1993 Rover - Austin 400 Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1993 Rover - Austin 400 420 GSi 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired79000 miles
Most recent distance81500 miles
Previous carFord Sierra

Summary:

A high spec and high performance car bargain

Faults:

Spark plugs required cleaning. New spark plug leads.

General Comments:

Looks rather dated these days, unlike the performance which is on par with many of todays more modern looking cars.

The leather interior and carpets are still spotless and it was this that attracted me to this car.

This car is seriously fast once you hit mid range revs and handles very well.

The only dislike of this car for me is its juddery/sharp clutch which makes pulling away from a standstill a pain, as it is impossible to make this a smooth operation.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th November, 2001

1993 Rover - Austin 400 418 GSD Turbo 1.8 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired136000 miles
Most recent distance195000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Cavalier CDi

Summary:

Underrated reliable and fast family car

Faults:

Alternator went dead.

Rear windows would never wind down. Possibly because previous owner never used them. Same on my fathers secondhand 418.

Normal serviceable parts replaced otherwise.

General Comments:

Out of all the cars I have owned, it has to be the most reliable. The engine is the same as the Peugeot 405 turbo diesel and the bodyshell is basically a Honda. Everyone who ever sat in the car or serviced it would not believe the condition of the car considering its mileage.

You can blast up the motorway at top speeds all day long with it.

This car lasts and lasts and is very underrated.

Don't get it serviced by Rover dealers. You won't need to anyway as all it ever needs is available at a Kwik-fit type garage or local mechanic.

I did not sell it even when I bought a 306 GTi-6. The only reason I have given it up is because it was written off recently when smashed from behind.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th November, 2000

1st Jan 2001, 08:30

Funny, the windows on my 418 GSD don't wind down either!

27th Oct 2001, 07:47

Same here!!! 1993 416GSI.

9th Nov 2003, 04:44

I'm on my second my 418 GSD Would recommend them, Although the Motor is a Peugeot, fit a rover Alternator as I fitted a second-hand Peugeot one and the rev counter stopped working!! Watch the heater matrix, If one goes, go to an independent radiator retailer and get one from there as there is a £100+ price difference between that and a Rover dealer.

9th Mar 2004, 19:27

One of my back windows wouldn't wind down either - most likely due to lack of use. Really had to give it some stick to shift it - nearly broke the winder handle!

Agree with the previous comments - very underrated car due to being badged a Rover. Got to admit I wouldn't have touched a Rover, but a friend told me the diesel engines were based on Peugeot ones, so that sold it for me (plus the cheap price due to the badge!) A lot of car for the money. Only problem so far in 5 months - clutch cable snapped (replaced by previous owner - so quite new). Only a 2 minute job to replace - easy peasy (not like the Saab's I've had for 15 years!).

1993 Rover - Austin 400 418 SLD 1.8 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired76000 miles
Most recent distance132000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 306 XLDT

Summary:

A thug in a dinner jacket

Faults:

Two engines.

Gearbox.

Driveshafts.

All suspension parts.

Warped brake discs.

Two clutches.

Speedo stopped working.

Alternator burnt out.

Heater caught fire!

General Comments:

A very quick, comfortable family car, with real hooligan potential.

Mine has all uprated suspension, wheels, tyres and brakes, and a big turbo conversion (124 bhp), and when it runs well I could not wish for a better car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th November, 2000

1993 Rover - Austin 400 420 GSi Turbo 2.0 turbo petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired89000 miles
Most recent distance106000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 420GSi

Summary:

A very high performance bargain

Faults:

Heater control sticking.

New clutch cable.

Faulty central locking.

O/S Drive shaft replaced.

New exhaust fitted.

General Comments:

Nothing in its class is as fast for the money. Great towcar, 0-60 in 6.4secs (solo!), 200bhp, 145mph.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th June, 2000

1993 Rover - Austin 400 416 Sli 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10

Faults:

New Front Tyres @ 20,000 miles.

New Exhaust @ 35,000 miles.

New Battery @ 38,000 miles.

General Comments:

FSH maintained by local dealer. Sold @ 40,000 miles, bodywork and mechanics in excellent condition.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th February, 1998

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 10 reviews