it has proved to be an invaluable replacement for my Rover.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th September, 2002

1992 Rover - Austin 400 420 GSi 2.0i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0i Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance54000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra

Summary:

The ultimate undercover sports saloon

Faults:

Nothing so far.

Car has been serviced every 6000 miles when service interval is 12,000.

General Comments:

The car is very quick once its past 30 mph, the first gear is a bit short for my liking, but once there 100MPH comes round very quickly.

It looks like a car my grandad would own, if he didn't ride a mo-ped, but this is not a bad thing. I love it's stealthiness, and it whips rep mobiles!

Keeps up with the Vectra 2.5 V6/ Golf GTi's, BMW 318i's!. All of these costing 2-3 times as much on the second hand market!

2.0i Twin Cam is so flexible, my only gripe is that it doesn't handle around corners as well, but I am sure this could be sorted with wider wheels and lowered springs.

Reminds me of the Lotus Cortina in the way that it looks bog-standard from the back but seriously goes when needed to.

The only give away is my bonnet bulge!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th August, 2001

1992 Rover - Austin 400 416 GTi 1.6 petrol from portugal

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance95000 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Amazon

Summary:

A great, reliable, high performance family or single person car. Will not be sold!!

Faults:

Not many, after six years the exhaust back box had to be changed and the rear silent O-blocks were changed 10.000 km ago.

Nothing more except the usual maintenance with oil, spark plugs, oil and air filter and brake pads. Everything done at the dealer.

General Comments:

An excellent car with a excellent engine. You can drive it like a family car with our friends doing 9 litre/100km or drive it like a maniac with great security at outrageous speeds doing less then 13 litres/100 km.

For me it is the best of its class (in 1992), even better then the BMW 316i!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th December, 2000

13th Jun 2001, 15:01

I also have a 416 gti and it has been the most reliable car I've ever had (6 years) I will never part with it!

31st Oct 2002, 04:20

I have my 416 since 1997, 2nd hand and never had problems with it, just regular maintenance. I even transformed it to LPG and it has even better handling. I have bought an MG F some years late, but I still maintain the Rover. No point in selling. Excellent car with a superb engine!

1992 Rover - Austin 400 416 GSI 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired49000 miles
Most recent distance62000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Cavalier

Summary:

Comfortable, reliable and economical

Faults:

CV joint split.

General Comments:

An excellent performer that has made me want to buy another Rover. The GSI features electric everything and at 0-60mph in just over 9 seconds it's far from a slow car. If you are tall (over 6 foot), leg room in the front isn't great but not uncomfortable. The car more than makes up for itself in sound alone as when you change gear the engine screams away with a really pleasing throaty sound.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th June, 2000

1992 Rover - Austin 400 416 SLi 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Good car all round

Faults:

The electronic ignition failed, apart from that nothing you would expect to wear out.

General Comments:

Electric front windows and sunroof are good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th May, 2000

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 7 reviews